Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2008
This is definately Dire Straits at their pinnacle. Mark Knoppler's later solo work does not compare to the energy that the entire band conveys as you listen to this musical masterpiece.

A fantastically produced record that is thanks to not only exceptional musicianship but also the instrumentation/arrangements chosen.

A fair amount of post-production is evident in a very wide stereo image (unusual for a live concert recording), however this is incredibily effective in seperating the individual sounds further and so you can really hear all the drums in the fantastic drum fills. The level of all instruments throughout the concert is always as correct as it can ever be too.

Knoppler's voice and vocal style came underfire in the early days, but the simplicity of his style has a great bearing on the music and focusses you in on the fabulous way in which all the instruments gel seamlessly together and with his voice. His vocal is definately at its best on this CD.

Stand out tracks for me are 'Romeo and Juliet' and 'Brothers in Arms' where the sincerity and pure power of the tracks are truely trumendous, the audience are I'm sure in awe of what they are witnessing.

Overall a great record not only for any Dire Straights fan but for any musician who wishes to listen to a fabulous live recording that truely endorses the cliche that 'less really is more'.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Its just a great album. I have all the same tracks on other albums but hearing them live just adds something new. What a great group they were.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2001
Having heard all of Dire Straits' studio albums I have to say that, great as they are, Dire Straits have excelled themselves with this fantastic live album. The quality of all the tracks is of a very high standard. From the atmospheric build-up on Calling Elvis through to the classic love-song Romeo and Juliet to Brothers In Arms, this is definitely the best live album I have ever heard! Awesome......
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Another very enjoyable Album from Dire Straits one of their last albums highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
The second live and final album from Dire Straits includes all the hits and classics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Blimey. Always a fan way back and the recent BBC interview with Knopfler inspired me to pick up the 2 live albums I never had. On The Night is much better than Alchemy but you really need both despite the long haul sound of the latter. I see he's touring soon so grab any bargain you can and secretly enjoy until they become cool again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2008
mmmmmm ........

What can I say, I was disappointed on listening to this cd, I am a big Dire Straits fan, but unfortunately Mark Knopfler has passed it and it shows.

The tracks are okay, but when you play live, you at least expect to hear the tracks like the studio, with may be a relaxing on the music slightly, but to have the guitar riffs and chords changed with something else is a shame. Brothers in Arms, if your gonna play it, please play the right notes and chords, so you can at least keep a breast of the track, but the guitar riffs between the verses has been changed with stuff thats not even remotely related to the original score, which is a shame.

I don't mind a little poetic licence but this makes the tracks strange and unknown, which is a shame, its not like the Alchemy live album, where tracks are enhanced, the guitar work is just made richer with it being totally recognisebale to the original work.

ALso, Walk of Life, what the hell is this doing on here, its so country and western, it might as well be sung by Garth Brookes. Thats the problem, its just gone off the edge with regards to being like a Dire Straits album.

Money For Nothing, another track ruined by the live performance, no intro straight to the guitar, nothing like the track.

There are good tracks on there, On Every Street is a good rendition, as is Calling Elvis, but overall, a real shame.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
another album I have bought for nostalgic reasons , It is like a semi_best of where they are trying to decide what should go on the official best of . I think myself that there is probabley about one and a half albums , a bit tricky I think but it is worth having in your collection anyway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
I really enjoy listening to Dire S playing live..... such energy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Electric atmostphere,fantastic playing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)