Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued pioneers of crossover dance music.
Far too often have Utah Saints been written off for 'cheesy dance tunes with sampled bits', but as their undervalued debut album proved with tracks like 'I Want You' and 'Trance Atlantic Glide' the duo had more to offer than the detractors would suggest. Their fusion of dance, industrial, rock and trance set the blueprint for many of the bands at the turn of the...
Published on 6 Feb 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chart-friendly rave for a whole album?
Utah Saints' first album is a bit of a mixed bag. There are highs (What Can You Do For Me, I Want You, States Of Mind) lows (Believe In Me) and some in-betweens (Soulution, Too Much To Swallow). While the in-betweens outnumber the highs, the whole album outshines the lows. If you can overlook the fact that the drum patterns start to sound a little repetitive by the...
Published 22 months ago by arialblue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued pioneers of crossover dance music., 6 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
Far too often have Utah Saints been written off for 'cheesy dance tunes with sampled bits', but as their undervalued debut album proved with tracks like 'I Want You' and 'Trance Atlantic Glide' the duo had more to offer than the detractors would suggest. Their fusion of dance, industrial, rock and trance set the blueprint for many of the bands at the turn of the millennium, and listening to this album makes you realise how far ahead they really were. It's not a perfect release, with one or two tracks pandering to the market of the time, when you could tell that given a free run the results would have been slightly more focussed Despite the odd blip, this is a near faultless release, and stands up as well today as it did when released. It seems that Radio 1 et al have decided that a few top ten fits a few years back is enough. Despite heavy rotation of Christine Aguilera's new single (not due for release for a couple of weeks at the time of writing), they haven't started playing the Saints' latest masterpiece, 'Love Song', which is out now. It's only a couple of quid. Go and buy it NOW!
Maff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fan-dabby-dosy!!!, 30 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
These guys kick ass. really.
True, the picture on the inlay shows a couple of 1991 California throwbacks or something, but when they sound this good you shouldn't care.
Their use of samples is out of this world. Personally I couldn't dance to the likes of Kate Bush and Annie Lennox, but with 'What can you do for me?' (especially the melodic mix) I can.
Their tunes blend some fine piano, strings (and even Motorhead)to pull off some brilliant eclectic dance and some great rock/dance cross-overs (the Prodigy were still in their Happy Hardcore phase)
It works all the better now people are looking to earlier dance.
The beauty of it is the sound on a lot of it is still comparable, if not better than the sound of house now.
They set the tone over a decade ago for others to follow, and they still can't keep up.
Put this on at your house party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chart-friendly rave for a whole album?, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
Utah Saints' first album is a bit of a mixed bag. There are highs (What Can You Do For Me, I Want You, States Of Mind) lows (Believe In Me) and some in-betweens (Soulution, Too Much To Swallow). While the in-betweens outnumber the highs, the whole album outshines the lows. If you can overlook the fact that the drum patterns start to sound a little repetitive by the finish, and skip over Believe In Me (which isn't so much bad, as just a little dull), then this is a pretty good album. Opener New Gold Dream, sets the tone somewhat, with its ravey rhythms, chugging synth bass, and half spoken vocals. This is what you get for the next hour or so. That said, there are some real catchy hooks amongst all this. What Can You Do For Me, with its Annie Lennox-sampled warbling is one, as is the Cloudbusting sampling Something Good, and the high octane third single I Want You. The strongest non-single track on the album is States Of Mind, where the Saints inject some further texture into things with worldy sounding flutes and swirling wind effects. It's not all high tempo, either. Soulution and Too Much To Swallow turn down the BPM and provide a nice contrast to the dance oriented rest of the album. There's even a decent remix, giving What Can You Do For Me a bass and piano heavy workout. Altogether, a slightly more than 3 star album. If you like your rave chart-friendly, call it 3 and a half and you'll be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As playable today as the day it was released, 5 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utah Saints (MP3 Download)
This came out when I was at Uni in Brighton (the Uni, not the then Poly), having just turned 20

About to hit 41 next week (!) I loved every song then, and I love every song today just as much, and not just because it 'sends me back to that happy time' - these tracks are intelligent, hypnotic and great loud loud loud!

My seven year-old daughter has this album on her MP3 player; either she's got taste, the tracks are timeless... or both!

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a listen you may be suprised, 14 Mar 2008
By 
khisanth "khisanth75" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
This is a pretty good and underrated album. If you dont like dancey/house music then stay well clear.

One or two songs are not that great, but the majority of the tracks are superb to listen to blasting out loud in your car.

at high speed ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy happy happy, 18 Dec 2009
By 
Kj Melhuish "old bird" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
I was happy with this because I had it on cassette when I was a few years younger, this sound has not dated and its very upbeat, very good for in the car on a long tedious journey, very uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, you'll love it., 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
Owned this on cassette so when i so it advertised on cd i had to have it. Excellent album, the best they ever did to my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov 2014
By 
M. Briston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
Received in condition stated with thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHEMICAL BROTHERS FAR FROM IT!!!, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
On this album are some classics from back in the day but I was a little disappointed with it overall. I think these still have a long way to go to even come close to the likes of the Chemical Brothers and Chicane etc but still worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god...., 16 Dec 2000
This review is from: Utah Saints (Audio CD)
After downloading Power to the Beats from Napster I thought I couldn't go wrong buying this CD, especially with the above review sounding so positive. How I was wrong. This is possibly one of the worst albums I've ever heard. I've forced myself to listen to it a few times, incase I was missing something, but no. Mostly it sounds like computer game music. The best track, which is by no means special, has a rubbish remix stuck on at the end, personifying the lack of decent material here. Its not so much cheesey and bad as just plain badness - it sounds like someone created it from a school keyboard or something. The samples used sound crap, and the tunes are totally uninspiring. If you like anything from The Chemical Brothers to Kruder & Dorfmeister, and you consider yourself to have taste, I advise you to stay well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Utah Saints
Utah Saints by Utah Saints (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews