Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hit that highway, man, with the sounds of sunny California
As our long, hot summer bears down on us, here's another California compilation to play - loudly - in the car. Just to annoy the neighbours, and all those who may be parked alongside you on the M1 or M25. It follows the same pattern of previous compilations such as 'Take It Easy: The Sound Of California', 'Back To California: Ladies And Gentlemen Of The LA Canyons' et al...
Published on 30 May 2007 by The Country Grumpkin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars California Dreaming
The CD is not as good as I expected, but it is good listening. I had heard a couple of tracks at the gym, so knew I liked some of them.
Published 22 months ago by Averyl Setterfield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hit that highway, man, with the sounds of sunny California, 30 May 2007
By 
The Country Grumpkin "Jimmy" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
As our long, hot summer bears down on us, here's another California compilation to play - loudly - in the car. Just to annoy the neighbours, and all those who may be parked alongside you on the M1 or M25. It follows the same pattern of previous compilations such as 'Take It Easy: The Sound Of California', 'Back To California: Ladies And Gentlemen Of The LA Canyons' et al. Most of the usual suspects are here, with mostly a different (if familiar) track from their repertoire, including: Byrds, Eagles, Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt, La Ronstadt and JT. It's good to see that Judee Sill, Ned Doheny and John David Souther are here also, though Karla Bonoff would have been a treat. Many songs are very familiar: 'Witchy Woman' (Eagles), 'Take It Easy' (Jackson Browne), 'Fire And Rain' (James Taylor), 'Werewolves Of London' (Warren Zevon), 'Everybody's Talkin'' (Nilsson), 'You're So Vain' (Carly Simon), and suchlike. But there's also Gene Clark's 'Life's Greatest Fool', Arlo Guthrie's 'When The Ship Comes In', 'Miles Away' (Marc Cohn) and 'Road To Cairo' (David Ackles). Inevitably, on any compilation, some are missing - even one or two who arguably may have had more impact on California music than some of those here. The Beach Boys, Pure Prairie League and John Phillips (solo) are in absentia. Still, we shouldn't be churlish. As Napoleon nearly once said, all the best compilers are sitting in their armchairs. The 40 tracks here should get you well over 150 miles if the roads are good. If not, let the sunny sounds of California transport you somewhere else. Right then, where are we headin'?

Added 20 October 2008 - I'm not sure what's going on here, but the price of this album has more than doubled since my original review. Good as it is, it is certainly not worth the the current silly price of nearly £40!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highway 1 - Revisited, 6 Nov. 2007
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
Concur fully with the previous review by Country Grumpkin (what a wonderful pseudonym) that this excellent compilation represents perfect accompaniment for a long drive. Where better for that than Highway 1, which runs down the West Coast of California from the North in San Francisco, through Monterey and Carmel, past Big Sur and Saint Simeon on South towards Laurel Canyon and L.A.

What particularly appeals about this offering, is the attention paid by the compiler to linking the sequence of tracks by some kind of association to what precedes and that which follows. For example, we have Buffalo Springfield followed by Stephen Stills and then Crazy Horse. Later, there is Jackson Browne followed by The Eagles, The Flying Burrito Brothers by Gram Parsons and finally Canned Heat by The Grateful Dead, both of whom appeared at The Woodstock Festival. Consequently, this set has very good continuity, it really flows from one track to the next like a gently flowing tide. I would like to endorse the inclusion of the following tracks, not mentioned in the previous review: Love`s - Alone again or (From the majestic "Forever changes" Album), Joni Mitchell`s - Blue (From the Album of the same title) Fleetwood Mac`s - Don`t stop ( From their platinum disc "Rumours") and last but not least two singles Jo Jo Gunne`s fine "Run, Run ,Run" and America`s beautiful "Horse with no name".

However, perhaps the biggest surprise is the exclusion of the Title Song itself "California Dreaming", since in essence that song would carry this collection forward from The Long Hot Summer thru The Fall and into Winter, when the song was composed by John Phillips in New York City. Thus making this a good all year round choice, especially when driving. Have a good trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous collection, 22 Nov. 2008
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
Though there are many Seventies compilations out there, this is one of the very best, presenting an excellent collection of West Coast songs. With an album of this sort, the choice of artists seems fairly obvious, but this compilation scores very highly on the choice of songs as well. Though described as 'Seventies', this is a fairly loose term here, as the album stretches back into the Sixties forebears of the Seventies West Coast golden age.

On this album are all (or at least most) of the artists you would expect on such a compilation, ranging from the obvious (Eagles, Grateful Dead, Little Feat, Jackson Browne, Fleetwood Mac, Arlo Guthrie, James Taylor, Bread, America, Warren Zevon) to those which might be rather less familar to British listeners (JD Souther, Ned Doheny, Flying Burrito Brothers).

The choice of representative songs here is inspired. In some cases (such as Little Feat's "Dixie Chicken", America's "A Horse With No Name" and Bread's "Guitar Man"), hit singles are obvious choices, but in other cases the compilation uses lesser-known but excellent tracks. For example, "Witchy Woman" is not the best-known Eagles track, and neither would "Take it Easy" necessarily stand out as a best-known Jackson Browne cut, but both are inspired choices in this context.

Many listeners may not be familiar with some of the real gems presented here, which include "Sin City" by the Flying Burrito Brothers; the marvellous "Return of the Grievous Angel" by Gram Parsons; JD Souther's "Black Rose"; and "Postcards from Hollywood" by Ned Doheny. "When the Ship Comes In" isn't Arlo Guthrie's best known track, but it's another inspired choice.

Listeners looking for a Seventies pop/rock collection have plenty of choice, but this is one of the very best collections on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great California music, 24 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
If you remember the Califormia Seventies as a blur of fantastic music, but you don't seem to have any on your system, or your LP's are unplayable, like mine - buy this! I don't know why it's a fantastic mix - even those I hadn't heard before - but it just is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of its kind, 19 Nov. 2013
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
An excellent audio snapshop of the times. Some crackers (eg Tranquility Bass), but a few damp squibs haven't aged so well(eg Aquatherium). Hard to believe it's 20 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some rarities, 21 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
I was not sure about buying this cd as thier was no track details but as it was a bargain 1P i did buy it and its great got some famous and some rare tracks on this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
Great selection of tracks if you just want to dip your toes into this type of music. There are some obvious choices but also some not so obvious. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars California Dreaming, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Averyl Setterfield (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
The CD is not as good as I expected, but it is good listening. I had heard a couple of tracks at the gym, so knew I liked some of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seventies Rock?, 6 May 2008
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
As muh as I enjoyed this double album, what is Marc Cohen doing in the play list with a song dating from 1991?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Dreaming (Audio CD)
Great choice Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

California Dreaming
California Dreaming by Various (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews