Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2002
Being an avid fan of the toxic twins (& the rest of the band obviously), I loved this. My favourite track is by far "Flesh", its gritty, sexy and makes you want to writhe!! "Walk on Down" - Joe Perry's not just a pretty face, this is cracking track, a good one to jump around to. "Livin' on the edge" reminds me of when we seen Aerosmith headline at Donnington (1994 or 1996 can't remember), when Tyler sang this in the break before the bang, bang, bang ... re-enter "Livin..." a plane flew over just at that precise moment. Total silence, the break lasted for ages. Fantastic, this is a must for real Aerosmith fans, however I have to admit my favourite title is still "Pump".
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2004
OK, I'm a bit biased as this was the record that made me fall in love with Aerosmith in the first place, but Get A Grip ROCKS! The album marked the end of the band's Geffen years, and what a high-note to bow out on...
Unashamed MTV-friendly rock pervades the CD, but it is delivered with such panache as to be more than forgivable. Some fans hated the fact Aerosmith were seemingly in ballad mode as 'Cryin', 'Crazy', and 'Amazing' dominated the air waves for what seemed like an eternity (but hey, it afforded us the opportunity to see Alicia Silverstone on three separate occasions...never a bad thing). To be fair the three tunes are essentially the same, and it was a bit self-indulgent of the record company to release them all as singles after the initial success of 'Cryin'.
But Get A Grip has a lot more to offer in the form of tunes like 'Eat The Rich', 'Shut Up And Dance', and crowning glory 'Livin' On The Edge'. A definite party album in terms of its sheer energy and up-beatness.
If you consider yourself a fan of rock music, you cannot be without this album!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2001
Ok fair enough, its not the best Aerosmith cd ever but its better than the stuff from other bands, its still a cd you can listen to at anytime and know this is great Rock, Tyler shows he is a vocal superstar no matter what age, "Eat the Rich, "Shut up and Dance", great songs youll listen to again and again
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 1999
A great album, but it doesn't life up to PUMP, but then what could. It's a greta rock album with tracks you can dance to, mostly Shut Up & Dance.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
After 'Pump', keeping our coffee sweet was all too much for the Smithmeisters, soon they were being lapped by politically correct teen angst bands with far too many distortion pedals and far too little in the way of actual talent. Sure their live shows grew in strength, back at the reality ranch, muck like 'Cryin'' reminded us all why we loved 'Rocks' so much, on fillers like 'Line Up' and 'Gotta Love It', Hamilton, Kramer, and Whitford can be heard yawning ala John Bonham's squeaking bass drum pedal circa 1970 while Joe and Steven show some 19 year old MTV powder-nose around their wardrobe cum harem. Of the saving graces, 'Amazing' does lean towards over-wrought, over-produced, though it also has a conscience and some sharp hooks thank God, 'Boogie Man' an obvious begging letter to do an Unplugged session for their new pay-masters, but again, it possesses dignity too, little of which appears elsewhere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
back itn the early 90's real bands still ruled the charts, no fake techno machine music was in charge! Aerosmith put this out and it had no less than four hit singles. "amazing', 'living on the edge', 'cryin' are the three biggest. But there's alot of other fun songs here like 'line up' which was used in the ace ventura 2 movie and others. This was a band still at the top and doing it right. They had the chops and good playing skills to keep this up but this line up wouldn't return for 6 years! A terrible mistake. But in 1991 they were one of the biggest bands in the world.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
I always enjoyed the earlier aerosmith the best and still do but this one is a fine effort. I can say that it's a great cd of rock n roll and one of the better rock cd's out that year imo. It was a long wait between the classic 'pump' and this one. THis may not be a classic but it's got solid hooks and cool songs. It's got great ballads and driving rockers too. The boys wouldn't put out another studio release until 'nine lives' which is a good one but not as solid as this one imo. They are finally putting out a new one in 2012 and that's something to look forward too inspite of 19 years between this strong release and it. I can say that as a aerosmith fan that this one was more enjoyable to me than 'done with mirrors' , and 'rock in a hard place' and those came before this one. So it was a high point for them. This was a band still at their peak in many ways , and it was the third really strong release in a row. 'permanant vacation' and 'pump' being the other two peaks at that point. Like I said I love the earlier stuff better but this was still a fine point in the bands history. Songs like the hit 'amazing' and cool ones like 'line up' just lay down some good rockin grooves here. THis one had at least 3 hit singles accross the world on it at least in countries where stupid music like techno wasn't being promoted more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
If you are strictly Aerosmith fan,you should have this album...I highly recommend to all Aerosmith lovers...There are many hit songs such as "Amazing","Crazy","Crying" in this album...Also there is a successful song called "Line Up" which has been composed by Aerosmith staff members and Lenny Kravitz collaboration , that this is one of the album's nice surprises...At the same time, "Line up" is one of my favourites...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of Aerosmith's best records and probably (Imo) second to Nine Lives.
Great guitar solos, great drumming and really strong, interesting songs.

This is Aerosmith before they started going soft or started releasing greatest hits albums every year instead of quality material.
If they could get back to this style, and ditch the soppy love stuff, Id get back into them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Another great album from the boys from Boston.
Crying,Crazy and Amazing..3 classic rock songs with the 3 great videos made this one of Aerosmith's best selling albums with 20 million plus albums sold.
The rest of the album is just as good...a great album all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)