Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the discerning fans
I only recently got into Aphex Twin; having heard Selected Ambient Works Volume 1 and deciding that it was one of the best albums I had ever heard, I went out and got this, 26 Mixes for Cash and the Come to Daddy mini-album. What I particularly like about Richard James' work is the variation. The music he produces differs greatly from album to album but I have not been...
Published on 19 Feb. 2004 by Jw Heaton Armstrong

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formless
Put simply, it's a disc too long - and whereas Volume One contained a rich mixture of floaty ambient washes and glacial rhythms, this is two hours of drones. Maybe that's the point, though - this is, after all, ambient background music, and in places it's gorgeous, totally removed from his 'other' work.
Amusingly, all the tracks are identified by little pie charts...
Published on 6 April 2000 by Mr. A. Pomeroy


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inner Beauty, 10 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
A flood of warm calm rushes over me when i listen to this record, a beautiful melencolie atmosphere fills the room with every digitally encoded wave of sound.
When I purchased 'Selected ambient works volume 2' i was not too sure what to expect as it was the first Aphex Twin album in my collection. I was told it was an amazing chillout/come-down album to listen to on a sunday morning but i think it is more than that.
The texture of this record is starteling, the wierd and persistant notes that fill every song is so grand, almost sensual.
The only bad point to this double album is that it can get repetetive after an hour or so. You have to really concentrate after a while on the sound which can be a bad thing.
I recommend this album if you are looking for something new and strange in your collection. something out of the ordinary.
To conclude i feel that this is not Richard D James at his best (check out 'Drukqs' or 'Come To Daddy') but still a great effort and consortium of sound. Worth Buying. Four Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMBIENT WORKS? YES IT DOES!, 10 July 2002
By 
JOHN SHERN (CARSHALTON, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I had purchased this album through a track i'd heard on Solid Steel back in 1994...3rd track CD:1....An emotionally simple track which transcends the mind to an almost spiritual being. Like the other reviewers, i agree the album is a tad hard to listen to in parts..but I do have my favourites.This was a time when ambience was at it's height & AFX hit the right notes,but sadly the album wasn't well received then.But now it should have a place in the classics.I had purchased both CD & coloured Vinyl,because the vinyl had a track that's not featured on the CD(?)...Anyway,an emotional,mindbending rollercoaster...call it your'Being Aphex Twin' to your 'Malkovich' in music!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST SEEDY EVER SORT OF, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
ambient works 1 is just typical early afx and if yr a pfhan of plaid then check it out (though "classics" explores this territory too), but this is something else, it stands out in the whole corpus (that's right CORPUS) ov afx's werk, heavier, gorgeouser than anything before or since. - from this, i got into eno's ambient series, harold budd, arvo part, and i owe it all to this seedy.... some of these cds are probably better than ambwk2 (alina by part) but none of them struck me as much upon first listening as this one (and they did strike me pretty hard, in the liver area)......... BUY THIS SUPPORT THE CAUSE OF GLOBAL YOU KNOW WHAT. i n s p i r i n g stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formless, 6 April 2000
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
Put simply, it's a disc too long - and whereas Volume One contained a rich mixture of floaty ambient washes and glacial rhythms, this is two hours of drones. Maybe that's the point, though - this is, after all, ambient background music, and in places it's gorgeous, totally removed from his 'other' work.
Amusingly, all the tracks are identified by little pie charts which illustrate respective lengths, and the artwork is a series of photographs of radiators and stones taken in extreme close-up.
The first volume doesn't seem to be available here, which is a shame, as it's better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first Ambient Works, 24 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I'm in two minds about this album...on one hand there are some of the most beautiful pieces you can get on there, but on the other there are some really nasty depressing dull dirges. I suppose you could argue it shows both sides of a truly innovative artist, but I'd rather Aphex binned all this avant-garde rubbish and actually choose either bangin evil or flowing lovely. Put it this way; its worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly excellent!, 7 Mar. 2001
The album gives a true insight on the creation of Richard D. James. His mixing and sampling abilities are absolutely amazing! definitely do not try to analyse his music! just listen to it and appreciate!! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Experimentally Bland, 9 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
This collection of works disappoints. It is just RDJames playing around, with no real target in mind. This is an exercise. My advice is to buy the previous volume of Ambient Works (the b&w one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly bland, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
As someone else commented, this is good background music, but it doesn't really get anywhere. Compared with Aphex Twin's other well-known material - Classics, I Care Because You Do, Richard D James, and the previous volume of Selected Ambient Works - this is disappointingly bland and wishy-washy. Only two or three tracks have anything striking or innovative about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You must be joking, 2 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I bought Ambient Works with no preconceptions about the artist, completely objectively, and unburdened by fan loyalty. I read the reviews on here and took a punt. I have a vast music collection across most genres, ranging from what I think is exquisite music to stuff which I now have small doubts about. Having listened to this cd I have to say it sits firmly near the bottom of the pile. If I'd wanted aimless electronic doodling I'd have asked my niece to twiddle some keyboard knobs and paid her a fiver. Even after making allowance for that fact that 95% of the music here is unlayered and unstructured, the remainder is quite frankly insipid and musically lifeless & directionless. I appreciate soundscaping and atmospheric imagery, and some may say this is beautifully atmospheric. I'd say it's simply pretentious crap. Do yourself a favour and spend elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Ambient Works Volume II
Selected Ambient Works Volume II by Aphex Twin (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews