Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter The Great
Rocket From The Tombs is a band not many will know. They split in 1975 without even releasing a note, but now stand revered as one of the originators of American underground/alternative rock music. What has this got to do with Pere Ubu? Simple. The two founders of Ubu, Peter Laughner and David Thomas, were previously members of Rocket From The Tombs. As that band...
Published on 24 Dec 2000

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise of genius
The promise of genius certainly shines through on these early tracks, but I was a little disappointed as this album does not quite have that hypnotic quality of, for example Dub Housing, where they create such exquisite sound sculptures on the synthesizer in a thoroughly rock idiom.
Heart Of Darkness and 30 Seconds over Tokyo reveal their garage roots, but they...
Published on 1 Mar 2002 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter The Great, 24 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
Rocket From The Tombs is a band not many will know. They split in 1975 without even releasing a note, but now stand revered as one of the originators of American underground/alternative rock music. What has this got to do with Pere Ubu? Simple. The two founders of Ubu, Peter Laughner and David Thomas, were previously members of Rocket From The Tombs. As that band imploded prematurely Ubu picked up the baton, the results of which can be heard on Terminal Tower, a compilation of early non-album Ubu material containing all four of the songs recorded while Laughner was a member. He would then leave Pere Ubu before his death in 1977 aged 25. Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo and Final Solution had originally been Rocket From The Tombs songs, where they were played as menacing revved up guitar duels, a combination of punk spirit with avant garde rock sensibilities. Pere Ubu toned down the speed and guitars with their versions, emphasising the sinister atmosphere instead with slower tempos and murkier instrumental backing. Heart Of Darkness (also a RFTT song originally) and Cloud 149 are the other two Laughner era tracks. After Laughner's departure, David Thomas became the undisputed leader of the band, which would go on to be the among the greatest of the late 1970's playing a revised but still potent blend of avant garde and pop hooks. The rest of the material on this CD reflects their stature. From the skewed pop melody of Heaven to the drone of The Book Is On The Table to the controlled rage of Humor Me, all the elements which make Pere Ubu unique are here. However, it is the earliest tracks which stand out as a testimony to the lost talent of Peter Laughner, a visionary of 1970's American rock 'n' roll. His contribution turned out to be brief, but what there is should be savoured. This CD, alongside the now hard to find anthology of his solo work and of course the posthumously released Rocket From The Tombs recordings, is testimony to this. As for Pere Ubu, get this CD along with The Modern Dance, Dub Housing and New Picnic Time and you are in possession one of the greatest opening statements any group can offer. Convinced? You should be!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good place to start for new to Ubu, 7 Feb 2004
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
As a life time Ubu fan I think this is a great starting point with some of the great early Hearthen recordings and the wonderful anthemic 30 seconds over Tokyo which will test your listening pleasure to the limit and bring you back home safe.
I remember My Dark Ages being considered one of their finest early songs and Final Solution has such a wonderful ironic lyric
" the girls won't touch me cos I've got a misdirection".They have always challenged the ear and never bored me and nearly always delighted .
So come on stick your toe into darker aural waters .I can't promise a life changing experience just a change in view that will make you the richer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and quirky, 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Leigh "Mike Leigh" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
Wonderful and quirky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still great tracks., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
Saw a reunion tour a few months ago, realised I didn't have any of their stuff, so a great way to reacquaint self with genius.
Got 2 copies, 1 for a mate who got the gig tickets.

Easy to find old material by obscure group. Safe and sound delivery. All happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection!, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. P. A. Busby (SE UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
I've had four of these songs on a 12" for over 25yrs so finding them on digital is good news. I love David Thomas' voice & the accompanying background sound effects that are Pere Ubu's trademark. These songs are singles not found on any albums, IIRC. It's great to hear Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo and Final Solution after a such a long break from vinyl.
Hardly mainstream but Thomas's dark lyrics & fabulously fractured delivery illuminates aspects of life we often prefer to not explore too deeply - Pere Ubu does it for us & very well indeed! Do look for Pere Ubu on YouTube - Thomas is not a singer who just stands up & sings - he is wonderfully animated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise of genius, 1 Mar 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terminal Tower (Audio CD)
The promise of genius certainly shines through on these early tracks, but I was a little disappointed as this album does not quite have that hypnotic quality of, for example Dub Housing, where they create such exquisite sound sculptures on the synthesizer in a thoroughly rock idiom.
Heart Of Darkness and 30 Seconds over Tokyo reveal their garage roots, but they really soar on Final Solution with its nervous buildup, beautiful melody and rousing conclusion. Of the rest, I love Heaven with its swaying reggae rhythm, droning bursts of synth and jangling guitars, and the quirky pop song Happy.
Although the roots of their later masterpieces are evident here, it's still in a raw form and based on the guitar, predating their later exploration of the synth/industrial style where they found their true voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminal Tower
Terminal Tower by Pere Ubu (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews