Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abraxas restored and revealed.
One of the all-time classic albums finally heard as it was meant to be!

Those who don't read the 'hi-fi'/'audiophile' magazines and websites may not be aware that when Mobile Fidelity acquired the original stereo master tapes of Abraxas [and, incidentally, of the band's first album - "Santana"] they discovered that every release from the first CBS vinyl in...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Jan J. Mikula

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Original Masters As Was Would Be Better Than This
Sorry to rain on so many peoples' parade, but the sound quality of this isn't a patch on my original vinyl which was superb. And this isn't the old vinyl vs CD argument. I have nothing against CDs owning loads myself, but I really get angry when the music industry promises something better and fails miserably as in this case (and in the case of Bob Seger's Like A Rock...
Published on 12 Nov 2009 by G. P. Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abraxas restored and revealed., 9 Mar 2012
By 
Jan J. Mikula "mikulaj" (Tanworth in Arden, Warwickshire, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the all-time classic albums finally heard as it was meant to be!

Those who don't read the 'hi-fi'/'audiophile' magazines and websites may not be aware that when Mobile Fidelity acquired the original stereo master tapes of Abraxas [and, incidentally, of the band's first album - "Santana"] they discovered that every release from the first CBS vinyl in 1970, through various CD releases and compilations using any of the tracks, had suffered from having the Left and Right channels reversed. In short, the stereo image has always been the wrong way around.

So, this is the first time that the album has been released with the stereo image in the correct place.

The sound is superbly clear, certainly much less 'muddy' than on my mid-1970's CBS UK pressing; there are no 'sonic fireworks', just a very natural sound. One difference that was immediately noticeable was that Gregg Rolie's keyboard sounds more prominent than on other versions, and it's quite a revelation to hear just how much the band relied upon his work for the overall sound of the record. The other difference between this and other releases of the album is that the recording and/or mastering levels on this disc appear to be somewhat lower than earlier ones.

Thankfully the 180g pressing has virtually silent surfaces, no pops or clicks, and is flat as a pancake. As a final bonus, the sleeve is the original gatefold 'double' version [not the cheap and nasty 'single'-sleeve], in rigid cardboard, and with an excellent anti-static, anti-scuff, soft inner liner.

Quality sound, quality product, and just one of the best records ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly good, 6 July 2000
This review is from: Abraxas (Audio CD)
This is an amazing, deep and beautiful record. Each track is superb, but there are several - "Mother's Daughter" and "Samba Pa Ti" for my money - which are out of this world. I've been playing little else for about 2 weeks since I bought it, and anyone who likes guitar music can't go wrong here. Masterful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer listening pleasure, 19 Dec 2004
By 
J. Ferguson (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abraxas (Audio CD)
Of the 20 or so Santana albums I've owned over the years, this is my favourite. Listen to Singing Winds, Crying Winds on a decent hi-fi system and feel the shivers down the back of your spine - fantastic! The mix of percussion, searing keyboards and the trademark Santana guitar sound deliver a musical feast, to which you will want to come back for more. A must for any Santana fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santana MOFI Vinyl, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb pressing on Vinyl from mobile fidelity and is better in all respects of my original CBS pressing. Highly recommended issue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Unsurpassable Gem, 2 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. M. Sanca "5matt55" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abraxas (Rmst) (Audio CD)
This one quite simply propelled Santana into superstardom, but also enhanced the so called Latin Rock, bringing it to the much wider audiences. I have 28 Santana albums in
my collection, and still see Abraxas as the very best Santana album to date. Get yourself a copy, it really is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are not enough stars in this rating system to rate ..., 16 July 2004
By 
Mr. G. Zengin "geo.zen" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
... this Dts edition of the best of all Santana albums. When you pop this CD in your system, and the instruments start to flow from all around you with such clarity and definition, there is not enough words to thank for being able to live during these days. Simply perfect.
Please, people from DTS, publish more 70s music in this format: Mahavishnu, Jeff Beck, Hancock, Pat Metheny (Offramp must sound incredible in 5.1), Led Zeppelin, Hendrix, Pink Floyd (I want Dark side of the moon and Wish you were here in DTS now !!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How I missed this, 8 Sep 2007
By 
JSL "Jen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abraxas (Rmst) (Audio CD)
It's been a long time since someone stole my collection of vinyl and I have replaced most of it - now I have Santana Abraxas. The excellent Singing Winds and Crying Beasts starts off an absolute flood of joy. If you could plunge into music and live it this is it!!!! I'd forgotten how wonderful this album was. I can't get the music out of my head!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is based on the Vinyl release, and its simply one of the best records i now own. The sounds all come to life throughout the album, it sounds brilliant, trust me. if your reading this on the basis you like this style of music and you buy Vinyl, then buys this record, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinylastic, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its pointless doing a track by track review as this album stands up on its own merits.

What is interesting is I have Abraxas on CD, MP3 download and now vinyl (please note record companies with your cloudy ideas that we all pirate music) and the sound quality is richer and more enjoyable on Vinyl.

Do a back to back and it is mind blowing at the clarity and production level that can be achieved on this medium, even though this album was first released in September 1970 on just its production and recording merits alone it can easily hold it self against any 2012 technical offerings.

I have slowly been rebuilding my Vinyl collection and where possible purchasing the higher Vinyl weights and it pays off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Rock Album, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Abraxas (Audio CD)
Ive been collecting Santana's work for a little while and the first four albums are the ones I come back to again and again. This lp has quite a variety of styles and tempos: some laid back, others very latin influences and a couple of bluesy hard rock tunes. My faves are tracks 3,4,7 and 9. Its not a bad one to start off with if you are new to Santana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abraxas
Abraxas by Santana (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews