Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 st and best album ever owned
I got this album at the age of 11 (three years ago), and ever since I've been recommending it to people. It totally deserved the mercury award 97 and roni has lved up to the standard of music which flows from his (and my) hometown, Bristol BUY IT NOW to experience the amazing sounds and breakbeats of Roni and Reprazent.
Published on 7 July 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased ...
I bought this recently used n it arrived very quickly & in brand new condition. Thanks zoverstocks. As for the cd... firstly I should mention that I am an avid basshead having dropped hiphop as quickly as I picked it up in 95 when I first head congonatty's junglistic man...from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased to create drum &...
Published 6 months ago by jason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased ..., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
I bought this recently used n it arrived very quickly & in brand new condition. Thanks zoverstocks. As for the cd... firstly I should mention that I am an avid basshead having dropped hiphop as quickly as I picked it up in 95 when I first head congonatty's junglistic man...from there I fell in love with jungle until the metal drums & bpm's increased to create drum & bass... recently having something of a look back & trying to fill a few gaps in the collection led me to get this for the track brown paper bag alone.. so I get it put it on & the first track railing comes hurtling out of the blocks & blows me away...promises of funky warps, slick lyrics & creative breaks really had me all excited thinking the rest would be more of the same...I know roni won critical acclaim topped off with a mercury music for this album but it honestly doesnt fit the bill for me... brown paper bag isnt the version I know n love (has no lyrics) which is wierd & the rest are an assortment of overthought tracks... too much percussion & not enough weight in either the vocals or basslines leave me a little disappointed still, cracking first track though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 st and best album ever owned, 7 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
I got this album at the age of 11 (three years ago), and ever since I've been recommending it to people. It totally deserved the mercury award 97 and roni has lved up to the standard of music which flows from his (and my) hometown, Bristol BUY IT NOW to experience the amazing sounds and breakbeats of Roni and Reprazent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patchy, but what wonderful patches, 12 Mar. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
As the first track declares: 'Yes, something of a different pace!' I can't say I enjoy all the songs on the album. The chord structure and vocals on 'Share the Fall' and 'Watching Windows' could be stronger, and 'Mad Cat' is two songs: one that is horrible and difficult to listen to overlaid onto a wonderful drum beat. But forget all that, the other songs are inventive and fantastic and 'Destination' is probably one of the greatest songs in any genre. I listen to the Hospital Records podcast and unfortunately modern drum and bass has not been able to surpass this tour de force, moving too far away from the original instruments. Again, as the second line of 'Railing' says: 'Fresh, into 97 make haste'. 1997 was a good year for music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Perfection, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
There are certain albums that, whether you like the genre or not, you have to have in your collection. Colours, by Adam F in one such album...New Forms, is another. Unmistakably Roni Size, this album has something for everybody, and I've yet to meet someone who doesn't like at least 1 track on the album, such is the diversity of the production. Stop reading this and click the Buy it now button. UNLESS that is, you can track down, and affod, the Americain Import version. A double CD version that is, quite simply, beyond comparisson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choice, 21 Aug. 2002
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Roni Size took off in a big way after the release of this album. I remmeber hearing "Brown Paper Bag" for the first time and thinking drum and bass shouldn't sound this good. People have over played the jazz element on this album. It is very jazzy, in places and when it needs to be, but it is also soulfull and funky.
To often drum and bass albums go off in one direction. Even other classic records such as Bukem's logical progression have similar a sound to them and as good as the tracks are, they lack variety. What Represents managed to do so well was develope a proper album and not a compilation. The opening onslaught of Railing energetically flows into Brown Paper Bag, Hero's is more soulfull and chilled and tracks like Morse Code follow, Adam F's style, a fuller bassy route. The real stand out track is "Share The fall" it fuzes jazz funk into drum and bass in away no other producer has ever managed, it rumbles and drips out of the speakers. If you ever get a chance to see the live set Roni and co did on Latter with Jules Holland, check the version of Share The Fall. Like many other of the legendary drum and bass producers Roni's recent stuff has been a little disappointing but fear not this album is good enough to last a life time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary album......, 7 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
New Forms (Reprazent) is the legendary jungle/drum & bass album released by DJ Roni Size and the full cycle label back in 1997. With the obvious exception of LTJ Bukem and Goldie this was the first official offering of what has become to be known as 'intelligent drum & bass' and what a classic, pioneering album it was. And still is. Nearly ten years on and New Forms still provides deep, intelligent, atmospheric drum & bass listening and from a personal perspective takes me right back to the teenage years of the 1990's. The album begins with the energetic 'Railing', the better known 'Brown Paper Bag' (non vocal mix), the AMAZING 'New Forms' with wicked vocals provided by guest 'Bahamadia', the futuristic sounds of 'Let's Get It On' & 'Digital' before progressing to the euphorically uplifting 'Heroes' & 'Share The Fall' with all tracks retaining that drum & bass element necessary to truly convey this genre of electronic music....The fact that Roni Size recieved the Mercury Music Prize Award that year for ' New Forms' basically sums up the critical acclaim that this CD rightly generated. It really is a classic that will go down in history within the drum & bass / electronic / digital scene.....Furthermore, for all those open minded music lovers who can appreciate music not specifically made by 'real' instruments I would definetely reccommend this for ambient, intelligent beats.....Much respect to the one & only Mr Roni Size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New forms litteraly speaking, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
All is in this great dvd title, even after several years since it has been created, this music stays as an avantgarde new form music;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best drum n bass album ever.... probably, 26 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
THIS has to be one of the purest and most timeless dnb albums yet, even the follow up In The Mode cant compare. Think of all the important elements in dnb, and u'll find it on here. From beatbox ("Beatbox") to breakbeat ("Watching Windows") to speed drums ("Railings"/ Rob Merrill). Whether ur new to dnb or a seasoned pro, this MUST be the core ingredient to your record collection. BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!! BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best instrument based dance music, 8 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
Seeing them live is what this bands about, putting the soul back into dance. Classic songs which never get old. This albums a great tribute though I wish they'd get it back together for a sequal. Get the double album if you can (Bonus track on the US import).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Forms (Audio CD)
A stone wall classic of the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Forms
New Forms by Roni Size (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews