Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the discerning fans
I only recently got into Aphex Twin; having heard Selected Ambient Works Volume 1 and deciding that it was one of the best albums I had ever heard, I went out and got this, 26 Mixes for Cash and the Come to Daddy mini-album. What I particularly like about Richard James' work is the variation. The music he produces differs greatly from album to album but I have not been...
Published on 19 Feb 2004 by Jw Heaton Armstrong

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formless
Put simply, it's a disc too long - and whereas Volume One contained a rich mixture of floaty ambient washes and glacial rhythms, this is two hours of drones. Maybe that's the point, though - this is, after all, ambient background music, and in places it's gorgeous, totally removed from his 'other' work.
Amusingly, all the tracks are identified by little pie charts...
Published on 6 April 2000 by Mr. A. Pomeroy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the discerning fans, 19 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I only recently got into Aphex Twin; having heard Selected Ambient Works Volume 1 and deciding that it was one of the best albums I had ever heard, I went out and got this, 26 Mixes for Cash and the Come to Daddy mini-album. What I particularly like about Richard James' work is the variation. The music he produces differs greatly from album to album but I have not been disappointed by any tracks I have listened to. What struck about this album is that is far less accessible that others I have listened to, but as such far more rewarding. Two hours of ambient music is a lot, but if you really listen the changes in the music are very subtle and clever indeed. The first CD is slightly reminiscent of SAW vol.1 but with more continuity between the tracks and, if its possible, a more ambient chilled out synth feel to it. CD 2 encompasses some industrial sounds and haunting vibes of the sort you would not want to listen to on your own in a wood at night. Actually quite scary even in the daytime. If you really take time over this album, its subtleties and quality will become clear, and this is far more rewarding than those wear the strength of tracks are immediately obvious. In short, if you really like your music, and like what you have heard from Aphex Twin then this is the album for you - it is not a good entry point to his music for someone who has never experienced it before. Try SAW vol. 1 for this; I did and I was hooked! Warp is a quality label - check out their other stuff for great beats from Prefuse 73, Autreche, Squarepusher, Nightmares on Wax and Anti-Pop Consortium to name just a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Peace....and Terror, 29 April 2005
By 
Robert Twomey "knyght_byte" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
Well, I am about to buy Aphex Twins SAW2, for the second time. I bought it first pretty much when it had just come out, on audio tape. A friend and I sat down to listen to it on his dads hifi in an acoustically treated room, and we were amazed, we just sat there chilling out for the whole album, letting our minds wander with the highs and lows of the moods it gives you. Not once did we think of stopping it, in fact we barely spoke for the whole of it. Obviously we had to turn the tape over, but my friend was sitting next to the deck so it didnt intrude too much on our ascension.
However before buying this understand it isnt ambient music in the way you normally imagine (think Orbs early stuff) but is a state of mind instead. It isnt like tranquility music featuring whales and dolphins etc, its mostly electro stuff, although im sure some of it is sounds from objects mucked around. But it doesnt have beat patterns or anything like that. Its designed to allow your mind to ponder, and is especially good at inducing alternative dreams (nice, odd, or in one case terrifying!)if listened to late at night.
On the whole, you cannot go wrong if you have an open mind toward sound, not just towards music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enigmatic to the core, 9 Jun 2007
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
This is without doubt one of the most interesting albums I have ever heard. There is something going on here, what it is? I am not sure but it is a very spooky and eeire trip. There is a conjuring of sounds that seem to be beaming in from other planets and the inner space within our minds. There is the sound of foreboding, isolation and darkness. That is why I have given this record 3 stars, I find this music sends me to a place that I am not sure I feel happy in. It can leave you cold.

Music like this should be applauded as I doubt there is another record like this in existence. Absoloutly original and unique and almost terrifying. It will haunt parts of your mind and soul.

I have always been a huge fan of Richard James. I think his music is genius but I have always approached this album with something of uncertainty and a mild dislike. I have attempted on many occasions to try and understand this album, but mostly I come away confused and depressed at the experience.

2 years on from my 3 star review (and about 8 years since I bought it) I have to give this a 5 Gold Stars. One of the reasons is something will keep drawing you back, its like when the record ends a part of your brain says '' Your work here is not done my friend and I know you will come back to have another go''. There is something other-worldly about it. It might sound odd but there is almost a kind of magic to this album. Richard James said this album sounds like standing in a power station tripping on LSD, I think that pretty much sums it up. Though you might as well add UFOs, paganisim, the birth of the universe, travelling to outerspace, life after death experiences and cold winter sunsets into the equation too.

This music has only one limitation and that is your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too long? Not long enough!, 1 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. R. Baker (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
Two discs isn't enough for me. Although I suppose it'll have to do.
Some parts (CD1 track 3, CD2 track 8) are so beautiful they nearly bring me to tears every time, other parts are horrifyingly scary (CD1 track 5 [UK edition only], CD2 track 4), but the majority are sinister and kind of quirky (CD1 track 2, CD2 track 6). No track titles could do these pieces of music justice, and so none are given.
This isn't music to sit and bop your head to or hum along with...instead, sit back, put it on in the background, listen through headphones in the dark, take it on your discman for a walk in the country on a gloomy December morning. The choice is yours...and when you get it right, you'll realise how fantastic this album is.
One of my alltime favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing, twisted genius, 6 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
Genius! - although not exactly what many were expecting from lunatic genius Aphex Twin (aka Richard James) following a period of apparently stable niche carving during which he released 'Analogue Bubblebath', 'Didgeridoo' and the almost commercial 'Polygon Window'.
Most sections of the press seemed to think he was either playing an elaborate prank or had simply lost the plot completely when this was released. There is absolutely no rhythm on this album whatsoever. A pretty bold move for a supposedly 'techno' artist! Released at the time that The Orb were beginning to break big in the UK, this is an entirely different flavour of ambient altogether. No dub influences here, no commericality on show.
What you get instead is twenty four tracks (weighing in at around two and a half hours' worth in total) of absolute, mind-bending ambient noise. The tracks here (with the exception of the jangly, poppy 'Blue Calx' which seems oddly incongruous) can be loosely dropped into three categories: Industrial Weirdness, Beautiful Synths and Spooky Eeerie Noise.
This album should not be approached track by track - it has to be listened to all the way through to be completely appreciated. Some of the stuff on show here can barely be described as music. It appears to be little more than samples of machinery buggered around with until some sort of tones emerge from them and then arranged loosely into a 'track'. Seriously, you can almost imagine Richard James sitting in his battered windswept castle feeding all these bizarre noises into a giant Cray supercomputer on punch cards!
My personal favourites would have to be the eerie tracks. These would be perfectly at home in a John Carpenter movie, such is the unease which they create in the listener.
At times, the album is reminiscent of 'Absinthe' by fellow loon John Zorn's 'Naked City' collective. Another reference point would be 'Isolationism' - a collection of vast, empty soundscapes by various left-field electronica artists. If you love this album (its one of those you'll either love or hate) check out these other albums for another taste of REAL ambient music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track-By-Track Review of Aphex's Haunting Subconscious, 8 Aug 2005
By 
J. Lightfoot "themangaman" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
There is little I can say about this album that has not been said before, so I thought I would describe each track individually as well as how they made me feel whenever appropriate, in an attempt to get the feel of the album across.
Disc 1
1. Snippets of undecipherable speech bubble over Richard's mountain range of synth. A good, interesting start to the album, setting the tone with relaxing, mysterious haunting melodies which build, then thin out over the course of the track.
2. Mysterious, simple melody which sounds to me like a very relaxed alarm. Shifts in pitch a few times, creates a pretty motionless soundscape. Another three note melody joins it in time, a hint at a beat works its way in as if it's just hanging out on the track because it doesn't have anything better to do. Massive reverb and delay as on most tracks.
3. An absolutely beautiful, ethereal melody is the basis of this track. It sounds like the soundtrack to Christ's ascension, or the death of an angel. It's a track to think back on your life moments before your death to or to look out over the Grand canyon at midnight. A life-enriching track.
4. A sinister distorted synthscape, like being alone in a forest at night.
5. Tribal rhythmic drums with oh so soft synth pads behind it. Eventually what sounds like hugely processed vocal sounds join it, but they sound like synth anyway.
6. A processed softened voice kind of hums the intro to this track, with a synth line accompanying it in a few seconds. A bassline adds a bit of depth momentarily. The voice stops, and the rest of the music carries on for a while before the voice is re-introduced. For some reason it sounds great as it fades back in.
7. A soft intro melody which sounds like background music in a cheap mystery film. Other gentle melodies eventually accompany it. This plods on and on, lulling the listener. The sound gently warps and changes slightly over the course of the track.
8. Gently percussive sounds, sounds like a being in another dimension bouncing a collection of different bouncy balls at midnight, in a desert. Layers of synth fade in and establish a melody.
9. More tribal beats open out onto a fun, deranged melody, like a accordion singing a lullaby to baby accordions whilst the father of the baby accordions sings along to his favourite TV show's theme music very pleasant and light-hearted sounding.
10. Frightening synth that sounds to me like being accidentally locked in a pyramid on another planet at night and slowly realising you're not alone...
11. Plonk plonk synth, like a very very soft glockenspiel. Sounds to me like a huge musical combination to an ancient lock on a cage which is only now being reopened to release Richard d. James' subconscious, at midnight by hundreds of children with Richard's face and the Aphex logo tattooed on their forehead.
12. With dreamy chimes, sped up and processed voices and other sounds which seem to replicate the sensation of being half asleep, so that both the actual world and the dream world have access to your consciousness. A modern day lullaby.
Disk 2
1. To quote another review website, this track opens with 'Percussive effects that sound like single water drops down the deepest well on the planet' then synth comes in which sounds like someone found the well and it was so beautiful they wrote music about it. A constant clicking keeps track of time and beat. Having listened to this track a few times, I now realise it really is quite beautiful, and creates the image of the first, delicate little flower germinating and growing in the wake of a nuclear holocaust.
2. Sounds very calm, with a hum like some kind of laboratory, on the moon, where a scientist is working diligently to create the most perfectly white light in existence.
3. A change of pace. A clear beat, with a lot of noise to which various noises are added. Faster and clearer than anything before preceding it on this record.
4. Sounds like a very, very fast lift taking you to the top of a huge glass spire on an alien world.
5. Uplifting optimistic synthy bubbles. Sounds like a computer singing about how great it is to be a computer. It sounds very much sound like red spheres rolling around.
6. Flutey sounds open up and tom-tom drums join it. Other little snippets of sound join over the course of the track. The flute changes about half way through to a different melody.
7. Nice track. More structure than the rest of the tracks. A solid beat, but still relaxing, still with dancing little melodies. Then a weird sound like a bike chain sped up fades in and out.
8. Smooth soft and very cool. Like floating on a cool lake on a warm summer evening.
9. Echoing inaudible speech booms around you - whispering, mingled with a synthy feedback. The whole thing sounds like exploring a cavernous cathedral built to worship the Aphex Twin logo.
10. An endless loop of radio feedback. Reminds me of the computer game myst, with the static in the blue and red books. Desolate synth waves wash over the static's spiky texture. Very electro and buzzy.
11. Haunting track which is evocative of waking up one morning and finding that no-one else in the house is around, you cant find them anywhere, they have left no note, and although its 1pm its still very dark outside. You try the TV and radio but every channel and station is broadcasting this track; SAW2 CD2 Track 11.
12. A fitting and ethereal end to the album, golden undulating synthy chords. Hard to describe, but it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deep, 27 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I think its very interesting to read the other reviews as it delineates precisely my global view of this album.Initially, I listened to the tracks from a stereo in the corner of the room and found the music distracting, disjointed and odd. Then I played it through headphones and I immediately understood. This music is a way to amplify your inner world, to tap into different perspectives. Beyond ambience....pure mind. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful and sublime, 17 Feb 2005
By 
khisanth "khisanth75" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic album. If you are in anyway into Ambient music this is the one to get. Even my gf who HATES any kind of electronic weird music actually likes some of the stuff on here. Its become my favourite ipod album to listen to at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 27 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album more than any other I own. It is the soundtrack to so many nights and has been there with me through good times and bad. I just wish Aphex Twin was a bit more prolific these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack to life, 21 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Ambient Works Volume II (Audio CD)
This is a great album, if not a difficult one. At the first listen all you can think is "What the hell is this", but my advice is to keep listening. do this until it clicks, because once it does, it's well worth it. These two disks are like a movie soundtrack to life. Each track has particular emotions at its core. my personal favourite it track 3 on disc 1. A more emotional song, i believe, is hard to find. those of you who like Aphex Twins work and haven't got this already should check this out. but i warn you, this is unlike anything he has ever done, before or since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Ambient Works Volume II
Selected Ambient Works Volume II by Aphex Twin (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews