Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing - a 'must'
Take a great actor, a very talented writing and production team, and give them carte blanche to to whatever they want. That's exactly what this album is. A highly imaginative concept album, that really defies classification. It's quite close to the Bonzo Dog Band's work in places, but you're just as likely to find it listed under 'easy listening'. There's a terrific sense...
Published on 22 April 2001 by bobobob5

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are You Curious?
This album is astonishing. Mr Wygarde was given carte blanche to produce this album and the fact that it was almost immediately deleted invites fascination.
Veering wildly between the divine and wholly unacceptable these recordings will take the listener back to the weirder side of the 1970's
Published on 17 Oct. 2002 by Psi Powers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing - a 'must', 22 April 2001
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
Take a great actor, a very talented writing and production team, and give them carte blanche to to whatever they want. That's exactly what this album is. A highly imaginative concept album, that really defies classification. It's quite close to the Bonzo Dog Band's work in places, but you're just as likely to find it listed under 'easy listening'. There's a terrific sense of humour permeating the entire record, courtesy of Wyngarde's lyrics and very careful selection of other material. His version of the psychedelic classic 'Neville Thumbcatch' is excellent. 'Rape' is social commentary, and the material about hippies and skinheads is marvellous. The recording quality is superb, as is his voice - it's very carefully intonated throughout, as you'd expect from him. With the right promotion, this could easily become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite literally unlike anything you've ever heard, 2 Sept. 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
The album opens with Peter inviting you into his home, complimenting your perfume and pouring you a drink by candlelight...it's clear that one thing's on his mind: Sex. He even asks you to sit nearer to him, for "everything's much closer over here"...
Very bizzare, and it just gets weirder and weirder. Be it an exploration of the violent sex rituals of the world (Rape) or a traditional folk chorus, the album is full of surprises. Quite literally unpredictable, and unlike anything you've ever heard or ever will hear ever again.
Special mention must be made of "The Hippie and the Skinhead". Peter reads his newspaper to you before delivering what must be one of the very first recorded raps. In 1970! To a country music backing!
However, by far the best track on the album (on any album?) is Neville Thumbcatch. The music is wonderful and varied, making use of acoustic guitars, cellos, brass bands and female choruses. It's important to remember that Peter was not a singer, so he delivers his lines like a poetry recital. And it sounds utterly fantastic. The song details with a poor man who spent his whole life farming and gardening only to lose his wife, who wanted nothing more than to make love. "He was a man of nature who'd forgotten his birds and his bees"...I guess the message is that we should do what's natural and leave nature to mother nature, as is the natural order...
Without a doubt a classic. To be filed alongside such gems as Swordfishtrombones and Trout Mask Replica....hell, even The White Album....as a piece of art that was well ahead of its time and quite possibly changed the face of music forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grotesque, Unbelievable, Bizarre, Unprecedented, 24 May 2006
By 
M. Jones (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
I bought this while I was in one of my "let's see what weirdo stuff I can find this week on Amazon" humours, and to be honest I didn't even know this existed.

The best way to describe this CD is that it could be the first "seduction concept album" ever recorded.

Imagine the scenario, have the champagne on ice:

It all starts off well enough, preparing the batchelor pad for action with candles and music, you invite your lady in, complement her on her fragrance, pop the bubbly, then relax up close on the bright orange sofa. All very civilised until track 3 starts and she spits her champers out with enough force to knock you clean off your Cuban heels, before high-tailing it home in a taxi before you even have chance to straighten your pink silk kipper tie.

To quote Woody Allen; "How did I mis-read those signs?"

Yep, it's that kind of impact. Having said that, at least you have the rest of the evening free to digest the rest of this extraordinary album.

Peter Wyngarde was a common sight in the 60s on TV (appearing in The Saint, The Avengers, and The Prisoner to name a few); but is much more popular for his superb pre-Austin Powers alter-ego Jason King from the 70s TV show of the same name, but he was much better as this incarnation in Department S. Over-the-top acting (I think it's called "camp" now) and an inability to fight (check out those karate chops, they wouldn't part your hair) coupled with a revolving door on his bedroom made him a hero to all pre-pubescent boys and lusted after by teenage girls. Now he would be parodied, but then he was the ultimate grrrrrr man. Up there with Curtis and Moore.

WSLIIH encapsulates this period, but with overtones of loneliness that only a devoted playboy poet/crime writer is going to experience as he jets off to solve another million pound jewel heist.

If you're from this era, you will know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are You Curious?, 17 Oct. 2002
By 
Psi Powers (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
This album is astonishing. Mr Wygarde was given carte blanche to produce this album and the fact that it was almost immediately deleted invites fascination.
Veering wildly between the divine and wholly unacceptable these recordings will take the listener back to the weirder side of the 1970's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head, Peter Wyngarde - Cool slice of `60s social comment, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
I bought this a little while ago, when a friend recommended it to me after I'd been enthusing about William Shatner's `Transformed Man'. I had been expecting to hear something along similar lines - kitsch, camp and hammed up to the rafters. But what I actually heard when playing this classic album was something much better, a really worthwhile musical statement.

Wyngarde essentially slips into his Jason King playboy persona, and the album opens with him preparing the bachelor pad for some action and then inviting you in. Listen to the controlled exasperation in his voice as he explains that it's candlelit, and not that the electricity is off... We are then taken on a musical tour of the social attitudes towards sex at the end of the swinging `60s.

There is no set style here, there is jazz, country and folk stylings, all held together by Wyngarde carefully intoning his lines, almost reciting poetry rather than singing. He has a good voice for this sort of thing, full of charm and expression, and you are soon drawn into his world. In the album he discusses various themes, covering a wide range of topics related to sex. At times some of it can seem a little politically incorrect to the modern ear, but in the main it is a fascinating document of the attitudes of the times. It shows two faces of the topic, the high ideals of `love' and the seedier side, and we realise that there is not really all that much separating them. It is at times touching, thought provoking and in one or two tracks even slightly disturbing. And then, all to soon the album draws to a close, and you find yourself instinctively pressing play again.

This is an excellent release, with a good clear sound. There is a decent set of liner notes, with an interesting essay about Wyngarde and the recording to the album.

This is an album that will be of interest to anyone who likes something a bit different, and who enjoys music with something to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Man for all Teasings", 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
Peter Wyngarde is best known for playing the flamboyant character 'Jason King'; 'a bestselling novelist turned sleuth', on British television between 1969 and 1972. His star was extiguished in 1975 when he was embroiled in a sex scandal and disappeared from TV. That said, in 1970 he released this album - originally titled "La Ronde De L'Amour/The Way I Cry Over You".

The album features Wyngarde speaking the album's song's lyrics to the music - well before Telly Savalas released "If" in 1975.
Peter Wyngarde's voice is one of the finest speaking voices I have ever heard. Quintessentially a "Overt Accessible British" accent. (My definition).

The arrangements as surprisingly modern to my ear.

WARNING: The content may offend those of a nervous, pious or parochial in disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Nov. 2004
By 
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
Quite stunning. I bought it in order to laugh at the preposterousness of it and found myself drawn in. I love it. Better than Shatner, and there is no higher praise than that in the twilight world of musical oratory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate for your ears, 29 May 2010
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
Peter Wyngarde has always had one of those voices that make you like him. I was recently given this little gem from a younger man who couldn't "get into it". This is a series of tracks using some lovely library music and Mr Wyngardes exceptional voice. It reminds me a bit of an album by the Moody Blues, the one that has Knights in White Satin on it - I think its called Days of Future Past. The other reviewers have given a better synposis of the tracks but I would say Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotically compelling ..., 4 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. G. T. Fleming "GregF" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
Quite amazing. Peter does an amazing tongue-in-cheek narrative even self-referencing his alter-ego Jason King. His voice, like velvet, leads us gently into a bizarre, fantastical netherworld and acts as our guide, pointing out people and items of interest. The effect is amazingly intimate and immediate.

A must have for anyone who knows Mr Wyngarde and enjoys his work. My only sadness is that its all over too soon and he never did a follow-up.

Thank you, Peter, Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange appeal, 23 Jun. 2003
This review is from: When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head (Audio CD)
According to the liner notes (with an interview with Peter Wyngarde some years later) RCA had approached the artist several times with ideas for an album, usually of old standards, when peter had the idea of this prose and poetry set to music album.
This seems to be a sort of Jason king "philosophy of life" and to some extent I think he was trying to exorcise the character, a Reductio ad absurdium.
I found that it is best listened to from the start, as all the tracks link up. A must for anyone with a taste for something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head
When Sex Leers Its Inquisitive Head by Peter Wyngarde (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews