Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 1999
Neil Finn, the craftsman behind late Split Enz and then Crowded House, brings his excellent writing talents to the world in solo form with his debut album. A wonderful and wide-ranging collection of songs and stories, from the up-beat "She Will Have Her Way" to the soulful "Try Whistling This" the lyrics call to very deep, personal depths in all of us. "Those words could have been written for me" you will think at some point - I guarantee it. If you give the CD more than one listen you will be hooked - I should know, and I remain grateful to the friend who badgered me into buying it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
refering to the previous review the guitar parts for ex crowded house song writer neil finn are actualy rather simple yet effective. One of the few artists to include thier entire family in the production of an album. neil varies his style from the traditional crowded house style acoustic number to more harder tunes such as loose tounge. I cant wait for album 2 from the better half of the Finn family
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This is such a great album. In my opinion it ranks alongside 'Together Alone' in terms of his best and one of those are albums which has everything going for it. A heartfelt delivery of thirteen great songs & not a filler track to be found. The sound is mastered superbly too. There is great separation of sound and a real treat for the ears.
This is one of those rare album which for me made an imact immediately. Some take a few listens to get into but 'Try Whistling This' is immediate.
Slightly darker than his usual stuff and similar in tone to 'Together Alone', it kicks off with two great tunes in 'Last One Standing' and 'Souvenir'. Arguably my favourite Neil Finn tune is 'Sinner'. Other faves are the slightly haunting title track and rumbling and atmospheric 'Twisty Bass' as well as the upbeat 'She Will Have Her Way'
This is mastclass of songwriting and delivery. Some seem to favour 'One Nil' among Neil's solo albums but I beg to differ. This is the real deal and sees Mr Finn really at the peak of his powers. I'd love to have seen this released on vinyl, though I must admit I can't imagine it would sound much better than it does already regardless. Five stars hardly do it justice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
I may be biased, since I have been a fan of his music for a decade now, but Neil Finn's "Try Whistling This" is one of the best late-night albums you're ever likely to buy. Punters hoping for "Weather With You" no. 2 and 3 and 4 and.. could be in for a nasty surprise, as Finn has somewhat abandoned the cheerful singalong style of Crowded House circa 1991. Instead, he has moved on and delievers a gloriously understated first solo album with a multitude of goods. Most of the songs aren't immediately catchy, but with a few listens they start to worm inside your heart and soul. "King Tide" is a stand-out with its slow insistent sexy mood and its attempt to seduce the listener. "Try Whistling This" with its painful crescedo of "if I can't be near you, I would rather be adrift in space" is scary in all its romantic, desperate spirit. "Twisty Bass" pushes the limits with its computer-inspired drum loops and impenetrable lyrics ("the horse ate my trousers"?) but remains a triumph. "Astro" has a swooning organ-solo and is another shamelessly idealistic/painful love ode. "Addicted" rounds off the album and its sigh of "feels like the train may never stop" will make you ache. Buy this album, open a bottle of red wine and enjoy long, lovely summer nights with this CD playing in the background. I couldn't ask for more.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 1999
Neil Finn's songwriting gets better and better through the years. His deep understanding of human emotion is interpreted beautifully, both lyrically and musically. Although most of the songs aren't "catchy" (i.e. commercial), the tunes are rich and lush. There is an even greater deal of Beatles influence on this CD than in previous Crowded House recordings. This is a CD that gets deeper and richer with each listen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2004
Crowded House were about rule the world. Voted the best live band ahead of U2, REM, Pearl Jam etc, a best of album that reaches number one in the UK and Australaisia; so why break up Crowded House? Well this is one of the reasons.
Neil Finn is an artist, a music artist. That term gets thrown around a lot so it's hard to forget what it actually means sometimes. Crowded House represented a relatively mainstream era in Finn's songwriting career; sure he did it with Split Enz with 'True Colours' and 'Corroboree' but he also had 'Time and Tide' and 'Conflicting Emotions' to spread his creative wings. 'Try Whistling This' is very different from most Crowded House stuff though it's clear to see where he was heading with 'Together Alone'. There's no way he could have done these songs with the band and they are of such quality that one can understand why he would call it a day in order to release them. As a whole it's a notoriously dark album, highlighted by 'King Tide', 'Twisty bass' and 'Astro' although it does have its moments of relief in the form of 'Last one Standing' and especially 'She will have her way', of which along with 'Loose tongue' gave him the chance to rock whist touring to promote it.
'Try Whistling This' is the result of years of brewed up emotion and creativity and is thick with it's own style, a creative release if you will in which Neil Finn just had to get put out without care for mass sales but for his own fulfilment and subsequently the growing of his audience's musical tastes. The term 'grower' seems created for this album; the first dozen listens may go by with only marginal interest but in it's full appreciation this breathes quality and instills in its listeners the impression of pure genious.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
This is a hugely under-rated album that I can listen to over and over again. This is a MUST for die hard Crowded House fans,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2000
As a musical artist myself, playing all covers of the wonderful Crowded House or Neil Finn as they should have been called, I could not believe the depth of feeling this amazing writer, since John Lennon, has managed to cram into one album. A definite "must buy" for any Crowded House fan. There are the old style catchy tunes plus some individual musical masterpieces. I promise it will not disappoint. Be warned fellow budding guitarists, the arrangements are very complicated, as we would expect from Mr Finn.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
I must admit it took a few listens to get into, unlike most Crowded House material, but after that I was completely hooked. Even after 3 years this album is still one of my all-time faves. There's something for everyone here, from the slow, mellow "Sinner" to the upbeat "She Will Have Her Way". And just try listening to the words of the title track without becoming emotional........
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
good condition quickly received great album the first solo neil finn album at a lovable price i'very glad for this album in my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.11

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)