Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 70s Soundtrack From A 50s Movie!!
If "Grease" was meant to be a movie based in the 50s, why are there very little traditional rock'n'roll style tracks on this album? Ah, who care ?!! This soundtrack is simply a joy to listen to. Take away the fact most of the songs are cheesey and corny, what you have is an album that makes you feel good.
Some tracks are more well-known than others, but...
Published on 8 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grease Cd
I do like grease and so does my brother and our favouite songs are greased lightin and the teen ángel
Published 1 month ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 70s Soundtrack From A 50s Movie!!, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
If "Grease" was meant to be a movie based in the 50s, why are there very little traditional rock'n'roll style tracks on this album? Ah, who care ?!! This soundtrack is simply a joy to listen to. Take away the fact most of the songs are cheesey and corny, what you have is an album that makes you feel good.
Some tracks are more well-known than others, but is there anyone living in the Western world that doesn't know the words to these songs? And even if you don't, how many of you have added your own words and ju sung along to the tracks anyway?!
The highlights? Frankie Valli's "Grease" captures the 70s 'disco' sound perfectly, so it won't come as a surprise to discover this was written by one of the Bee-Gees. "Summer Nights, "You're The One That I Want", "Greased Lightning", "Hoplessly Devoted To You" and "Sandy" are all as popular today as they were 23 years ago.
But there are a few hidden gems to be found as album fillers, most noteably the contributions from the 'real' 1960s group 'Sha-Na-Na'. Tracks including: "Born To Hand Jive", "Tears On My Pillow", "Those Magic Changes" and "Blue Moon" prove it's unfair to associate the "Grease" soundtrack CD only with John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John. Also, Stockard Channing's "There Are Worse Things I Could Do" also deserves a mention too.
Any naff songs? Yeah, but just a few. "Look At Me I'm Sandra Dee" reeks of 'naffness'(!), but on this soundtrack CD, the good outweigh the bad.
I first bought this soundtrack in the early 80s on vinyl (remember lp's?) and twice on audio cassette years later. Now I have two "Grease" CD's (inc. the 20th Anniversary Edition with CD-Rom). Now, if that isn't a recommendation you buy it, I don't know what is!
Just avoid anything associated with "Grease 2"!!!!
Jon:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Sure About The "Extras" Though, 28 Jan 2004
By 
Jon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This new “25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” (sounds pretty impressive, huh?!) arrived on the scene last Autumn with very little publicity or advertising behind it, so fans of the original soundtrack might be surprised at it’s availability. Still, for those who love the songs from “Grease”, this really is one of those “must have” CDs. Purists may not like this double CD however because all the initial songs have been digitally re-mastered to sound as if John Travolta, Olivia Newton John and the rest of the cast only recorded these tracks yesterday. But when the songs sound as good as they do on this revamped CD, what’s not to like about them? There’s nothing much anyone can add to what’s already been said about the soundtrack to Grease. It truly is a wonderful feel good album that’s stood the test of time really well - a soundtrack to be enjoyed by many generations to come. My interest in this new edition was the second disc, and for those curious at what these new versions are all about, I’ve decided to review that CD in more detail.
The added bonus of this “25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” (how cool is that title?!) is the second disc, crammed full of mixes, megamixes and rarities. We begin with the “original” 1978 instrumental version of the title track (yes, it did appear on the b-side of the 7” single as I used to own it!). Nothing special about it, mind you as it sounds just like a karaoke track. The next three tracks on disc 2 (“Summer Nights”, “Hopelessly Devoted To You” and “You’re The One That I Want”) are “genuine” karaoke tracks, however - not songs you’ll be playing time and time again though (oh, and for those who don’t know the words to these timeless classics, you’ll find the lyrics inside the CD cover). Next up, another karaoke gem - this time, the “2003” version of “Sandy”. By this time you’re left wondering why all the fuss about this bonus disc (it’s free after all) when for 25 years, fans of the movie have been singing along to these songs without the aid of “karaoke/sing-a-long” versions. Methinks someone at Polydor caught wind of the upcoming “Greasemania” TV special and decided to give the movie’s real fans an opportunity to better those pop star wannabes who slaughtered those classic songs. I mean, could you do any worse?
John Travolta’s ‘single’ version of “Grease Lightnin’” is up next. Slightly shorter than the movie/album version - with a few naughty words omitted for good measure - but you’ll be hard pushed to notice the difference, making this a near-perfect copy of the version you’re most familiar with. This is followed by two “previously unreleased” instrumentals from the movie (“Rydell Fight Song” & “Greased Up & Ready To Go”). If you’ve seen the movie more than once, these instrumentals will be instantly recognisable to you as they featured throughout various parts of the movie. Still, the words “album” and “fillers” spring to mind after you listen to them - a perfect description of this bonus CD up to this point. Then comes the awful PWL produced “Grease Megamix”. Both John & Olivia have went on record by saying they hate this Megamix and it’s not hard to see why. If I were compiling this bonus CD for Polydor, I’d have included the 1998 “Ultimix” Megamix instead - a track far superior to this effort. That said, the next track - The Grease Dream Mix (again, produced by PWL) - more than makes up for it’s abysmal predecessor. Featuring the songs “Grease”, “Sandy” and “Hopelessly Devoted To You”, I’ll never understand why this Megamix never gained chart success - especially considering it’s shambolic forerunner was one of the best selling singles of 1990.
The final two offerings were originally released in Australia to commemorate the movie’s 20th anniversary back in 1998 and only available in the UK by import. So most won’t have heard the “new” versions of “Summer Nights” and “You’re The One That I Want”. Personally speaking, I didn’t like these remixes when I first heard them back when they were originally released and I still don’t like them today. “Summer Nights” -which is accompanied by a calypso-style backing track- is the better of the two, while “You’re The One That I Want” -to be brutally honest- is terrible. It’s a “trance” style remix that just doesn’t work for me (and I have since discovered it didn’t set the Australian music scene alight when originally released over there in 1998 either). I’ve been lucky enough to have heard several other remixes from the album over the past few years which knock the spots off anything featured on this bonus disc, so I’m surprised Polydor never considered featuring those ones. Quite frankly, this bonus CD makes the “Grease 2” soundtrack album appear one of the greatest pieces of musical work ever recorded! So to rate this awesomely titled “25th Anniversary DELUXE (no less!) Edition” , I give Disc One the maximum 5 stars, with Disc Two limping home with a measly 1.5. Then again, you’re not paying anything extra for this bonus disc, and considering the whole DELUXE edition is available for only 9.99, no-one’s forcing you to play it! But I do recommend you check out the beautiful “Grease Dream Mix”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Reinvented, 26 Nov 2003
A classic album reinvented for the next generation. How many times have you caught yourself singing in the shower along to grease lightning, summernights (along with the voice change when you move from sandy to danny) and forgotten the words. Now you can do that all over again but with the added bonus on disc 2 the sing a long versions mean you dont need to forget a word again. There is also bundles of new extras ranging from instrumentals to remix. But if all these extras aren't your cup of tea then just sit back and listen to disc one and relive the memories of a golden sountrack over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
My son is totally into Grease. As a 20 year old, his musical tastes are pretty eclectic, but this satisfies him and I enjoy the nostalgia too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories memories, 12 Mar 2013
By 
John K. Pendreich (anglia ,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease (MP3 Download)
pure nostalga great to the replace the 2! LPs we had 1 for me and 1 for the wife we possessed since our teens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars updated classic, 5 Mar 2013
Good update of classic album
Well worth the money. Will get us in the mood for the drive through showing later in the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
You can't beet this is a good old favourie lets you sing and dance in the house what everthe days like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a trip back to the 50�s with this fabulous soundtrack, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
Everyone should have a copy of this CS - if you loved the film, you'll lover the soundtrack. Takes you back to the fun fifties with lots of energetic music. My absolute favourite is Born to Hand Jive which makes me want to dance wherever I am, a real fun, boppy, inspirational number. This is classic nightclub 'mad half hour' music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
Delighted with my purchase. Good value and speedy delivery. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease (Audio CD)
Amazing it done the job for us pink ladies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grease
Grease by Olivia Newton-John (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews