Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Two top tracks make it worth it
Two absolutely excellent tracks on it that you will listen to over and over again: 'The One' and the 'Wasted Kisses' (secret-type track at nb 49, one of two secret tracks I adore, with Iggy Pop's Girls of NY).

Either of those make it worth buying this album.
Published 23 months ago by Edward

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all
Although I'm a major Prince fan ,I'm also very well aware that Prince can deliver some really bad albums as well(for example the Black album).So when I found this one on amazon with the delivery in 4-6 weeks I ordered it thinking that I have plenty of time to cancel my order if I wanted.I looked around the net for more info on the album and as every single review was bad...
Published on 2 Jun 2001 by yioryosos@yahoo.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all, 2 Jun 2001
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
Although I'm a major Prince fan ,I'm also very well aware that Prince can deliver some really bad albums as well(for example the Black album).So when I found this one on amazon with the delivery in 4-6 weeks I ordered it thinking that I have plenty of time to cancel my order if I wanted.I looked around the net for more info on the album and as every single review was bad I decided to cancel my order.But oops...it was already dispatched. The speed of amazon was fortunate 'cause the cd is not bad at all.OK it doesn't reach the levels of "Diamonds And Pearls","Around The World In A Day" or "Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic" but it's an essentially funky album.It takes off with the funky jazz affairs of the title track and "Mad Sex", it includes some great R&B grooves such as "Come On","Push It Up" and "Funky Music" and don't forget to check out the hidden track which is one of the Top 3 tracks on the album.It gets a bit boring during "Shoo-Bed-Ooh" and "Until U're In My Arms Again" but if you play it loud you can have a lot of fun.At least I had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get freaky, let the head bob..., 17 Nov 2003
By 
L. A. Stanley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
'New Power Soul' is the 3rd album from the 'New Power Generation' ('Gold Nigga' and 'Exodus' being the others),
but despite being credited as an 'N.P.G' album, 'New Power Soul' is as much a Prince album as 'Emancipation'. Which in fact is the album it bears the closest resemblance to.
Essentially a 'party-disc', the album is a collection of largely mid-tempo jams, which as the title track suggests should be played to get ya head bobbin', but (as with Emancipation) the album is plagued with some of the over-production that dominated Prince's records of the late 90's.
The plastic production (mainly thanks to Kirky J.) virtually buries some of the excellent bass and hornlines which feature throughout.
However, production aside 'New Power Soul' is still only a decent Prince album that contains 3 (count 'em) outstanding tracks.
The three songs in question being 'Come On', 'The One', and the hidden track 'Wasted Kisses'.
The terrific trinity aside, the album is pretty average for a Prince record.
The title track opens things up and is a simple party-anthem with a laid-back funky groove, more impressive though is the next track: 'Mad Sex', again the song is simple, but the bass is deeper and some menacing synth-stabs give the song an edge which is lacking in much of the album.
'Until U're In My Arms Again' is pure saccharine and is probably one of the most conventional ballads Prince has ever written, nonetheless it has a certain charm to it and is a very sweet (sickenenly at times) song.
'When U Love Somebody' is a catchy, if slightly repetitious, pop-soul song which borrows its keyboard line from 'In This Bed Eye Scream' (from Emancipation),but despite it being an impressive cut it's flawed by a slightly overlong running time.
'Shoo-bed-ooh' contains a cute chorus, but little else to distinguish it as a fine Prince track, 'Push It Up' is another mid-tempo jam which contains, amongst other things, a sample of 'Jam Of The Year' (also from Emancipation), there are some nice little horn flourishes throughout the track, but it never really takes off.
'Freaks On This Side' is the most unorthodox song on the album, containing only a quick audience chant as its chorus, it's a assault to the ears to say the least, in complete contrast; 'Come On' is a simple yet excellent funk track, driven by the best drum programming on the album. Containing a fluid synth-line the track manages to be catchy and funky at the same time, it was an obvious choice for a first single and it was very surprising it didn't do so well on the charts.
'The One' is easily the most original song on 'New Power Soul'... powered by some wonderful fretless-bass playing from Rhonda Smith, the track is a slow moving, sensual ballad featuring an inspired vocal performance from Prince.
The final 'tracked' song from 'New Power Soul': '(Eye Like) Funky Music' is, with the probable exception of 'Come On', the funkiest track on the record. As with the majority of the songs, the track features a chanted chorus, but a funky rhythm-guitar lick keeps the song intact and (as with most of the album) the horn work impresses throughtout.
Now, it would be a crime to stop the CD after the final track...as you would never hear what is probably the strongest song on the whole album: 'Wasted Kisses'.
Rumoured to be about the death of his son, 'Wasted Kisses' is the shortest and simplest track on the whole thing but it's a dramatic, and highly intriguing song, which doesn't deserve to be hidden at the end of an album.
On the whole 'New Power Soul' still remains, what is probably, Prince's weakest album. But, even aside from the standout tracks, there is alot of enjoyment to be had out of the album...just give it a bit of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Write the man off at your peril!, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
Prince was, and still is, a genius. This album shows his powers are still as strong as ever. The excellent title tracks shifts around for it's entire duration, from slyly funky dance track to jazzy horn breakdown. "Mad Sex" continues the theme with a jazzy feel, before "Until U're In My Arms Again" changes the mood. Following this ballad "When U Love Somebody" continues the shape-shifting style, moving as it does through several incarnations, all of them pleasing. Several tracks such as "Come on" and "Shoo-bed-ooh" are equally pleasing, although several others ("Push It Up", "Freaks...", and "I Love Funky Music") are a little dull. The hidden track "Wasted Kisses" is a very good finalle to what ultimatley is a very satisfying album. The little purple dynamo has still got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two top tracks make it worth it, 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
Two absolutely excellent tracks on it that you will listen to over and over again: 'The One' and the 'Wasted Kisses' (secret-type track at nb 49, one of two secret tracks I adore, with Iggy Pop's Girls of NY).

Either of those make it worth buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, Melodic and Downright Funky!, 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
For me New Power Soul is the Artists best albumn. It blends together the synthesied funky sound of vintage Prince with modern styles. This albumn grows on you as the musicianship is subtle but of the highest quality. Check out the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a purple rain, more a head bobbing study/party disc, 23 April 2001
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
aside from a couple of extremaly structured tracks e.g. newpower soul, when u love somebody, and the slower songs, this disc is mostly about very tightly produced grooves with strange effects coming out of tis ears. fans of purple rain will find this a bit of a shock, but 3 months after i bought it, i finally love most of the tracks! probably not the best disc to get u started on prince... (sounds great craked up on a good hifi though!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best album as the artist, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New Power Soul (Audio CD)
As a hard core fan of the purple one, this album surprised me as it is so good! i would rate this as better than purple rain and almost as good as the symbol album. tracks like 'madsex' and track 1 ('new power soul') represent his best jazz style songs of all time and the slow, romantic ballad, 'until you're in my arms again' is my favourite song of all time! a hugely under-rated album that deserved to be so much bigger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Power Soul
New Power Soul by Prince (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews