Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Concerti grossi
This recording, made on period instruments, is sheer delight. The double CD set runs for just over two and a half hours, so is very good value at around £10. It is hard to imagine that it took Handel only a month to compose the complete set. The slower movements are elegantly played and the faster ones full of vitality. The recording quality is first-rate, so I have no...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by John Crimp

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor recording
Poor recording despite the Decca label. I realized that Hogwood is not the best conductor, in my opinion, for Haendel and I rarely play these CDs.
Published 14 months ago by Luca58


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Concerti grossi, 2 Sep 2010
By 
John Crimp (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 (Audio CD)
This recording, made on period instruments, is sheer delight. The double CD set runs for just over two and a half hours, so is very good value at around £10. It is hard to imagine that it took Handel only a month to compose the complete set. The slower movements are elegantly played and the faster ones full of vitality. The recording quality is first-rate, so I have no hesitation in giving this CD a firm recommendation. It makes a very good companion to the Corelli Concerti Grossi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrant performance, 28 April 2011
By 
Yearlebird (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
These stylish and vibrant performances of Handel's twelve Opus 6 Concerti Grossi directed by Christopher Hogwood are a joy from start to finish, and at a real bargain price for a double CD. Handel's Opus 6 are amongst his most inventive and attractive works, as impressive and important in a way as Bach's Brandenburg Concertos, though entirely string based. Wonderful recordings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recordings, 23 Feb 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 (Audio CD)
This set of the Opus 6 Concerti Grossi is well worth the price. This was an immediate attraction to me as I am a student, but this aspect really is quite insignificant.
I was also attracted by the name of Christopher Hogwood, and although I have never encountered this ensemble before, I was much impressed. The sound is clear, without being harsh and the feeling given by the performance is one of lively enjoyment. The sound is well balanced and well controlled. This makes for real excitement as some passages carry a lot strength which the controlled bite of the orchestra emphasises beautifully.
The tempi are well chosen and though often extremely quick for the Faster movements, never inappropriately so, and the clarity of the music remains intact throughout. This is aided by excellent recording.
The music itself is most enjoyable, :I would certainly recommend it to people, no matter what there experience of music: the vitality of these performances really make listening worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 (Audio CD)
This is a lovely album and I have played it over and over. If you ever get a chance to visit his house do - it makes listening to his music even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serene sounds, 16 May 2010
By 
M. Lawrance (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 (Audio CD)
An exception offer and a superb recording of these serene sounds. Delivery was excellent as usual.
Fabulous value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor recording, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 (Audio CD)
Poor recording despite the Decca label. I realized that Hogwood is not the best conductor, in my opinion, for Haendel and I rarely play these CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6
Handel: Concerti Grossi, Op.6 by Georg Friederich Handel (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews