Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, the best album in my collection., 7 July 2002
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
I am 21 now, and from cradle to grave, I don't think I will find an album better than this. Let us now try to be more objective, shall we...
No two tracks sound the same, yet there is a coherence in the record which makes it compelling listening from the breezy opening of So Called Friend to the winding down of the record that is Winter's End. What gels this record together is Sharleen Spiteri's vocals, the raw energy and power that those with just White on Blonde and The Hush in their collection would have only heard on the stunning 'Put Your Arms Around Me'. Whilst it is immediate why these two albums were extremely well received, this album although more off-beat than these is commercial enough to have paved its own path, wondering why the reinvention in 1997 was ever necessary.
Rick's Road was successful in France, yet failed to make an impact in the UK. The 'pop' music to be found on 'White on Blonde' and 'The Hush' would obviously give Texas a much larger fan base, making them more accessible to the masses. In contrast, all the tracks on Rick's Road would come under the genre of soft rock, yet this description would do the variety and distinctiveness of the songs a huge disservice.
The standout tracks are perhaps the ballads 'Listen To Me', 'So In Love With You' and 'I've Been Missing You', but this would merely imply that there are weaker moments, flaws or failings. This would be unfair, at best. The power and strength of Spiteri's vocals comes to the fore on these tracks, whilst in general many big ballads can grind, these are huge, 'huge' vocally, but not over the top or pretentious.
Lyrically, the album does not disappoint, these lyrics would have been masterpieces on their own without there ever being the need to fit them to music. Yet it all comes together with Spiteri at her most powerful vocally, and the rest of the band providing a strong, unyielding yet pleasant backdrop to the vocals.
The songs collectively could certainly make good background music (This was the only CD I played during my 'A' Levels in 1998 and I question I would have achieved what I did without having this on in the background) but it is much, much better when the volume is cranked up a few notches. Passion oozes from not only the ballads, but the more guitar-charged tracks 'Fade Away', 'I Want To Go To Heaven' and 'Hear Me Now'. This is a very genuine album, made with real heart and gusto, and represents Texas at the very pinnacle of its career, musically at least, if not in sales. Beautiful and stunning, a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten gem!, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
There was a time when Texas were a credible rock band producing great music before they became commercial. This album, along with their earlier album Southside, demonstrates how great they could have been, and once were. I don't think there is a bad track on this cd, and if you are into good rock music with well structured songs, then you will enjoy this one. Possibly one of the finest groups to come out of Scotland after The Waterboys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Scottish Blues, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
dangermash (Hartlip, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
I do like this early Texas stuff. Southside was class. But to me the next two albums are better - that's Mothers Heaven and Rick's Road. Both bluesy, both with catchy tunes. No hesitation in recomending these to blues fans. Texas fans that only came in at the White on Blonde stage might not get what they expected though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The time when Texas was not so well known, 26 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
It has only been the last few years that I've taken to Texas. And the only CD I have by them is their Greatest Hits. Having said that, because of their Greatest Hits album, I do want the latest album "Careful what you wish for". I decided to buy this one first because it was cheaper, plus there were rave reviews on Amazon.
In some ways, I am in two minds about this album. It certainly shows Texas as they were before they had their hit "Say what you want" and they became more commercialised. While it is a good album, without the strong pop influence, it shows why it took a back seat to other artists around at the time.
My favourite song from the album is the closing song, "Winter's End". It is just beautiful - Texas at their best.
If you have not really listened to their music before, I suggest that you start with White on Blonde or The Hush, even the Greatest Hits. But this is certainly worth spending the time to listen to also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Texas at there best, great bluesy rock, 18 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
This is Texas at there best ,great bluesy rock. This album along with Southside and Mothers Heavan,are must buys. Not shure about ther new stuff,they have lost there bluesy twang,which kills it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ricks road is well worth buying., 29 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
In my opinion this album is well worth buying. Not only does it contain three tracks that made the top forty in the early 90s,(although you'd have to be a real fan to remember them) it also has some lovely moody vocals from Sharleen Spiteri. With sharleen's distinctive voice combined with some really excellent guitar playing by both Ally McErlaine and Johnny McElhone this is the album to play when you are laid out on the settee with your favourite bottle of wine next to you - just relax and enjoy! (Especially the track 'I've been missing you' - the sexy guitar playing on this track is reminiscent of classic Eric Clapton.)
This album may not have the highly polished finish that W.O.B. and The Hush have but it contains some classic Texas and if you like the Texas sound, you won't be disappointed. I now have all 5 Texas albums and each one seems to have it's own style, so if you treat yourself to them all .... you could have an album for every mood! Go on spoil yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally outstanding work, a little patchy in some respects, 24 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This work is outstanding in it's general quality showing especially during Southside, the throaty and very deep voice of Sharleen when she was younger although towards Mothers Heaven you can see her voice and total outlook changing and refining towards what it has become. The instrumental quality begins with very rock style moving towards the blues and jazz styles that characterise the chameleonic aspects of Texas which really does make this music something for everyone, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Texas at their best, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
I've absolutely no idea why I didn't buy this album back in the day when it came out having loved their debut album "Southside". This is an absultely brilliant album with some absolutely cracking guitar based tracks. If you liked "Southside" buy this. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem, 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
I bought this CD a while back and for some reason didn't play it much; maybe it was the title, maybe the cover, or maybe just the right album at the wrong time. Who can tell?
However, during a massive clearout of old CDs I came across this and put it on. I was amazed. How did I miss this? Definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ricks road is well worth buying., 29 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Ricks Road (Audio CD)
In my opinion this album is well worth buying. Not only does it contain three tracks that made the top forty in the early 90s,(although you'd have to be a real fan to remember them) it also has some lovely moody vocals from Sharleen Spiteri. With sharleen's distinctive voice combined with some really excellent guitar playing by both Ally McErlaine and Johnny McElhone this is the album to play when you are laid out on the settee with your favourite bottle of wine next to you - just relax and enjoy! (Especially the track 'I've been missing you' - the sexy guitar playing on this track is reminiscent of classic Eric Clapton.)
This album may not have the highly polished finish that W.O.B. and The Hush have but it contains some classic Texas and if you like the Texas sound, you won't be disappointed. I now have all 5 Texas albums and each one seems to have it's own style, so if you treat yourself to them all .... you could have an album for every mood! Go on spoil yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ricks Road
Ricks Road by Texas (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews