Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 st and best album ever owned
I got this album at the age of 11 (three years ago), and ever since I've been recommending it to people. It totally deserved the mercury award 97 and roni has lved up to the standard of music which flows from his (and my) hometown, Bristol BUY IT NOW to experience the amazing sounds and breakbeats of Roni and Reprazent.
Published on 7 July 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased ...
I bought this recently used n it arrived very quickly & in brand new condition. Thanks zoverstocks. As for the cd... firstly I should mention that I am an avid basshead having dropped hiphop as quickly as I picked it up in 95 when I first head congonatty's junglistic man...from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased to create drum &...
Published 7 months ago by jason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U can't top this, 24 Aug. 2001
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Having listened to this album in ragged doses for the past four years, I finally went out and bought it. Although Roni Size has moved on since '97, it still sounds beautiful, with spooky riffs and an static, electric atmosphere that draws from other Bristol influences but still sounds unique. 'Brown Paper Bag' sends chills down my spine, I used to play it in the car when my friends and I were coming back from clubbing. Check the video for that song too, I love it when the guy is frozen in mid-air as he's about to dunk it. I could go on, but safe to say that this album demonstrates that although we can't beat other nations at football or cricket, we kill them musically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Fresh, 23 Oct. 2003
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Bought this one the week it was released in '97, still listen to it today, how many D&B albums stand the test of time? Still love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOULFUL EDGY AND PURPOSEFUL, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
This has all the marks of great Bristol production. Very up tempo and direct drum and bass with deep basslines and soulful lyrics. It has a confident feel of Top D&B and deserves to be in every collection. Only Roni S could knock out this baby like a wack from Tyson it delivers full thrust. It will be a badass cd for any party of intelligent d&b fans.

Well produced, effective and uniquely Bristol

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest drum and bass album in history!!!, 17 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
This mixture of pure ambience and euphoric melodies togeather with hefty bass lines and amazing rhyms will blow your head off and leave you in a place never experienced before. Perfect for the music lover, you could cry with extreme bliss created by some of these tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great variation, 21 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Often people think drum and base is all the same. New forms proves this wrong. Great tracks are railings, brown paper bag, and heros. the rest are excellent as well. well deserved winner of the 97 mercury music award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it love it love it, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Bought this album to replace the one i had played to death one of my favorite albums i can chill to it so easy to listen to some awesome tunes i just love heroes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Forms : New Ways to make drum 'n' bass, 26 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
This was the first Reprazent disc( a group of musicians and Dj's, leaded by Roni Size), relased in 1997.It has been, in many ways, his best disc.
Roni's talent has been obvious in songs like "Brown Paper Bag", "New Forms", "Share the Fall" where his percussion (Very creative, but everytime following a ritmic pattern) play an important role on the song, making it interesant and unique, so, if you ever liked the complex drum solos (Buddy Rich and others) or the best drum 'n' bass percussions, this is for you .
It has elaborated ritmic patterns, with lots of sampled sounds (but - trust me - sounds like a real drum ), heavy basslines and, the most important thing, unique melodies and armonies. One song is armonized by the jazz way. Other with blues . Other by the classic way... And there always is melody that developes on every armony.
Roni Size has been one of the first musicians who understood that the road that drum 'n' bass was following was going to meet jazz... and he did the mix very nice!
"Brown Paper Bag" is a very nice song, which accomplished succesfully the task of mixing the old - contrabass - blues solos and new grooves and rythms.
"Jazz" shows an original way to mix jazz, jumping between two chords and developing an original melody over them, but without making it minimalist.
"New Forms" reminds me the brazilian drum 'n' bass, with a girl singing rap using cool rythms and grooves but without making the song boring.
And finally, Electricks.
If you want to break ALL the windows of ALL the houses of your neighborhood, just hear this loud, because IT ROCKS!.
So, if you like the complex drum solos or the best drum 'n' bass percussions, the music with loud basses, the nice molodies and the newest styles: This is for you.
And remember, for better results, listen loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 April 2015
By 
Andrew Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I call him Sun cos' Roni shine like One..., 26 Sept. 2003
This review is from: New forms - Japan (Audio CD)
I totally felt this album. The feel of the album is proper from the "Brown Paper bag" to the "New Forms" title track (Bahamadia is on point on this track with the lyrical flow). Thats innovative for real. it's an album you could play for years and still feel that shudder, you know the one that hits you when the drums start...
Roni man ya large
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On of the best Drum and Dass albums this decade, 21 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
After winning the mercury music award with this album there is no other way to put it than utter brilliance. If you have any douts about buying this album then don't it's the best around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Forms
New Forms by Roni Size (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews