Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My very first taste of Dead Can Dance's music, 15 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
This album was my first taste of Dead can dance's music: as a result this review is really aimed at those people who, like me, are new to the band and perhaps considering buying some music.

I decided to try some of their music because of the number of artists who refer to Dead can Dance's albums as amongst their favourites, and also because I had really enjoyed Lisa Gerrard's vocalisations on an album of Klaus Schulze's electronic music ("Farscape").

I've enjoyed the album and will probably buy some more from the band, but did find it slightly more "eclectic" than I'd expected. Aspects that I wasn't expecting were that Brenden Perry does quite a fair bit of singing, probably more than the other half of the duo, Lisa Gerrard, and another is that Lisa actually does some proper singing, whereas I was expecting mainly vocalisations. Having said that, neither of the aforementioned unexpected aspects were unpleasant, in fact quite the oppositte. Two of my favourite tracks off the album are "The Carnival is Over" and "How Fortunate the Man With None", both of which are Brenden's vocal: the added beauty of these tracks is the near-symphonic nature of the subtle keyboard playing - gorgeous! "The Wind That Shakes the Barley" completes my trio of favourite tracks; this is a splendid, folky song with Lisa singing unaccompanied.

Elsewhere, there is a lot of eastern influences in the rhythmic and melodic writing: overall the album comes across as some kind of world-folk ambient music - always enjoyable but not quite up to the pleasure I took from the three simpler tracks mentioned above.

It's been an enjoyable experience and, like I have said, one I will probably repeat. To any other newcomers I would say that it's definitely worth a try, in particular of you enjoy dreamy, predominantly eastern soundscapes.

Incidentally, I bought the download version and the sound quality was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Need this Album, 23 Sept. 2000
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
A fantastic soundscape of mood, emotion and melancholy mixing medieval influences and sometimes brooding, sometimes uplifting vocals, Into the Labrynth is a masterpiece of production- strings, keyboards, percussion- absolutely gorgeous. This is classy and you'd be doing yourself a favour if you bought it (and an even bigger one of you then go out and buy all of their other albums). A joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Hookahd, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
Sit back on those cushions and travel with them to the hidden harems and pungent spice trails littered with opiated delight. Silk trains scattered across Central Asia as they create the musical caravelles. A brimming pot pourri evoking middle eastern and North African flavours. Laden and ripened with exotic spice wafting along the airstreams as the pungent smell of perfumed incense rises to fill the void. This is the Islam of the dream worlds, rather than the newer certainties of late modernity.

Then the female voice shifts from the far reaches of the Celtic world to traverse the walls of Byzantium, onwards to Samarakand in a swift magic carpet ride of a musical journey.

Never, has the bongo, apart from being played with T Rex, sounded such an essential instrument to creating a musical pageantry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Labyrinth, 24 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
A cool crystal shot of something unique and intelligent. Amazing depth and delivery form start to finish without a glitch in place to stop the mindset, flow and beauty this album offers. Another highly recommended set of music for the senses to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information on the SACD release, 21 May 2008
By 
S. J. Webbon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
As it replicates the original vinyl, double album, there are two additional tracks, 'Bird' and 'Spirit' that do not appear on the regular CD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mobile Fidelity Vinyl 2011 version, 9 Feb. 2011
Firstly, this is an exceptionally beautiful recorded album, whether on CD, SACD or vinyl version. However, it's also quite expensive for this special Silver Line (budget!) Mobile Fidelity master on vinyl. The reason to buy this would be? Is it better than the excellent SACD version?

Firstly the Mobile Fidelity SACD version is a giant leap forward compared to the standard CD version. There is far more detail in the music and the voices have a real natural sound to their timbres. Bass is very full and firm and the treble sparkling.I've always considered these SACD's as premium quality products and a giant leap forwards from their CD counterparts. Can the vinyl really be any better? Well, I compared the two on good quality equipment and the results were pretty amazing. The vinyl was even more spacious, the bass deeper and lower and the treble sweet and more detailed. Voices were the biggest gain being far more natural and "in your living room live". Comparing back to the SACD, it just sounded harsh and digital, something I wouldn't have believed before. The quality of the packaging is also of high quality, but so are the SACD's.

To summarise, an excellent product, probably the best rendition of a format for home listening, but why 4 stars? Simply, the cost. The vinyl costs 4 times what the SACD cost and is it 4 times better? Well no, and yes? Your decision and good luck with it!

Go on, I would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky vibe, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
This was a 'stab in the dark' purchase. Not sure what it would be like but it really is the most amazing music and can lighten the spirit so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Labarynth Cd, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous album, probably the best from dead Can Dance. If you have a high quality audio system, you will really appreciate how well recorded the album is. I would give this CD 6 stars rather than the maximum 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Labyrinth (Audio CD)
Bought this aware for my wife a big Dead Can Dance fan. She is very happy with the CD and has listened to I regularly since I gave it to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting, 4 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Into the Labyrinth [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album was my introduction to Dead Can Dance and has turned me into a great fan. Being a live album it reveals the spontaneous nature of the music Dead Can Dance create. Tracks on the album that last for little more than a minute are often the most awe inspiring.
This album strikes an interesting balance between this spontaneous element, and the steady pace which is kept throughout, making it easy to listen to and even easier to praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Labyrinth
Into The Labyrinth by Dead Can Dance (Audio CD - 1993)
Click for more info
In stock on June 8, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews