Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1997's deluxe reissue/remodel
As with the other three official Velvet Underground albums (The Velvet Underground&Nico, White Light/White Heat and The Velvet Underground)this is an obligatory purchase. The original ten-track album from 1970 is included, in both original form and demo/alternate versions. Sweet Jane, Rock & Roll and New Age are restored to their full-length versions.
Vocals are...
Published on 12 Oct 2002 by Jason Parkes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Mo Tucker, no Velvets sound
I love the Velvet Underground, they will always be my favourite group. That said, this album could've been so much better had Mo Tucker drummed on it. At the time Tucker was pregnant, and, supposedly couldn't even reach the drums let alone play them. So, Billy Yule his brother Doug, and others took turns to fill the drum stool Sadly their drumming, while probably more...
Published 22 months ago by Klausk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loaded (Audio CD)
I love this CD, in my opinion one of the Velvet Underground's best. They are such a good band, one I hope the younger generation would listen to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fully loaded, 15 Mar 2013
Why such poor reviews? OK, it's not the best VU album, in fact it's my least favourite of their four released during (or just after, in this case) their lifetime, but it's still a classic, with such songs as Sweet Jane, New Age and Rock and Roll how can it not have 5 stars? Not all the songs are classics, but they're all good to listen to. The Fully Loaded edition has alternative versions of all the songs on the album (interesting, but not all of them good) plus demos of such songs as Ocean, Ride into the Sun, I Love You, Sad Song and Satellite of Love, never released at the time but later appearing on Lou Reed solo albums. It's great to hear the VU demos of these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Loaded by Velvet Underground, 17 Nov 2009
By 
J. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loaded (Audio CD)
My son gave me a cassette of Loaded several years ago and I loved it. Over the years the cassette got lost and then, of course, we had no means of playing cassettes. Then I was watching TV and a trailer for Never Mind the Buzzcocks came on with a backing of Velvet Underground. I remembered then how I used to love the tape I had and immediately went to Amazon, found the CD and bought it. I can honestly say I love every single track - not a feeling I have about most CDs. I don't like Velvet Underground and their dark stuff, maybe because I am over 60. I can therefore thoroughly recommend anyone to listen to the sample tracks, which is an option for this CD. I don't have any other Velvet Underground CDs - I just like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most 'listenable' of the velvets releases, smooth & neat, 25 Mar 2000
I have listened to the velvets for years and keep coming back to this album mainly because it is their most smoothly produced and 'listenable' offering. If you find the harsh, metallic sound of their early releases to uncomfortable or the self indulgance of 'Sister Ray' just too much this may be the album for you, though Lou and J. Cale may not agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent final album, but far from essential, 11 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Loaded (Audio CD)
After unleashing two brutal and innovative avant-rock albums (Velvet Underground & Nico, White Light/White Heat) followed by a stunning, hushed and contemplative eponymous release, the standards the Velvet Underground had set themselves for this there fourth and final release were almost unbearably high. An endeavour not helped by the departure of bassist and creative mainstay John Cale from the band.
The absence of Cale may go some way to explaining why 'Loaded' emerged as easily the most commercial of the four VU releases and in many ways their most disappointing. Loaded bears a closer relation to Lou Reed's solo work than to it's predecessors, lacking both the restrained majesty of the 'Velvet Underground' or the sonic assault of the 1st two albums.
Loaded is quite simply a mainstream, uncomplicated rock and roll record: albeit a pretty good one. Whilst it is difficult to escape the feeling that the Velvets were capable of rather more than this, 'Loaded' has it's moments notably the languid 'New Age' and the awesome 'Rock and the Roll' yet in the final analysis these gems are sullied by an excess of filler.

Not recommended for the uninitiated, try '...and Nico' for starters, yet for the converted 'Loaded' is a worthwhile addition...just don't expect it to change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of one era, beginning of another., 30 Sep 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
wantng to move to the next Velvets stage of sombre love songs? This is where they ditched the raucous rock and roll, then they found belief in the future, rather than set their course for the Factory self destruction? This is the album that is a mixture between cynicism and expansion. After exploring the dark recesses of the mind, traversing the nooks and crannies of the emotional psyche, they finally emerged from the dark lagoon with this brighter album. The entry album to the Velvet world for the gentle initiates is this one. For those used to experimentation then the others offer another vision.

On the surface it appears a sickly piece of candy, highly polished, gleaming, stripped of any rough pieces that might cause a hiccup, the abrasions long shorn and smoothed with plenty of filler. Band members jettisoned and only a rump remaining gently plucked at the strings.

This is still the Velvet Underground, and whilst "Who loves the Sun" comes over gooey Beatles, this underscored with more malevolence. This song is an affirmation of living, a reaction to the numerous early deaths of the mid 60's. Andy's middle and upper middle class bright young things, burst into various flames or succumbed to morphia bliss, as they self medicated to early graves.

This then launches into "Sweet Jane", which contains vital snippets of caustic life. "Rock and roll is rememberance for times past, the yesteryears that corporate hippy life had smothered in its bed, and then hidden the corpse of Elvis. The liberation of the early pioneers is unleashed before it all grew a beard and became boring.

"New Age" is a bitter love song, aimed to wound, one for the break up and the eventual break down. This launches into raucous rock and roll, an "I will surive" for an addled generation, whilst "Lonesome Cowboy Bill," sounds as if Paul McCartney could have written it during his White Album period, not as pasteurised smooth as the Beatles opus, but a blended version of surrealism, still slightly cloying.

"Train round the bend," returns back to an earlier spiky velvets and brings the signs of hope around the corner. "Oh Sweet nothin," a soft tender love song that could have appeared on the first, sung within the cadences within a German iciness but here is warmer.

The outtakes and demos reflect the same passions as Gainsbourg, the surrealism of the senses. "I'm sticking with you" the sound of alcohol and other forms of inebriation, creating a little belief amongst the darkness. These are well worth the extra effort, not just add ons for extending the wallet.

It is primarily Lou, Doug and Moe left in the lifeboat, strumming out the end of an era, whilst the sketches were the template for the launch of Lou's later solo career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glorious oddment!, 24 Jun 2012
By 
A. J. Cox "Andrew Cox" (London, N22) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Velvet Underground's "Loaded" album is something of an oddment compared to their earlier catalogue, particularly as there is only one Lou Reed song (and he only played guitar on "Oh, Sweet Nuthin'"), no Cale and no Maureen Tucker on drums (she was pregnant at the time). This a great 'country' rock album in the style of the Grateful Dead and so different to the raucousness of the Velvet's first two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat, not just for Velvet fans, 24 Mar 2009
The original 'Loaded' album was superb, but even if you have a copy it's worth buying this version too for the additional outtakes and acoustic tracks. The pared down version of 'Ocean' is particularly haunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov 2014
This review is from: Loaded (Audio CD)
a great price and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who loves the sun?, 22 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loaded (Audio CD)
There's no point at all in introducing the Velvet Underground -- really, the first edgy alt-rock band in the world doesn't need it. And "Loaded," while not the best album of their career, is a solid (if slightly passionless) example of Lou Reed and the Velvets rockin' out.
The sound is bright and chirrupy, despite the downbeat tone of the songwriting ("You're over the hill right now, and you're looking for love"), opening with an oxymoron -- bright music, and songwriting like "Who loves the sun/Who cares that it makes plants grow/Who cares what it does/Since you broke my heart."
With that strong track as a springboard, Reed and Co. launch into dreamy pop, country-rock and strong rock'n'roll (also the name of one song). Most of them are amazing, from the eerie reverb to the shattering riffs. However, "Loaded" suffers from a few too many country-ish rockers, including "Lonesome Cowboy Bill" which is the most annoying song that the Velvets ever produced.
The fact that "Loaded" has good songs at all is especially amazing when you consider that the band was cracking all around. Many major members -- John Cale, for one -- were gone, and the inspiration was waning. But they managed to compile a solid swan song, before fading off into rock legend land.
It's a solid effort. With the departure of Cale, Lou Reed was the main songwriter, and his talents are evident in most songs here, but he seems to have lost a certain tightness in his work -- some of the songs ramble a little. He doesn't push any boundaries or write anything terribly wrenching, but the songs are well-written.
Musically, Reed could not be faulted; he does some truly brilliant work near the beginning. Unfortunately Billy Yule, the brother of bassist Doug Yule, does only passable drumming. He's not bad, but he makes these songs sound rather generic. That only adds to the rather passionless, if pleasant, tone of the music.
"Loaded" would have been considered a very good album if it had not come after the genius of the Velvet Underground's past work. As it is, it is a weaker effort, but still worth hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loaded
Loaded by Velvet Underground (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews