Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just doing it for the love of the sounds
I've heard a lot about 'production' and how lyrics being negative doesn't matter but this LP proves how good the original ideas behind hip-hop still are and also that you don't need to rhyme negatively to be relevant. This is all about fitting each beat with each word, still not having to be too serious about yourself and just loving the sounds which we can create and...
Published on 14 Jan 2007 by Mr. Jeremy Joe Taylor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Rubbish! Rap and not Brazilian.
Published 29 days ago by D. A. G. Charles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just doing it for the love of the sounds, 14 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Jeremy Joe Taylor "Incredible inch" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
I've heard a lot about 'production' and how lyrics being negative doesn't matter but this LP proves how good the original ideas behind hip-hop still are and also that you don't need to rhyme negatively to be relevant. This is all about fitting each beat with each word, still not having to be too serious about yourself and just loving the sounds which we can create and doing it all for the enjoyment, the idea behind hip-hop for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purified J5, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Joe Spence (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
The J5 LP is far more raw than the perfect pop of Power in Numbers and is not as filled out as Quality in Numbers. However, if you already own these two albums and want to hear more harmonious melodies and addictive beats then this LP won't dissapoint.

There are only a few full/ "proper" hip-hop songs on the LP (In the Flesh, Concrete Schoolyard and Improvise being the standout 3 for me). Much of the rest of the LP sounds like the two DJ's simply enjoying themselves. Nevertheless, the record has a great original, underground feel to it. I usually put it on when I've listened to Power in Numbers several times in succesion and want something refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the good old days, 2 Jun 2005
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
This is proper hip-hop, original beats and clever lyrics. The group claim they're all about the music and this is certainly true. I have to draw attention to 'cut-chemist' the real star of the group - check out 'lesson 6' for an example of his skills. J5 are often compared to dilated people's and on the basis of this lp you've gotto say they're even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We got the action.... satisfaction!, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
It was a great week for Hip Hop when Jurassic 5 blasted back on the scene with their self titled LP. Bridging the gap between the long standing east coast/west coast conflict, Hip Hop fans found an album that didn't discriminate - and at long last, was 'all about the music'.
Vaguely reminiscent of the 'good time' feeling that came with groups such as De La Soul & Tribe Called Quest in the early 90's, Jurassic 5 made their mark in the penultimate year of the century by returning to the old school vibe with some seriously new school ideas an lyrics. Intellectual ryhmes merged with funky downtown beats made this the Hip Hop buy of '98.... and '99....and if you haven't got it yet - well then......
The only thing that I would put forward as a down point is that J5 isn't long enough, and at times you feel that they may be 'filling in' between the really outstanding tunes such as "Concrete Schoolyard", "Jayou" and "In The Flesh". Still you have to take the view that these fillers are better than silence, and although short - are never of a lesser quality. As an album J5 can be marked as no less than an outstanding debut. J5's album is one that can span all ages, cultures and vibes without losing it's credibilty or standing as a landmark in the new wave of Hip Hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great seller!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
I have had a resurgence within myself to listen to hip hop after 'growing out of it' some years back. Jurrasic 5 do not disappoint and it's a great album.

I'm old school and like to have a physical copy of my music. Zoverstocks, the seller, are now my preferred supplier because they are quick to deliver with great service and quality CD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J5 are dope., 17 April 2012
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
Absolutely sterling production from some real hip hop heroes. J5 are outstanding in the this edition. Be sure to check out there other album 'Quality Control'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Rabbit in a hat Tricks, 28 Jun 2005
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
The line out of Concrete Playground sums it up really - "lets take you back to the concrete streets, original beats with real live MCs, playground tactics, no rabbit-in-a-hat tricks, just that classic rap from Jurassic".
Its the kind of music you can't put a date to, it stands the test of time better than the 2Pac tripe that requires Elton John or Billy Joel or some other bilge as a backing track cos no one could be bothered to write their own.
This is what I suppose people would call Old Skool, and it is a great album, and an amazing debut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 2 July 2014
By 
D. A. G. Charles "Notabanker" (Cambridge, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic 5 (Audio CD)
Rubbish! Rap and not Brazilian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic 5
Jurassic 5 by Jurassic 5 (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews