Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let this record speak to you.
With current bands like Coldplay and Travis(always mentioned in the same breath) the music they make always seems to wash over me, great songs, terrific songs, but not quite personal enough and soon become forgetful. Morrissey has a way of writing that draws you in and makes you really connect with the song, as if it was about you. It's really powerful stuff and anyone...
Published on 9 Nov. 2002

versus
6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not THAT good.
I simply don't understand why this over-rated album is always held up as the benchmark of Morrissey/The Smiths' greatness. There are only two standout classic tracks on The Queen Is Dead - I Know It's Over and There Is A Light That Never Goes Out.

Frankly Mr Shankly is a dire novelty song that sounds like it was written by Gilbert O' Sullivan, Vicar In A Tutu...
Published on 5 Sept. 2008 by lazysunbathers


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly perfect piece of perfect pop/indie lite, 19 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The album with Morrissey at his lyrical best and Johnny Marr creating a variety of unforgettable riffs to keep the audience listening. Moz spends half the album highlighting issues such as transvestite vicars and his well known hatred of royalty, and the other half celebrating the joys and sadness of relationships and loneliness.
All the songs are pretty much perfect for their expression, with the Smiths putting together a perfect sound, which still could sound credible today. The highlights are the student's favourite BigMouth Strikes Again and There Is A Light That Never Goes Out, whose second verse could almost have been sung by Princess Diana during her fatal crash? ('under the darkened underpass, I thought oh god my chance has come at last'). Other highlights include the hatred of work in Mr Shankly and the wonderously bright and breezy Cemetry Gates. Some Girls Are Bigger than others cleverly closes the album with a tongue in cheek look at the 'larger ladies' of this world.
A truly perfect pop album, and still one of my favourites. It is accessible enough to be both higly intelligent and emotionally charged and also easily accesible for all music lovers. After all, I was constantly listening to hip-hop and R'n'B constantly before stumbling on this excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to a Classic as its possible to get, 12 Jun. 2003
By 
A. Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
When it comes to The Smiths, one of the most obvious, well-known facts is as follows: 'The Queen is Dead' is their best album, and a great album even for new or non-fans. Perhaps one of the few truly classic albums to come out of the UK during the 80's, this is surely the perfect introduction to a group whose fame was still on the up when they decided to call it a day.
The lyrics and voice of Morrissey, combined with the guitar and music of Johnny Marr is perhaps one of the finest song-writing teams of recent years. On tracks like the eternal fan favourite 'There Is A Light That Never Goes Out' (often thought to be the quintessential Smiths track), the aching, tender voice of Morrissey fits perfectly with a memorable track by Marr and the oft-overlooked Smiths rhythm section. The yearning, pained words contain a certain dark northern humour, like so many of their finest songs. It's hard to find a finer chorus than "If a double-decker bus crashes into us, to die by your side is such a heavenly way to die. If a ten-truck smashes into us, to die by your side, well the pleasure, the privilege is mine."
Elsewhere, the catchy, memorable 'The Boy With The Thorn In His Side' and 'Cemetary Gates' continue to mesh light and dark in a way that surely anyone, anyone who has ever been young and troubled, can relate to. Both are instantly recognisable, as though you've known them all your life, but are no worse for that. The darker side of The Smiths, whilst not as pronounced as on other albums, is evident in the musically biting, lyrically dismissive 'Bigmouth Strikes Again' and the defeated, humbled experience detailed in 'I Know It's Over'. Conversely, the likes of 'Frankly Mr. Shankly', so reminiscent of the likes of George Formby (an acknowledged influence on Morrissey, in particular) is hard to not exhibit a big stupid smile over.
Considering the group reportedly had a great deal of difficulty creating this album, musically, personally, it is a surprise perhaps that this is such a cohesive and artistic triumph. The mood will take you up, down and back again, its atmosphere of lonliness and misunderstanding never faltering (with the possible exception of the musically wonderful, yet lyrically doubtful 'Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others').
Deep, inspiring, comforting, troubling. Plus, it's a great collection of intelligent, catchy guitar pop, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some bands were better than others, 21 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The Smiths at their peak were quite simply astonishing. 'The Queen Is Dead' sees Morrissey and Marr at the height of their powers. Morrissey writes with depth, humour and intelligence on a variety of issues including hatred of the monarchy/UK. hatred of work, plagiarism, transvestism, and loneliness. Morrissey's lyrics are complemented by Marr's astonishing array of riffs and musical arrangements. My personal favourites are the title track and the bleak "I Know It's Over" in which sings about a doomed, imaginary relationship. The Smiths had the unique ability to grasp emotion and turn it into something extraordinary. Is it just me or do other people think "how does Morrissey know how I feel?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 5 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
if you only have one smiths album in your collection i would suggest you make it this one. All the greats are on here (well alot of them!). i bought this album when it first came out and have it on vinyl, tape and cd. a mark of its greatness is that 17 years on it still stands head and shoulders above the likes of Coldplay, Travis and Starsailor in terms of lyrical and musical content. Morrisseys astute observations are both poignant(-No one never-) and at times hilarious(-Frankly mr Shankly-)and lets face it who else could make being hit by a bus sound like such a romantic proposition? (-There is a light-). Give yourself a treat and buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sponge and a rusty spanner, 16 Mar. 2010
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The Smiths at their very best. The album remains dazzling, almost 25 years on. The songs are fantastic. The lyrics are among Morrissey's most funny, poignant and brilliantly satirical. Who else in the 1980s had the guts to write something like 'It's so easy to laugh, it's so easy to hate. It takes strength to be gentle and kind'? And who else wrote anything as funny as the breaking-into-the-palace bit of the title track? But it's not just Morrissey who deserves the credit. The band play wonderfully, and Johnny Marr's guitar punctuates each track with highly inventive melodies and details. A masterpiece: one of the all-time great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some albums are better than others, 15 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. B. Mcmillan "Bazalinhio" (West Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Magnum opus of the most influential band of the 80s or more whining from that guy with the big quiff? Anyone who thinks the latter need read no further. In fact, anyone who feels that way should probably give up completely as there is no hope for you. From the thunderous opening drumbeat and wah-wah guitar sequence of the title track to the intricate picking of closer `Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others', the listener is in the realm of true genius. The talents of Morrissey and Marr are very different. Both demonstrate genius on this record but in very distinct ways. Morrissey's lyrics are, yes, at times, downbeat but there is also wit and humour to be found here in equal measure. The title track, `Frankly Mr Shankly' and `Vicar In a Tutu' could provoke a giggle from even the most miserable human being. Complementing this is Marr's incredible guitar work. At times direct and bold, at others beautifully layered to create a stunning backdrop to Morrissey's observations. The songs take us on a journey through the vast landscape that is Morrissey's mind and, just when you think the journey can go no further, the band hits you with their knockout blow, namely `There Is A Light That Never Goes Out'. The chord sequence is perfect, the orchestration is beautiful and not overstated, the rhythm section is in the background when it needs to be, but the drums play an important part at the outset of the song, and in the build up to each majestic chorus. And, above all of this, Morrissey's greatest ever lyric tells a story of the boy who doesn't belong, the boy who is too afraid to make a move on the one person he desires to be with, and, above all, the boy who can think of nothing greater than to die by the side of the one he loves. This is an album on which everything works. There is nothing here to put the listener off the idea of going right back to the start the second the album ends. The perfect album is yet to be made, but `The Queen Is Dead' comes closer than most. The phrase `classic album' is used very lightly these days, but it is impossible to argue that this record doesn't deserve such a lofty status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't realise they wrote such bloody brilliant poetry..., 25 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
There's something to be said for an album that can consistently convey heartfelt despair and still have enough left over to make you laugh. The Queen is Dead does both of these things over the course of ten near-faultless tracks, thanks to the brilliant lyrics and distinctive vocal style of Morrissey and the inventive guitar playing of Johnny Marr.
From opening title track to closer, Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others, The Smiths are on top form. Having only recently discovered the band, I came to the album with a completely objective standpoint but write now as an avowed fan.
There's not enough space here to comment on each song individually, but it is enough to say that I Know It's Over and There Is A Light That Never Goes Out are as good as any songs ever written. The aforementioned humour crops up throughout, noteably in Vicar In A Tutu and Frankly, Mr Shankly, which always make me smile whilst sitting at work bored out of my skull, wishing I was at home playing guitar.
Elsewhere, Cemetery Gates proves beyond all doubt that intellectual rock stars can exist. Now all we need to do is find some more...
Of The Smiths four studio albums, The Queen is Dead stands out as the work of a band at the very top of their game. Critically acclaimed and rightly so, it remains as vital and important a record as it was when released in 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find a word for such a great music, 28 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
I wasn't so lucky to catch The Smiths time, I was too young and also there was the iron curtain between this great music and our country. So I have discovered them only a few years ago and they touched my heart immediately. Now I have almost all their records and I must admit this album is one of the best. It's over, Light that never goes out, any song you chose has excellent music and very touching lyrics. I'm so sorry the group lasted such a short time. Morrissey would also deserved more attantion now than he get. Good luck Steven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influencial albums of the 80's, 22 July 2001
By A Customer
Ths Smiths release of The Queen Is Dead is brilliant. The hard drum beats of the title track run into the groaning and moaning of Morrissey perfectly, to spit on the monarchy and laugh at the queen's death. Then we hear another up-beat track Frankly Mr. Shankly, who is a "flatulent pain in the arse". I Know It's Over is my favourite song, the depths of despair with the soil falling over my head. The amazing mix of chilling lyrics, and slow-moving bass and guitars make this a classic song, along with Never Had No-one. Cemetery Gates is a great song both musically, and lyrically, flaming those who steal others words. A bouncy bass line here makes this a greta song also. The album continues in the same way with the massive Bigmouth, and the Boy With The Thorn. Then more great basslines in there Is A Light that never Goes Out, and a perfect album ending with Some Girls are Bigger Than Others... This album a favourite with everyone, influences bands like the Manic Street Preachers.
Great band, great songs, truely great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystallized mancunian genius, 23 Nov. 2002
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
This third album from The Smiths was an incredibly important album, for both the development of guitar music in general, and also the sealing of Morrissey and Marr's fate as one of the greatest songwriting partnerships of the 20th century. They romanticised and fantasised about the ordinary life with great fascination and admiration for the people and places that they included in their songs.
The Queen Is Dead has to be the essential Smiths album and also maybe the definitive indy album. The musicianship is faultless, with Morrissey's emotive and passionate vocals, Marr's inventive and unique guitar style and the brilliant rhythm section of Rourke and Joyce. Morrissey is on superb form on this album in particular, the title track's rambling assault on the monarchy and "There Is A Light That Never Goes Out"'s eloquent and heartbreaking paean to unrequited love being maybe the two best Smiths songs, lyrcally speaking. Though anyone who dismisses their songs as 'poetry set to music' (including Morissey himself) is sorely mistaken. Marr's extraordinary work on the title track alone stands testament to this.
When all is said and done, this album is simply and justly one of the greatest rock albums ever made. It is as near perfect as can be; even the artwork on the album's sleeve is profound and impressive. You cannot consider yourself a true fan of guitar music if you don't own this album; it is a complete necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Queen Is Dead
The Queen Is Dead by The Smiths (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews