Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathedral's finest album
Personally, I think that 1993 was a great year for the metal world. Many great albums were released in this year. We had Sepultura's Chaos AD, Death's Individual Thought Patterns, Paradise Lost's Icon, Carcass' Heartwork, Cynic's Focus and Tool's debut among others. We also got this awesome record, which is one of my favourites from the 90's. Ex Napalm Death growler Lee...
Published on 13 Aug 2007 by The Conman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, but cover is broken...
its ok , but cover is broken...it happens often
Published 15 days ago by Artur


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathedral's finest album, 13 Aug 2007
By 
The Conman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
Personally, I think that 1993 was a great year for the metal world. Many great albums were released in this year. We had Sepultura's Chaos AD, Death's Individual Thought Patterns, Paradise Lost's Icon, Carcass' Heartwork, Cynic's Focus and Tool's debut among others. We also got this awesome record, which is one of my favourites from the 90's. Ex Napalm Death growler Lee Dorrian formed Cathedral and in '91 their debut album Forest of Equilibrium was released. This album was all plodding snail paced riffs and was completely doom metal.
The Ethereal mirror marked a big change in Cathedral's style of music. The band wisely decided to increase the tempos a bit and added a huge amount of groove to the songs. Instead of the ultra-slow gloominess of their almost unlistenable debut, most of these songs feel very lively vibrant but still crushingly heavy. Lee Dorrian's vocals add a bizzarre but enjoyable feel to the album. His stlye of singing is very unique and his weird vocalsisms are used to express the fantasy lyrics. As a result, the singing style fits the lyrics quite well, although it will probably be an aquired taste to new listeners.
The songs on here are all nicely varied. There is the heavy, up-beat stoner anthem Ride, the disco metal of the brilliant Midnight Mountain, the groove-heavy but surprisingly melodic Ashes You Leave, the acoustic Imprisoned in Flesh and the doomier epics Jaded Entity and Phantasmagoria (this song is extremely heavy!).Even these doomier songs are still different from the band's debut album. The songs are all made very interesting and enjoyable due to many different riffs and tempo changes in the songs. Guitarists Gary Jennings and Adam Lehan add a lot of colour to the songs with their ultra-heavy sabbath-influenced riffs, melodic guitar harmonies and brilliant solos (listen to the superb leads in Enter the Worms and Grim Luxuria). The guitar landscapes add greatly to each song as well as giving an ideal setting for Lee's lyrics.
This all adds up to make The Ethereal Mirror a brilliant and also very unique album that has cathedral's now trademark sound written through it like a stick of rock. If, like me, you love a variety of massive riffs, this could be for you. Also check out The Carnival Bizzarre, Cathedral's 1995 release which is virtually on par with this album. My faves are Ride, Enter the Worms, Midnight Mountain and Phantasmagoria and my very favourite is Fountain of Innocence. However, every song is great and this is an incredible album and if you don't like the vocals at all, you may still find the music enthralling. The cover art is sick too.
Bye bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow Genius, 30 Sep 2008
By 
theone&only (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
I am not a fan of 'doom' metal. Or 'death' metal or any of those other silly tags that supposed 'open-minded' people use to describe music to other people. Personally I just like good music and that's what Cathedral make. Their 1st full length album had songs that dragged at snail's pace and tried as hard as they could to fit into the 'doom' category. Thankfully, this time around they simply concentrated on writing good rock songs and to the surprise of all, have done it with aplomb. Songs like 'Ride', 'Midnight Mountain' and 'Fountain Of Youth' are all classics striaght off the bat. Elsewhere some tracks require patience like the 9 minute 'Phantasmagoria' or 'Jaded Entity' but that's not a bad thing and serves to draw you into their World even further. The production is cheap and cheerful but suits the music perfectly - if it had been done on pro-tools it would just kill the atmosphere created.
Against the odds, a masterpiece was created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doom Metal at its best, 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
Cathedral have a truly unique sound that shows through in all their tracks.Etheral Mirror is yet another in a long line of exellent albums not their best but definetly up there with the best this was the first cathedral album I heard and I,ve been hooked ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco doom!, 6 Oct 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
Cathedral's second album represents an almost total change in style for the band, with the dirge like slow doom of their debut Forest of Equilibrium being ditched in favour of up tempo 70's groovy disco doom, featuring handclaps, Iron Maiden-style harmony guitar lines and even the odd bit of acoustic guitars and clean vocals along the way. Totally different from their previous album, but still great in it's own way, Cathedral would continue to explore retro groovy metal for many subsequent albums, but this first in that vein is still one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper Rock, 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
Cathedral pay no attention whatsoever so trends or fashions, they purely play some of the very best loud doom metal in the world. Truly brilliant tracks on this album include; 'Ride' and 'Midnight Mountain'. A mark of true rock greatness: tracks it is impossible to play too loud. See also 'The Carnival Bizarre', another excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a mint album, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
I bought this bad boy on blue vinyl back in the day. Their best album by a country mile. Guitars have never sounded so solid!

The intro sets the tone and the highlights for me are Ride, Enter the worms and Jaded Entity! I f i were a WWE wrestler then Ride would be my intro song!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, but cover is broken..., 11 Dec 2014
By 
Artur (Riga, Latvia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethereal Mirror (Audio CD)
its ok , but cover is broken...it happens often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ethereal Mirror
The Ethereal Mirror by Cathedral (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews