Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Billy Joel Album
This is Billy Joel's last great album. It was his first studio album for three years and every song is a gem. It contains the smash-hit 'history of the world since 1949 in 5 minutes' "We didn't start the fire", but this isn't even the best song on the album. "Downeaster Alexa" is a stunning song - musically and lyrically. It deals with the fate of...
Published on 24 Feb. 2001 by Andrew W Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Streetwise Serenade
There are a couple of good songs on the album but like most of Billy Joel’s stuff it feels as if he has cherry picked melodies from a musical library.
There are two great songs – vintage Joel – the rest of the songs are mediocre.
Since he disbanded his original band, the ‘edge’ in his music has never been able to recapture that...
Published 12 months ago by Leo Fender was a genius says -


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Billy Joel Album, 24 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
This is Billy Joel's last great album. It was his first studio album for three years and every song is a gem. It contains the smash-hit 'history of the world since 1949 in 5 minutes' "We didn't start the fire", but this isn't even the best song on the album. "Downeaster Alexa" is a stunning song - musically and lyrically. It deals with the fate of fishermen from Long Island where Joel grew up, who have to go further and further out to sea to catch fish because of restrictions due to over-fishing. Musically it is a modern sea shanty, accordions and a fiddle weave a beautiful Celtic melody around a slow funereal rhythm. Two other songs stand out, both slow songs: "Shameless" is a timeless love song made even more poignant by the subsequent break-up of his marriage, while "Leningrad" is an account of Joel's tour of Russia in 1987 which ends with a spine-tingling choral coda. "I go to extremes" is a great up-tempo pop song, while "That's not her style" and "Storm Front" are both heavier rock numbers. The album closes with the quiet and reflective "And so it goes", a piano based song in the same mood as "Honesty" from 52nd Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The change of direction works, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
Storm Front marks a change of direction for Billy into a harder guitar sound - and boy does it work! The roughness of his voice perfectly suits the guitar and the adding of the sax and brass section really lifts up the tracks. The songs themselves are absolutely brilliant encorporating many feels. That's Not Her Style has a big outdoor stadium concert feel, We Didn't Start the Fire is an absolute gem and shows off Billy's intellect as well as his songwiring talent in this 5-minute 40 year history lesson. The stirring music of The Downeaster "Alexa" really creates a powerful track and the personal emotion in I Go To Extremes, And so It Goes and State Of Grace is wonderful. Shameless is one of the best and most beautiful Billy tracks ever and the 'coolness' of When In Rome and particularly the brilliant Storm Front adds the last rounded aspect to a fully brilliant album. Not quite An Innocent Man - but nearly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From start to finish another beautiful masterpiece of 80s soft rock by Billy Joel, 3 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
One more of Billy Joel's classics combining his magic as both an accomplished writer of lyrics and a stunning musician.

It is his first digital album covering an entire range of beats and strong emotions that will really resonate with the listener.
This is a real joy to hear.

From the fast paced rocker and 20th century history lesson in one, to the beautiful ballad of the Cold War, Leningrad.

The lower beat Downeaster Alexa, about a boat named after Joel's daughter, to the rocking "I Go to Extremes", the bluesy Shameless and "Storm Front", and the beautifully smooth and slow song So It Goes.

From start to finish another beautiful masterpiece of 80s soft rock by Billy Joel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going to extremes of greatness, 19 May 2003
By 
K. Slusar "slusa" (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
I studied 'We didnt start the fire' in English class and have loved it since, written more like a poem, Joel pulls it off as a great song. I adore Lenningrad for its slow strong message. Downeaster Alexa is another excellent song, as are State of Grace, I go to extremes and When in Rome. Althogether this an increadible album although i dont particularly like Thats not her style, or storm front - but they're two of my mums favourites so the album can retain its five star class in my eyes :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Streetwise Serenade, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
There are a couple of good songs on the album but like most of Billy Joel’s stuff it feels as if he has cherry picked melodies from a musical library.
There are two great songs – vintage Joel – the rest of the songs are mediocre.
Since he disbanded his original band, the ‘edge’ in his music has never been able to recapture that wonderful musical drive and observation he had on youth culture which typified his excellent early offerings. I presume that is because he has become an old git.
Worth a listen if you are a fan as the oeuvre appears to me to attempt some form of departure from his years singing dirges such as Uptown Girl and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Joel at his best, 27 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
It took me quite a while to get round to buying this album and I wonder why I waited so long. I absolutely love it, so much energy. I have had the CD for some weeks now and can't stop playing it. "And So It Goes" is one of my all time favourite Billy Joel songs and a calm end to a sometimes frantic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic 80's album, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
Brilliant album that reminds me of my childhood.
The CD comes with the song lyrics so we had a laugh singing along as some of the songs are pretty dated.
Downeaster Alexa is a favourite.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Journey with Emotions, 20 April 2013
By 
J. M. Adams "bournvillebabe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
A REALLY GREAT ALBUM. Such a range of musical styles, all performed so well & with the usual greatness of Billy Joel. It simp, ly flows with emotion and wonderful storytelling, beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lyrically strong, 1 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
Wonderful lyricism and social comment, particularly Downeaster Alexa and Leningrad. On these two tracks his lyrics read like poetry, like his early music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storm Front, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Front (Audio CD)
As a lover of Joel's music i added this album to my growing collection and wasn't disappointed Joel puts his all into his music and you can tell..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storm Front
Storm Front by Billy Joel (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews