Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing...
I first listened to this disc as a fifteen year-old and music was never the same thereafter. I started hunting straight away for the original US musicians who had inspired first Mayall and then the unbelievably young Clapton. And I'm still listening to the fruits of that search. Meantime it opened me up to the expanding British Blues scene and subsequently other new...
Published on 15 Feb 2006 by nickpaulmichael

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and influential, but a flawed masterpiece
It's hard to remember just how brave Clapton was to leave the Yardbirds just when they had become successful and go on to throw in his lot with John Mayall's rag tag and bobtail touring band. However, courage paid off, and this album with Mayall proved to be the foundation of his (financially) incredibly successful career.

On this album Clapton contributes 5...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Dun Ravin'


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most talked of albums to come out of the sixties, 10 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Bluesbreakers (Audio CD)
This ablum was recommended to me for ages before I got around to buying it. It didn't disappoint! Gave it 4 stars instead of 5 due to length, I could have done with it being twice as long! A must for any Clapton-blues enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, outstanding album, 10 Aug 2009
This review is from: Bluesbreakers (Audio CD)
As far as I'm concerned, this great album is a perfect sample of great Blues/Rock music, especially due to the presence of such a outstanding guitarist like Eric Clapton in his very beginning of his bright career!! Highly recommended for blues/rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Breakers, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. R. D. Jones "Brechin Ray" (Manchester U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
This is probably the definitive Blues album of its time. With Mayall and Clapton you have the foremost British blues guitarists of their generation. There are a lot of complexities in Blues music but this album throws a new light on some old standards, as well as managing to be fun to listen, or relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seminal and timeless! a must for all guitar lovers, 26 Dec 2008
By 
Colin "(52)" (UK and Azerbaijan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. Clapton's playing from one so young (he was 21) and Mayall's singing and keyboards, and arrangements, are just spine-chilling. Best moments for me - Clapton's solo on "Have You heard" and the whole band/arrangement/composition "Double Crossing Time". Oh, and by the way, you get to hear Clapton's first lead vocal on record - "Ramblin on my Mind". Great band, great performances and SO well recorded - hats off to Mike Vernion and decca!
I first heard it in 1972 on a dansette "gramophone" and it an album I keep coming back to again and again. A "must have" album for any lover or student of electric guitar and blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is good is you have both the mono and stereo mixes ..., 17 July 2014
By 
Mr. Richard Heath (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
This is a real classic. What is good is you have both the mono and stereo mixes on the one disc. Have'nt really played this much since I had my deck set up, which I don't at the moment. Sounds very good for it's age as well. If you like Eric you have to have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitar, Poor Singing!, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
I expect that anyone who's even viewing this product is well aware of what this is, and is probably looking to replace their original vinyl that's been stuck up in the loft since they were forced to put it in storage when the kids came along in the 70's?!

However, for those few that dont fit into that category, this is Clappers' first real outting as a guitar god and it serves up a great dose of Les-Paul-Through-Marshall-Amp blues. Many would argue that this is Clapton is at his finest, and he never bettered the playing on here.

John Mayall's singing however, is pretty poor (only thing keeping it from a 5)! But who cares, its not really about JM is it?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
Happy memories.......university life in the 60'S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars replacing a lost record., 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
Used to own this album 46 years ago. All your loving still makes me tingle ah the beautiful Pat Green (we used to listen to this track over and over in her mums front room)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The moment that the lights went on, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Greysuit (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
As with the excellent review by nickpaulmichael - this was the album that 'turned me on' to alternatives to The Shadows / Searchers / Beatles etc.

I borrowed it from a school friend when I was 14 ( although it belonged to his older brother ) and I had to buy my own (Mono) copy 4 weeks later when his big brother knocked on the door asking for his album back.

What can I say - in its day it was miles ahead of anything else at the time and it brought the blues to 'the masses' - or at least those that were prepared to listen.

As for John Mayall himself - at the time - he was instrumental in bringing SO MANY musicians into the spotlight. Look at the line up of Fleetwood Mac, Mcguiness Flint and even (via Mick Taylor) The Rolling Stones. They're all here (with the exception of Peter Green and Mick Taylor) on this album - and as for Steppin Out - what a track.

If you want to explore John Mayall's music - this is a first class starting point.
If you are familiar with John Mayall's music and you don't have this in your collection - buy it - but more importantly listen to it and enjoy it.

As someone else said - this is almost the introduction to what we now acknowledge as 'Rock' music. An absolute essential for any collection - and if you've read this review - then you're obviously interested. Don't think about it - add it to you basket and never look back.

☺ ♫ ☺ ♫ ☺
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You God, 12 April 2009
By 
Alan Kinch "Acka" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Breakers (Audio CD)
My review title says it all from a musical stance.
My supplier was very good. That's just one extra o.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Breakers
Blues Breakers by John Mayall (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews