Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the 80's
Excellent - what a way to remember the decade and one of its strangest yet strangely influential artists.
HJ made Synth-type music slower...and it worked. Whats more, some of his lyrics (that I didn't pay much attention to originally) are actually very good.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. It's an occasional long drive play more than anything else, but its worth the...
Published on 6 Nov 2003

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit And Miss.
This is an artist, (one of many) who I've seen in concert. He was amazing and so it gives me great pleasure to review his greatest hits album.

1. "Like To Get To Know You Well" : "Like to get to know you well, like to get to know you well.." will be ringing in your ears for long after listening to this tune. A strong opening track and very enjoyable. I really...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Richie77777


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the 80's, 6 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
Excellent - what a way to remember the decade and one of its strangest yet strangely influential artists.
HJ made Synth-type music slower...and it worked. Whats more, some of his lyrics (that I didn't pay much attention to originally) are actually very good.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. It's an occasional long drive play more than anything else, but its worth the blast from the past alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Throw off your mental chains' - and buy this!, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
I recently went to see HJ play a live set and he was outstanding. I loved his stuff in his mid-80s heyday but I was too broke back then to pay to see him perform. I was inspired after the gig to purchase this collection, and despite a few forgettable fillers towards the end of the album this is a superb collection. From his breakout 1983 hit the buoyant and irrepressible 'New Song', to the effervescent and mature 'Everlasting Love' which was his last noticeable singles hit in 1989, this CD has every song any HJ fan will ever need. Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just pure brilliance!, 2 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
This album had my memories of the 80's flooding back. Howard Jones is *the* master on the keyboard, playing some of the catchious melodies known to man. How can anyone forget classics such as 'New Song', 'What Is Love?', 'Like To Get Know You Well' and 'Look Mama'! This album is worth every penny, go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erase & Rewind, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
Forget S.Cowell and all the other music killers, switch off X-Factor , switch off The Voice and listen to a real voice.
I put the cd on and almost everyone in the room knew every word to the tracks , no one says they didnt like it.
The room lit up with smiles , how often does that happen ?

This is a great collection of H.J.'s greatest hits with all the classics included.

I wonder what Jez is upto now he's no longer in chains
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album from a talented singer and performer, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
This album will bring all those memories of the 80s flooding back to you in one easy swoop. A genius on the keyboard, Howard Jones' hits on this album just keep coming one after another. Favourite of the album is Like To Get To Know You Well as it gives a feeling of togetherness and tenderness. These songs tend to uplift you and will bring you out from a bad mood especially tracks such as Life In One Day and New Song. All Howard Jones fans should have this in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howard Jones Best Of?, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
I was pleased with this Cd it replaces some lost tracks. The Cd was very good condition for a "used copy". As a collection I am pleased with this but It has firmed my resolve to replace my original vinyl albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit weak and Autorip incorrect, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
Did not know a lot of the songs but as it was cheap I thought it was worth it rather than paying for each mp3 I liked. Other tracks were instantly forgettable for me. The Autorip version is annoying as I am not a massive fan and it is the live version of the album. Hopefully Amazon will sort that out one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down memory lane!, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
As a present for my husband this was just right. He's played it several times already and is enjoying the memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 80' Synth pop., 13 April 2012
By 
P. M. Dome "Moogsterman" (sheffield uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
I saw Howard live in concert, in Sheffield last night, he was brilliant. 2hrs on stage. I forgot how many great hits he had. Howard was one pop star, who defined 80's music,and made it great, with his catchy synth based pop. Memories flooded back, with each song, to a time when music was music, my ex girlfriends, the pubs and clubs of Sheffield, long gone, but always in my heart, The 80's.

This album compilation is excellent, and includes all the classic hits. If your into Synthesizers as I am, and love electronic pop music. Look no further. A must album for 80's music fans. Seeing him in concert, and so close to the stage, you got the feeling that if you had a chance to talk to him you would get on. He was a gentleman, who appreciates his fans very much, and loves to interact with the audience. So, buy the album, chill out and give your ears and soul a treat. You'll soon be dancing around the room, if you still can, Be careful we're getting on a bit, and relive all those, wonderful memories of a magical time, when things were really cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia trip!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Howard Jones (Audio CD)
I bought this to make up an order to get free delivery. He lived in the town I was born High Wycombe and was popular when I was a teenager. This has all his hits and few other tracks. This is a fun listen and nostalgia trip but not musical genius. It will sit in my rack and occasionally be played at bbqs etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Howard Jones
Best Of Howard Jones by Howard Jones (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews