Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2010
This recording, made on period instruments, is sheer delight. The double CD set runs for just over two and a half hours, so is very good value at around £10. It is hard to imagine that it took Handel only a month to compose the complete set. The slower movements are elegantly played and the faster ones full of vitality. The recording quality is first-rate, so I have no hesitation in giving this CD a firm recommendation. It makes a very good companion to the Corelli Concerti Grossi.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
These stylish and vibrant performances of Handel's twelve Opus 6 Concerti Grossi directed by Christopher Hogwood are a joy from start to finish, and at a real bargain price for a double CD. Handel's Opus 6 are amongst his most inventive and attractive works, as impressive and important in a way as Bach's Brandenburg Concertos, though entirely string based. Wonderful recordings!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2002
This set of the Opus 6 Concerti Grossi is well worth the price. This was an immediate attraction to me as I am a student, but this aspect really is quite insignificant.
I was also attracted by the name of Christopher Hogwood, and although I have never encountered this ensemble before, I was much impressed. The sound is clear, without being harsh and the feeling given by the performance is one of lively enjoyment. The sound is well balanced and well controlled. This makes for real excitement as some passages carry a lot strength which the controlled bite of the orchestra emphasises beautifully.
The tempi are well chosen and though often extremely quick for the Faster movements, never inappropriately so, and the clarity of the music remains intact throughout. This is aided by excellent recording.
The music itself is most enjoyable, :I would certainly recommend it to people, no matter what there experience of music: the vitality of these performances really make listening worth while.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Brilliant Handel. A must if you like him.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This is a lovely album and I have played it over and over. If you ever get a chance to visit his house do - it makes listening to his music even better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Birthday gift for a friend, who loved it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
An exception offer and a superb recording of these serene sounds. Delivery was excellent as usual.
Fabulous value.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Poor recording despite the Decca label. I realized that Hogwood is not the best conductor, in my opinion, for Haendel and I rarely play these CDs.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£26.18
£7.68

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)