Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic British album...
Ironic that MOR goons like Coldplay & Travis have cleaned up with a similar kind of music to Sunhouse- who like Unbelievable Truth have been looked over in the folk-ish rock sense.
Crazy on the Weekend (1998) remains an absolute classic, 12 of the finest tracks that spring to mind, all in one convenient place. Sunhouse were probably most famous for having some songs...
Published on 26 Feb 2003 by Jason Parkes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cd but arrived in damaged box
Obviously I expect some wear and tear when buying second hand but the box was quite damaged, it had crack in the front and the bit on inside which holds cd was totally smashed so didn't hold cd in place. My husband loves the music and we bought this for my mother in law as she has heard music on husbands iPod. Digital download was only 5.99 but paid nearly 20 so mother in...
Published 9 months ago by S. West


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic British album..., 26 Feb 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
Ironic that MOR goons like Coldplay & Travis have cleaned up with a similar kind of music to Sunhouse- who like Unbelievable Truth have been looked over in the folk-ish rock sense.
Crazy on the Weekend (1998) remains an absolute classic, 12 of the finest tracks that spring to mind, all in one convenient place. Sunhouse were probably most famous for having some songs featured in the rather wonderful Shane Meadows film 24:7, alongside artists such as Tim Buckley, Van Morrison & Nick Drake (which'll give you some idea where they're coming from). Hurricane emanates from an ep of demos, though here it has a distinct Dylan feel (harmonica, phrasing); another early single here is Animal, starting off in Paul Weller Wild Wood-territory (OK, John Barleycorn Must Die!), before moving into Screaming Trees/Mark Lanegan territory.
The title track ushers in the album, a song I think anyone can relate to, that has much in common with The Streets' Weak Become Heroes, Flowered Up's Weekender & The Specials' Friday Night, Saturday Morning. It's just the chilled, fragile, comedown side of these things...
Chasing the Dream is absolutely gorgeous musically, reminding me a little of Talk Talk's The Colour of Spring (not quite that wonderful, not that much is)- great backing vocals. Spinning Round the Sun is more minimal, not far from solo Richard Thompson.
Good Day to Die is another highlight, about "a child prodigy obssessed with death", it's up there with anything from American Music Club's Everclear (1991)...The rest of the album is as great: Hard Sun featuring Sinead O'Connor on backing vocals, the singles Lips, Loud Crowd & almost hit single Monkey Dead & the bonus track Second Coming (which follows the mania of Animal).
Crazy on the Weekend is a classic British album, albeit one that was ignored by the public- this couldn't be farther from 'dad rock', which is probably how it was perceived. I can't believe this is deleted, what would happen if I lost my copy? (the horror, the horror...) Some wise record label should buy the rights to all of Sunhouse's stuff & put out a CD with it all on (including outtakes such as Crazy, which are as good). Definitely an album to hunt down, though it may take a few listens to appreciate its greatness. Rest assured...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a class beginning, 19 May 2005
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
this is a stunning record. Gavin Clarke's voice sounds almost unnatural, almost the product of an angelic natural sound beaten into shape with whiskey and cigarettes. The sound the band achieve is incredible too - with a minimum of orchestration on opener 'Crazy On The Weekend', Clarke's voice drifts over a sparse acoustic backdrop like cigarette smoke over a bar table. Lyrically the album is dark, depressing and lonely, but that's what Sunhouse are about. Some of the 'louder' tracks aren't quite as successful as their more reserved moments - second track 'Hurricane' and closer 'Animal' suffer from almost having too much going on sonically - but in minimalist tracks like 'Crazy', 'Hard Sun', 'Loud Crowd' and the beautiful 'Lips' Sunhouse draw you into a world of solitude and urban desolation. Highly recommended.
I notice one of these reviewers says 'shame they didn't go onto better things'. Well, they did. If you like this record, I strongly recommend you check out 'Small Circle' by Clayhill - this is Gavin Clarke's new band, with Ali Friend and Ted Barnes. Lyrically Clarke has gone from strength to strength since his Sunhouse debut, and while the Clayhill sound is still pared down it is even richer and more immersive than Sunhouse. The Clayhill mix of urban acoustic musing and a working knowledge of electronica deserves to be huge - hopefully the band's appearance at Glastonbury this year will start them on the road to that. Catch them live if you can - hearing Gavin sing live is one of the few life-affirming experiences you can have in public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in catalogues, 6 Aug 2004
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
I have had this album for ages, in fact I have given all my friends copies of this and it is the stock fodder album.
I forget how good it is until it goes on and if you do put it on you are always asked...........
1/ Who is this?
2/ Where did you get it from?
3/ Where can I get a copy?
This is a class album, lost out there. In time it will resurface and everyone will wonder where they are etc.... There is also a funny story involving a friend of mine and Arnold Schwarzenegger loving this album as well ! There you go.
Just get it and love it. Your pennies are well spent, you will never get tired of this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gavin Clarke and the world of Sunhouse, 11 July 2003
By 
Anthony Peckham "meantime_tony" (Leatherhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
Maybe its because I'm in a band, and this album has influenced everything we've done. Maybe it's because this album is always the first on the stereo when we get home from the pub. Maybe it's because Sunhouse split after this album was made. Maybe because this album is truely a classic.
If you are reading this review, and you are a fan of acoustic guitar based music, give it a try. Gavin Clarke's tortured lyrics could not fail twang at even the toughest heart strings, and track 6 'lips' is possibly the simplest, most beautiful love song ever written.
Sunhouse are totally under rated and the fact that Gavin Clarke et all have not gone on to truely better things is a tragedy. If you are a music lover, and want something exceptional for your record collection, you could do a lot worse than purchase 'crazy on the weekend'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for those fed up with manufactured teeny bands!, 20 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Anyone who caught the film 24:7 by Shane Meadows, may have caught track 8, Monkey Dead. It was this song which inspired me to buy the album and I'm very glad I did. Excellent songs and a great lead vocalist lend this album a David Gray / Pink Floyd - esque quality. Fave song is 'Good Day to Die'. Has a good mix of both up and down-beat tracks to suit any mood and can't wait for another album fellas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deleted!? A travesty!, 9 Mar 2009
By 
MrDmented (Brighton, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
I happened across this album after looking for the song credits at the end of a Shane Meadows film (he has used Gavin Clark's songs in almost all of his films) and almost immediately knew that it was something special. It does not necessarily reveal its true quality on first listen however, and it took me some while to realise that it is not just the stand out songs that make it a winner, but the fact that the album flows beautifully from beginning to end despite the variety of song moods & styles. I can't believe it has been deleted and is no longer available - I found my copy on eBay and I suggest you do the same before it is gone for good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who are these people., 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
What a lovely, exhausting, emotional album. I bought this on a whim and a good review in a music magazine. Trust me when I say however that no artist of this decade has created such a soulful, emotive album. The people who wrote and performed these tunes sound like they lived through what they're singing about. Dark and occasionally tortured there are exhilirating moments where the music soars. If you don't like bluesy, rootsy rock this album isn't for you, if like me you will tolerate it if it is beautifully crafted and gripping, buy this album. Great singer too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 16 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
This is the only time I've bothered to review something on Amazon. However, I feel so strongly about this CD that I'm breaking my usual silence. This is quite simply one of my top 5 albums of all time. There's loads of reviews on here that will wax lyrical about its raw feel and great musicianship. That's all very well but what's important is that this collection will touch your soul. I've played this to numerous people and there isn't a clear favourite song but there's not been anyone who doesn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite ever album, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
this is without a word of a lie a masterpiece, i have owned this album for years since hearing a track in the film 24/7. The songs subjects are sometimes harsh but Gavin Clark is the owner of one of the most remarkable voices i have had the enjoyment of hearing. There isnt one track that is poor i was devestated to hear they only made the one album until i discovered Clayhill which takes over where sunhouse left off...it is well worth spending your money on this i promise you wont regret it one little bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps on being a favourite, 1 Nov 2007
By 
P. Burridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy on the Weekend (Audio CD)
I've had this album for years since reading an end of year review in 'Mojo'. It is always in my top 5 all time album list and is just so very fresh every time I hear it. The voice! Soulful and desperate.

I'd say buy this album and you won't regret it.

Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy on the Weekend
Crazy on the Weekend by Son House (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews