Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2006
I got this album because I'd heard and loved "Roller Skating Jam Named 'Saturdays'" - I wasn't dissapointed. There are so many funky, jazzy and downright catchy tracks. There's maybe one or two that's a bit dull, but that's 1 or 2 out of 20 tracks, fellas.

Zoom forward 13 or 14 years and it's still a great play. The lyrics are interesting and funny and most importantly, THEY ARE NOT MCING ABOUT MCING - I find nothing more dull than hearing someone rapping that they are they best mo-fo MC this side of Jersee or something similar.

Back to the early 90s, after wearing out my cassette of "De La Soul Is Dead", I then went out and bought "3 feet high and rising" and frankly, I was dissapointed. It's a bit warm and fluffy - not as edgy, not as boundary pushing. Shame. Then I got "Stakes Is High" [sigh] - it's NOT all about what great MCs they are, but it still feels to me like the egos have taken over control of their direction.

I'm not saying that "De La Soul Is Dead" is the only great hip hop album De La made, but it's my favourite by some way.

Oh, don't buy this if you're easily offended, it should go without saying.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2003
Finding it impossible to follow up on their instant classic "3 Feet High and Rising" and sick of the misinterpretations of their "hippie" message De La Soul released this album as a pre-emptive strike on the critics and fanbase they had aquired over the previous 18 months. "De La Soul is dead" is everything that their debut wasn't; cynical("Ring ring ring"),angry(My brother's a basehead")and full of black humour ("Mollie pulled a pistol on Santa").Everything that is, except brilliant and imaginative. One of the few concept albums in rap that bears repeated listening, even the most obnoxious sentiments on the album ("Bitties in the BK Lounge") are laced with that distinctive De La sense of humour, although at times the joke seems to have worn itself out ("Not over till the fat lady plays the demo")Bold, brash and brilliant, this is a flawed masterpiece.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
Nostalgic music journo's always cite De La Soul's massively successful debut album "3 Feet High & Rising" as a Hip Hop classic, and yet while few would argue with that sentiment, it was their sophomore LP "De La Soul Is Dead" that, in my humble opinion, was the superior release.
De La Soul obviously had a problem with their 'Daisy Age' concept that formed the backbone of their artistic direction on their first album. Maybe they were sick of the idea, maybe they were worried about getting pigeon-holed as a novelty rap act. So their 2nd album had a much different concept...kill the 'Daisy Age' off completely so they can get on with doing what they do best, make phat Hip Hop music.
Of course, reviews at the time weren't kind. With the first LP so well-received, critics and some fans alike were upset that De La had chosen such a different direction and chose to discredit this album. Bottom line is that "De La Soul Is Dead" has all the ingredients that made "3 Feet..." so compelling (the skits, the Prince Paul production, the wildly-varied subject matter etc.) but rather than get bogged down with 'hippy' stylings and day-glo 70's-esque imagery, De La evolved with the times. Perhaps they were too far ahead of their time with this one, who knows.
So much has been said about the tracks on this album...all I'll say is that rarely do you find an album as cohesive as "De La Soul Is Dead" which is devoid of filler, contains at least a half-dozen stand-out singles and some of the most original lyrics and production you'll ever hear. Buy it NOW!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
As fresh sounding as it did 18 years ago....where have the years gone?! A well constucted and intelligent album as well as being downright amusing. This album takes shots at house music, annoying fans, crack heads and MC Hammer devotees. The glorious snippets of smooth 70s sounds backed by minimal stripped back beats and innovative sampling is such a brilliant constrast to the over produced hectic sounds and shallow lyrics of todays' crop of RnB tossers masquerading as rappers.
De La Soul is Dead and proud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
At first I thought no other De La Soul album could be as good as "3 Feet High and Rising". I was wrong. This album is just as good, or maybe even better. It really groves, and it has massive tunes. "A Rollerskating Jam Named Saturdays" is sick. Loads of songs on it are great, just pick the ones you prefer, you have plenty of choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
This is a great album. The composition & production quality is much better than 3 Feet and Rising. De La Soul passed me by a bit in the early '90s so I'm kicking myself for not paying more attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
.....you won't be disappointed. A Blatant Classic....finally got round to buying it after original CD was pinched....at least the thief had good taste .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Couple of snappy tunes, especially the Saturday, Saturday song which really got us going at Glasto.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Classic. Always loved this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2001
Continuing from 3 Feet High & Rising, De La Soul have gone strength to strength, improving upon the impossible standard they set with 3 Feet High & Rising. Pease Porrige, Pass the Plugs & Ring Ring Ring (Ha Ha Hey) are the best tunes on the album. Chill with this CD whilst on a roadtrip your mates. Love it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)