Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no lemon, 20 Feb 2006
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
As best of albums goes this has to be one of my favoutites. I picked this up recently after being dismayed to find out my mum had chucked out my old Lemonheads CD´s when she moved house.
For me this is an excellent record that catalogues the band´s finest years. Personally I wasn´t left in the slightest bit disappointed by this. I feel Evan Dando produced his finest body of work during the years with Atlantic and although there are a couple of puzzling absentees from those albums you are made fully aware of his greatness as a song writer and the delicate beauty of his voice. On these songs you really see him mature as a songwriter as they moved away from the pop/punk averageness of their early years.
"Confetti," "Shame about Ray," "drug buddy" and "rudderless," were all favourites from my early teens and they have retained their infectiousness with the years.
There is the odd scrappy moment, "Hospital" is a track I don´t feel really deserved it´s place on the record along with the last track with Rick James. It seems he was passing by the studio that day. The presence of tracks like "outdoor type," which Evan often performed life is nice to see.
What is apparant when you listen to this album is that the songs really stand the test of time and this band were far more than a passing fad in the pop charts.
A fine testament to a great singer/songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame about The Lemonheads..., 4 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
This album collects the best of The Lemonheads' work while signed to Atlantic, so it covers the albums 'Lovey', 'It's a Shame About Ray', 'Come On Feel The Lemonheads' and 'Car Button Cloth'. Most of the material comes from the middle two albums; from 'Lovey' we have a version of 'Ride With Me' (not the album version) and from 'Car Button Cloth' we get the underrated 'Hospital' and 'The Outdoor Type'.
So Atlantic have packaged this up as a pop album, brushing the punk aggression of 'Lovey' under the carpet, minimising the 'my drug hell' references and presenting the lovable Evan Dando instead. Having said that, almost every song here is excellent bubblegum pop (though the 'new' track 'Rudy With A Flashlight' isn't up to much, really).
When you listen to this best-of, you realise how good Evan Dando is at (1) writing songs, and (2) singing them - the kind of stuff that the drug-focused media coverage never emphasised. I'm just hoping Evan gets his act together and sorts out a new label for himself... in the meantime, I could do someone compiling "The Best of The Lemonheads: The Taang! Years" - with 'Luka', 'Circle of One', 'Amazing Grace' and all the old ones...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still in love(y) with the Lemonheads, 26 May 2009
By 
L. de Jongh "Linnie" (Arnhem, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
Very good summary of all my favorite Lemonheads albums, even though Brass Buttons should be on it too. A must have, especially now it's getting more and more difficult to find the earliest albums on CD, one by one they're taken out of production. Would be nice if the booklet contained lyrics but oh well, Evan Dando's still gorgeous face makes up for that :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
For those who don't own the UK best of, this is a must buy album! A good selection of the genuinely best tracks released on atlantic, every one is a winner. For thise who already own the UK best of, this Japanese version is well worth investing in for the extra cover versions - from metallica to oasis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation!, 28 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
As a lifelong fan of The Lemonheads, I decided to buy this album to have all their best known songs on one CD. I know some fans might be disappointed that it doesn't include any of their early work before they signed with Atlantic Records, but this compilation does do what it states - it is the best of the Atlantic years.

My favourite tracks will always be 'It's A Shame About Ray' and 'My Drug Buddy', but there is much more to love here including the opening track 'Confetti', my favourite version of Simon & Garfunkle's classic 'Mrs. Robinson', the country style 'Big Gay Heart', and a wonderful acoustic 'Ride With Me'. Although they aren't as popular as they were in the 1990s, if you enjoy alternative rock music - this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves your head full of Lemons ......, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. W. Murray "Big Louie" (Schottland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (MP3 Download)
Great for fans and newcomers alike; accessible and at the same time immersing, there's not a bad track on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Value, 27 May 2012
By 
A. Ray "Andy Brighton" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
I have paid a thousand times more money for things theat are a thousand times worse than this collection. My recomendation is set your cd player to program and select these tracks. 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 13 and add the rest if you like. Song after song that lifts the spirits and fill me with joy.
HIghlights include "Outdoor type" - one of the best covers EVER, "Big Gay Heart", "Its about time", "Its a Shame about Ray".
Get it second hand for virtually the postage and then copy and burn the above 8 songs onto a new disc and play every week for the rest of your life.
Of course Im implying that Im not so fond of a couple of tracks, but you can say that of classic records by Beatles Doors, Stones, Stone Roses, Cure Etc etc
.
Improve your life buy this NOW.
If you like more than me buy the origonal albums after. You cant really loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars no lemon, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Martin Grace (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
Great album - fun to listen to over and over. Really strong collection of songs that are well written with plenty of catchy chords and lyrics to match. If you know the Lemonheads it's not necessary to list the songs here. If you don't the only thing to say is 'give it a chance'. Bouncy, bubbly and sometimes sombre it's always sincere which is something that comes through in the songs.
Worthy of any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Don Spence "music adict" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
Great CD for someone who like me came by the Lemomheads late in the game. Its a very enjoyable body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Lemonheads, 19 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years (Audio CD)
First of all, don't be fooled by the title - this isn't the best of The Lemonheads. That said, there are plenty of excellent moments, demonstrating both Evan Dando's songwriting ability (It's A Shame About Ray, My Drug Buddy), and the bands uncanny knack for covering songs and making them better than the original (Mrs. Robinson).
The only error I find with this compilation is the overlooking of such tracks as, "Luka" and, "Different Drum" from the listing (the latter being the song which got me interested in The Lemonheads in the first place), hence 4 stars, not 5.
All in all, a great assortment by one of the most overlooked bands of the 80's/90's, but more of a reference point to new fans than a definitive collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years
The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years by Lemonheads (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews