Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to 'I know it's over'...........
I own just about every bootleg and official CD and DVD of the Smiths and Morrissey catalogue...blah blah...and I bought this at the beginning of the nineties!!!, yet this contains the finest version of 'I know it's over' I've ever heard, a long sprawling track with blistering guitar work, the guitar work is sublime and the quality of the sound is just amazing, the...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Oirishsteve

versus
45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Their only officially released live concert...and it's okay.
Recorded live by the BBC at the National Ballroom, Kilburn, England on 23rd October 1986 during The Smiths' "The Queen Is Dead" tour, "Rank", the only officially released live concert, has many drawbacks, most of which could have been avoided. But first, the plus points:
There's a nice mix of songs, albeit predominately from their later years. There's the catchy...
Published on 25 Aug 2003 by Colin Grantham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Their only officially released live concert...and it's okay., 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
Recorded live by the BBC at the National Ballroom, Kilburn, England on 23rd October 1986 during The Smiths' "The Queen Is Dead" tour, "Rank", the only officially released live concert, has many drawbacks, most of which could have been avoided. But first, the plus points:
There's a nice mix of songs, albeit predominately from their later years. There's the catchy ones, such as "Panic", "Ask", "The Boy With The Thorn In His Side", as well as those which reward perseverance, such as "Rusholme Ruffians" and "I Know It's Over".
The Smiths were often bootlegged, but the sound quality on "Rank", despite sounding a bit tinny and confined, is better than you will find on almost all of them, probably only with the exception of their performance at The Apollo Theatre, Oxford, England on 18th March 1985 (also recorded by the BBC, and has been broadcast on radio in the past, so watch out for it).
Now the negative points:
This is not the complete concert! "I Want The One I Can't Have", "There Is A Light That Never Goes Out", "Shakespeare's Sister", "Frankly, Mr. Shankly", "Never Had No One Ever", "Meat Is Murder" and "How Soon Is Now?" were all played at this concert, so why oh why aren't they here?
Morrissey's harmless comments during the show have also been cut. These would add nicely to the atmosphere, so once again, why aren't they here?
Finally, I expect any officially released live concert to have a seamless changing between tracks (even if a concert has been edited, it's still do-able). For the most part, the track changes are pretty seamless, but, in the middle of the CD, there's a fade-out then a fade-in between tracks, which really destroys the continuation - was this really necessary?!
Conclusion: "Rank" is the only official way to hear The Smiths live, which, for all its faults, makes it essential. Alternatively, you could watch out for the full "Rank" concert to be broadcast on radio, as it has been in the past (including recently on the digital BBC Radio 6).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still the only official live Smiths album, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rank - longbox (Audio CD)
The only official live Smiths album is somewhat of a disappointment. Too few songs (cd is only half-full) and a curious mix of hits and less celebrated pieces. The performances are a bit rougher (and rockier) than the album versions and generally good. Smiths fans will love it anyway but IMO they deserve better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to 'I know it's over'..........., 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
I own just about every bootleg and official CD and DVD of the Smiths and Morrissey catalogue...blah blah...and I bought this at the beginning of the nineties!!!, yet this contains the finest version of 'I know it's over' I've ever heard, a long sprawling track with blistering guitar work, the guitar work is sublime and the quality of the sound is just amazing, the atmosphere of the whole CD just can't be beaten.....for all it's faults (several tracks short of the bootleg version etc) buy it...I played this and still do so many times and I never get sick of hearing it.....took me through some testing times as well...now there's a story!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excllent live Smiths cd, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
I bought this for the live version of "I know its over", which is, in my opinion, the greatest live performance the Smiths have ever given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new to me!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rank (MP3 Download)
i never did buy this recording at the end of the smiths.im delighted to buy for my kindle.this is of great interest to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ace, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rank (MP3 Download)
had this on tape, my brother asked for it back! I'm chuffed to bits to have it again.Brilliant live set, wish I had been there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good!, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
This album is beyond amazing. There is so much talent on show and everyone earns their credit here. Morrissey is phenomenal of course, but the playing, particularly the bass, is awe-inspiring. The set is perfectly chosen and it flows unbelievable smoothly despite the vastly different song styles featured. The Draize Train is one of the best instrumentals I've ever heard and I could listen to it for hours. Simply brilliant, a live album as it should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Live Albums I've Ever Heard!, 18 July 2012
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of Live Albums, especially live albums of bands and singers that it is impossible to see live for whatever reason. The only negative to this album is that there are certain parts of it that were cut, such as the on stage banter and certain songs that were performed at the concert that were not included here for whatever reason. However, those set backs don't detrect from the fact that the sound quality of this album is great. I have several bootlegs of The Smiths live and the quality of this albums surpasses those by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ranks Amongst the Best of Them, 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
It is by now one of the great Rock'N'Roll traditions that shortly after splitting up a band delivers a live LP as a coda to there career. The Smiths duly released `Rank' shortly after handing in there collective dinner pail. Although recorded before they delivered there last album with three studio albums and twelve hit singles a set list that would be universally approved would be impossible.

With their last four singles and various album tracks the set is probably as good as could be expected focusing the more urgent aspect of their cannon with songs such as `Vicar in a Tutu' and `Ask' rather than the lament of songs such as `Suffer Little Children'. My favourite track here is the rockabilly swagger of `Rusholme Ruffians' which with its riff acknowledging swerve from out of Elvis' `Marie's the Name' gives the concert its finest moment. Worth the price of admission on its own.

As vulgar pictures go this is probably as good as it get. Bigmouth strikes the right chord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply a must have, 27 Sep 2000
By 
ssho@mweb.co.za (rossington england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rank (Audio CD)
"Rank" is a live album of tracks recorded during the band's 1986 tour and thus includes some of the bands early classics such as "Panic", "Bigmouth Strikes Again", "Cemetery Gates" and "The Queen Is Dead". The album was released well over a year after the band broke up and was really released on the back of the solo success that was being enjoyed by the band's lead singer Morrissey at the time. The only criticisms I have of the album are that its a bit short with only 13 tracks being included, when they could've included a lot more from the bands huge catalogue and secondly that only a few of the band's big hits are included, but despite these shortcomings I would still say that it's a worthwhile purchase. The great thing about the album is that it shows how great the band were live, by listening to their studio albums you get the impression that the band were actually quite sad and lonely but with this live performance they create the impression that they were anything but that, with the performance being generally lively and upbeat. This album is highly recommended, as is all their other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rank
Rank by The Smiths (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews