Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Joel- An Innocent Man, 6 Aug. 2004
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
As a Teenager Billy Joel was influenced by many musicians and styles from Classical (Beethoven), 50's Pop (James Brown) and the 60's (Beatles). This is evidant in his Music. On this album the songs are a dedication to the Doo Wop and Soul Music of the 50's, songs are remiscant of James Brown, Franki Valli and The Drifters. Here Joel gives us a collection of Easy Listening but well created songs of complete diversity.
This was Joel's most popular album to date and was due to the fact that is sounded like he was having so much fun- well he was i n love with a famous Model at the time. this album contained at least 5 hits including 2 number 1's (Uptown Girl, Tell her about it)
The best Highlights are the Acapella number 'The Longest Time" the poetic Ballad "Leave a tender moment alone" the tempations style "An Innocent Man" and the Soul sounding "Easy Money" and "Keeping the Faith" the latter an expalanation of the album which closes the album where Joel states "The Good old days weren't always Good and tomorrow ain't as bad as it seems" so he doesn't want to wallow in Nosatlgia, although there's no harm in reminiscing.
Billy says he writes with no audience in mind he does what he does because he feels like it at the time. Joel has recorded Rock N Roll, Ballads and Jazz with a little bit more complexity but I don't think he recorded songs that were as fun and entertaining as he did on An Innocent Man. One to enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I grew up with this.., 17 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
I was brought up on this album! A timeless classic: from the crowd pleasing hit 'Uptown Girl' to the Beethoven-inspired 'This Night', its never too late to relax with a whisky and listen to Billy sing about teenage love, first encounters, and hazy memories.. Nostalgia is underrated- this is pure listening heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute to early rock, doo-wop in one of Joel's best albums, 2 Dec. 2003
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
An Innocent Man, Billy Joel’s 1983 follow-up to the seminal Nylon Curtain, is a heartfelt tribute to the doo-wop and rhythm-n-blues based rock and roll music of the late 1950s and 60s. Its 10 songs vary in moods and tempos, ranging from the sassy “Easy Money” to the introspective title track, “An Innocent Man.” This retro atmosphere is reflected not only in most of its songs; the album’s front and back cover art has Billy and his band looking for all the world like a youth gang out of “West Side Story.”
Musically speaking, Joel’s creative roots show a very eclectic set of influences. “An Innocent Man” has a pulsing bass undertone very similar to the classic doo-wop song “Under The Boardwalk,” the type of romantic vocal made famous by such groups as The Platters, The Regents, and The Diamonds. “This Night,” an ode to a friendship that turned into romance, not only has Frankie Valli-style vocals, but Billy Joel’s love of classical music shows in its chorus, which lifts its melody from Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto. “For The Longest Time” is also in the style of classic doo-wop, down to the a capella background vocals and melodic constructions. (In fact, it was this song that inspired me to listen to real doo-wop, a genre of music that I find more stirring that what passes for pop songs today.) “Uptown Girl,” which was Joel’s musical Valentine to Christie Brinkley, with its poor-guy-loves-a-rich-girl storyline, Frankie Valli falsetto styling, and catchy hooks and backbeats (provided by ace drummer Liberty DeVito) is sunny and charmingly innocent.
“Leave a Tender Moment Alone” is more contemporary, or at least more “timeless.” Its self-deprecating narrator paints a vivid mental image of the awkwardness we guys feel when we fall in love with a woman. “Even though I’m in love/Sometimes I get so afraid; I’ll say something so wrong/Just to have something to say.” How true!
To me, the heart and soul of this album is the title track. It deals with the difficulties faced when entering a relationship with someone who has been hurt in the past by former lovers. “Some people stay far away from the door,” Joel observes in his opening line “if there’s a chance of it opening up/They hear a voice in the hall outside/And hope that it just passes by.” It’s both a warning and a plea. It warns about the danger of willful self-isolation (“Some people live with the fear of a touch/in the anger of having been a fool…), while making a case for redemption (“But I’ve been there and if I can survive/I can keep you alive/I’m not above going through it again…”).
Maybe in the raunchy era of Britney and Christina, these songs (like the doo-wop songs that inspired them) are corny and wear their heart on their sleeve. But in these uncertain times, maybe corniness and sentimentality are sorely needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy's Gold, 3 July 2014
By 
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
Slightly toning down the rock feel of Nylon Curtains and re-establishing the jazzy feel with a doo-wop influence seen in the laid back "The Longest Time," "This Night," and "Careless Talk."
Highlights include the heartfelt love plea "An Innocent Man", The feel-good "Tell Her About It", very much in the style of Joel's late 70s work, the upbeat "Uptown Girl" with it's doo-wop background and the jiving "Keeping The Faith".
Billy Joel is one artist who managed to blaze across the 70's, 80s and 90's without ever losing his pace, keeping rhythm with the musical fashions while maintaining his own distinctive Joel style and making sure his music remains classic forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numero Uno, 10 July 2005
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
I am a massive Billy Joel fan and started out listening to my parents Bily Joel The Stranger album. I naturally progressed onto his next most successful album An Innocent Man. At first I was dissappointed.....how ignorent of me! I left this album for months until I had nothing to do and then I gave it another try!! As a 17 year old boy I found tracks that realted to where I was, where I had been and where I wantd to go!!
Its an album that you just relate to. Every feeling that you've ever had, but couldn't describe, is in this album! The girls you wanted to kiss,the girls you shouldn't have kissed and the girls you wish you could kiss again-its all in this album!!
Its growing up put into music!!!
Its also amazing music no matter what!!
A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Example of Commercial American Pop from the Early 1980s, 3 May 2015
By 
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
Billy Joel's 1983 album, An Innocent Man, is just a great pop album from a decade that is renowned for polished productions with its pop music. From Easy Money to Keeping the Faith, the album provides a lively and entertaining experience out of its 41-minute run-time. At times some of the songs sound a bit of a false masterpiece, in contrast with Joel's classic catalogue from the previous decade (Uptown Girl; Tell Her About It) Also, fans maybe in for shock over the lack of Joel's distinct epic ballads that have enough longevity to showcase Joel's distinct storytelling with his lyrics. Whilst there are nothing wrong with his 'serious' songs here (An Innocent Man; This Night), fans expecting to find another Scenes from an Italian Restaurant may wish to restrain their disappointment.

On the one-hand, An Innocent Man is finely polished piece of work, but on the other hand, it can be viewed as a tame false masterpiece that could be compensating Joel's depth of song writing for commercial success. It should be noted that Billy Joel was the first American musician to go down this 'retro' sound for commercial success throughout this decade, as anyone that loves Huey Lewis and the News will testify. However, fans of this kind of pop music will lap it up, whilst fans of Joel's classic material from the 1970s will just need to accept that this was the sound of Joel's most accessible material during the 1980s. At least none of these tracks will anger the fan base as much as We Didn't Start the Fire!

An Innocent Man is an excellent example of commercial American pop from the early 1980s, which is destined for what it brings, and has brought, to Joel's career throughout the 1980s. Whether or not die-hard fans feel about the lack of time for all these songs to breathe amongst his albums from the previous decade, such as his masterpiece The Stranger album, leaves to be a rhetoric opinion amongst them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joel salutes early rock......., 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
Billy Joel's 1983 album, "An Innocent Man," is, in my opinion, one of his best recordings. Because I like many kinds of music (rock, country, New Age, Celtic, and some classical), this album has enough variety yet is evocative of rock 'n' roll's early roots.
While not all the songs appeal to me - "Easy Money" being perhaps my least favorite track - I can honestly say that I really enjoy Joel's tribute to the doo-wop and early rock of his younger days. He has written some very lovely songs in the past, but in this album I particularly like his Frankie Vallie-style "For The Longest Time." It has a nice melody and a catchy hook, and the background vocals are evocative of a somehow more innocent time.
I also like Joel's take on the redeeming value of love expressed in his Carole King-inspired "An Innocent Man," with its bass guitar intro, Joel's tender piano melody, and the recognition that heartbreak exists but that one should not let that stop others from trying to heal the wounds.
My favorite song in this album is "This Night," which has gentle lyrics, a chorus melody borrowed from Beethoven, who is one of Joel's favorite classical composers, and a beat that was perfect for dancing with my boyfriend. If you are a romantic soul, like I am, this song is sure to move your heart.
Betty June Moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The all-time classic album, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
I am 18 and have grown up with this album since it's original release in '83. From this, the album has always had a special place in my heart and is catergorically my fave album of all time. It has absolutely - the brilliant lyrics of Christie Lee and Keeping The Faith, the first class arrangements in The Longest Time and Carless Talk, the happy vibes of Uptown Girl and Tell Her About It, the rock 'n' roll of Easy Money and Christie Lee and the sheer beauty of Leave A Tender Moment Alone, An Innocent Man and (my absolute fave track) This Night. As you can see every song on the album fits in to at least of the categories which just says it is one of the classic albums of all time and will always be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Billy Joel, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to replace an old cassette version which had given me many years of pleasure. This album never seems to age and contains many of Billy's tracks which made him famous (Easy Money, An Innocent Man, Tell Her About It, Uptown Girl, Leave a tender moment alone etc). If you only ever get one Billy Joel album, make sure you get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic staple for your CD collection, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Innocent Man (Audio CD)
I ordered this cd because I am gradually replacing my favourites from my cassette collection to CDs.

Billy Joel is a real 'artist' from the past, and his 'Innocent Man' cd is always a classic, and does't age, partly because several of his songs still get covered by today's artists.
Definitely a good buy for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Innocent Man
An Innocent Man by Billy Joel (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews