Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty and inspired
I try to submit reviews for cds that deserve a wider audience (how do these top 100 reviewers get the time?) and this is one such cd. Likely to be of interest to people who grew up in the 70s, and in the UK, the humour and wit is irresistible to anyone with memories of such diverse 70s luminaries and 'highlights' as Blue Peter, televised snooker,Trumpton, The Liver Birds,...
Published on 16 Mar 2007 by waigie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back i9n the DHSS
Bought this aftera mate's recommendation. A bit disappointed if truth be known, a bit like a novelty record. Not overly impressed
Published 9 months ago by Peter Brookman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty and inspired, 16 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
I try to submit reviews for cds that deserve a wider audience (how do these top 100 reviewers get the time?) and this is one such cd. Likely to be of interest to people who grew up in the 70s, and in the UK, the humour and wit is irresistible to anyone with memories of such diverse 70s luminaries and 'highlights' as Blue Peter, televised snooker,Trumpton, The Liver Birds, Jim'll fix it, subbuteo, and those perhaps blessed with a slightly off-kilter sense of humour (can you laugh at a song which deals with necrophilia?) It's indie, abrasive-sounding, was obviously recorded on a bootlace, but very entertaining. If you buy one HMHB cd ever, and I recommend that you do, buy this one.They've produced a number of other superb tracks (eg I.T.M.A.) but have never bettered this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic HMHB Album, 15 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Richard M. Hughes (Mountsorrel, Leicestershire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
Forget recording quality, forget instrumental virtuosity, forget sublty, just rejoice in the sheer energy and enjoyment HMHB put into this seminal album.
Although some of the references may go over the heads of younger listeners who might not remember Len Ganley, Bob Todd or might not have ever seen Trumpton; anyone living in the UK could not fail to delight in the wicked sense of humour shown by the band. All seventeen tracks deserve to be listened to time and time again. The more one listens the more one understands the bizarre workings of the minds of these "Four Lads who shook the Wirral"
The album stands the test of time as an indie classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Genius, 24 April 2008
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
This is probably the funniest album ever recorded. For all those who are criticising the sound quality - in my opinion this adds to the appeal and makes it even funnier, a bit like some of the 'deliberately bad' guitar solos, which still appear on some later albums. The reason for the sound quality is quite simple. This was a demo, recorded for about £40 in a front room, which was then submited to the wonderfully like-minded Probe Plus Records who, instead arranging for a professional re-recording, simply released the demo as an album. Amazingly, this LP actually charted.
The songs speak for themselves, and no other act even comes close.
If you want over-the-top production and fussy instrumentation, buy something by Eric Clapton or Genesis.
If you have any sort of sense of humour, buy this if you buy nothing else. You'll never look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy, 8 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
I bought the LP back in the mid 1980's and now have the cd which also contains the Trumpton Riots EP. Along with the most recent offering, Actung Bono, it has to be my favorite HMHB album. I don't really agree about the poor sound quality - maybe the newer versions have been cleaned up. Anyway, if production values are your prime, or a major requirement, maybe this band isn't for you. (Actung Bono is a good recording anyway) If you like outstandingly funny lyrics and great tunes, buy this, and all their other albums. ''I'll die on the floor and leave a note on the door saying 'this ape has just left Gibraltor' '' Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Correction To The Glaring Error In A Previous Review, 30 July 2003
By 
BBW (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
Just had to write this having read the review which states "it was a shame that HMHB were never really appreicated in their own time".
I'm off to see the Biccys a week on Thursday, and with the release of Saucy Haulage Ballads on the 4th of August, I'm sure you will see that this is indeed "their own time". Buy all of the albums (and the EPs). These guys were, are, and always will be quintessentially English genius !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twice as funny as you remember!, 1 Feb 2005
By 
R. Rose (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
I bought this on impulse from Amazon after a conversation in the office somehow ended up about Half Man Half Biscuit (Oh how the internet enriches our lives!).
First listen was dissapointing - the recording quality is as bad as suggested by the other reviewers (drop a star there). However on the second listen you realise you *can* hear all the words, and they're just as ridiculous/ silly/ offensive/ hysterical as they were when the album came out. Well worth the money; Buy the album then switch off radio 4 and drive to work singing "Time flies by" at the top of your voice with a silly grin on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music for when you're on hold with the dwp, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
this is a great record, even if you are too young or too far away to understand the references. the dhss would now be dwp, except customers are not allowed in anymore, you have to go to the jobcentre plus. actually you mostly have to apply by phone, they should play this when you are on hold. and it's income support, not supplementary benefit anymore, and i don't think you can claim it when you're dead nowadays.

and even though i'm old, i only just got the reference to pink floyd, 'careful with that spliff eugene', as i lost all my lps in 1984, i never replaced the floyd but i got this instead. it's a learning experience.

it cheers me up, even when the things that are worrying me are much much worse than the things that worry hmhb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time flies by... and they are still wonderful!, 11 July 2008
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
I remember hearing a HMHB Peel Session many years ago and enjoyed the lunacy and inventive music. Hearing this album now and I'm reminded of how hard I laughed!

They have always been gloriously amateurish, but full of barmy ideas that (most of the time) they pull off with aplomb. I guarentee you will be unable to get 'Time Flies By...' out of your head and you'll be regularly threatening to tell your friends that you've 'come to read the gas meter'! Enjoy your Biscuits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sound for the EP is dodgy and quiet but, 3 Oct 2006
By 
Jonathan Hamilton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
buy it.

You don't get better than this for lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Careful with that spliff Eugene...., 21 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. (Audio CD)
How on earth did such bad recordings get on to a CD? It sounds like theyprobably had very little money to spend on instruments and amps, and evenless to spend on the studio. Nevertheless, this is a collection of some ofHalf Man Half Biscuit's best material. Everyone that ever heard them lovedthem, but it just seemed that not enough people had heard of them. JohnPeel called them a British Institution, and said that he would like to beburied with them. When they played a small tent at Glastonbury the mainstages emptied and people flocked to see them instead.
Songs like 'Time Flies By' and 'God Gave Us Life' will never lose theirappeal for me. These guys just had such a great sense of humour (stillhave, but they never really captured the same greatness as this albumagain), that you just can't help but love them whatever they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P.
Back in the D.H.S.S. / The Trumpton Riots E.P. by Half Man Half Biscuit (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews