Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the real smiths
Already the darlings of the late great John Peel and the music press, Morrissey and Marr's Smiths had, by 1984, yet to make a satisfying entry in the album stakes. Their eponymous debut had some fine songs, but the production had left them sounding un-finished. Luckily their prodigious work-rate and sensible decision to use Radio 1 sessions as substitute studio/rehearsal...
Published on 16 April 2010 by P. Frizelle

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, rubbish product
First off i'm not here to review the album but simply warn others of the quality of the product itself.

When it originally came it was unsealed and was heavily scratched making it unlistenable. I sent off for a free replacement which has arrived yesterday which actually came sealed but is still scratched to the point where half the tracks are unlistenable...
Published 3 months ago by Edward P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime., 25 Jan 2002
By 
R. Burin "royal_film" (Harrogate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
An alternative debut-album, comprising of Radio 1 session tracks and a few early singles, this is one compilation certainly worth owning. Though some of the re-recordings don't live up to those on the debut album, others are explosive, and any album with such diversity as this is worth your attention. 'Handsome Devil' is a serious song masquerasing as a celebration of filth, whilst 'The Night Has Opened My Eyes' is one of the most disturbingly beautiful things I've ever had the fortune to hear. In short, an unmissable record. A work of genius. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odds and sods album still far better than today's indies, 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
This is a great album, what can I say? I had got into the Smiths with the recently re-re-re-re-re-released (silly in-joke) Best Of, I can't believe I just dismissed them as a fawning, over the top band.
This shouldn't be your starting point. Needless to say, start with Best Of, then onto their classic (I do mean classic) "The Queen Is Dead" - once you've got used to the Smiths sound, which is fairly accessible anyway, this is an essential purchase.
There are three or four tracks from the original self-titled album of 1983, but these like most of the other tracks are recreated as studio session songs in the confines of the John Peel and David Jensen (?) Radio 1 shows from May 1983. These studio session versions are far better than the album versions, it has to be said, as there is no 'big drum sound' that consigned most of the 80s to cheesy decadence. The session version of "This Charming Man" is absolutely brilliant, as is the galloping "Still Ill" and the despairing "What Difference Does It Make". Most of the other session tracks were B-sides. Hard to believe that "These Things Take Time", "Accept Yourself" and "This Night Has Opened My Eyes" are B-sides - they urinate considerably on today's contemporaries. The "new" tracks are great too -"William, It Was Really Nothing" "How Soon Is Now" (I think you might have heard of that one), "Girl Afraid" and the uplifting "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want" are bona fide classics. Brilliant, reminds me a bit of a more uptempo Nirvana Unplugged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manc Lennon/McCartney?, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
The songwriting and lyrics on this CD are amazing and underline yet again that Morrissey and Marr rank alongside the best ever songwriting partnerships that exist: if anything they were more original and inspiring than the likes of jaggar/richards who although more closely resemble their lyrics/music split also relied heavily upon the talents and ideas of other artists around during their peak. I sometimes wonder if Marr ever regrets spliting up the most important band since the beatles so hastily and early: I have to say that this must rank as one of the daftest decisions ever made, especially considering that he has done little to convince since. Moz meanwhile is simply from another planet; I suspect I wouldn't like him if he sat at the desk next to me at work but he is an absolute god and legend nevertheless, standing proudly (like marr) alongside hendrix or elvis, etc.

I can't imagine life without the Smiths: a subversive fab four complete with the new jim morrison writing the lyrics. This for me is their best collection although the queen is dead and other lps are still awesome. This CD just sums up a group at their peak, able to casually knock out intense songs that will linger for centuries. What would they have produced if marr had'nt have been so egotistical or immature and left in a huff? I suspect at least 2, 3 or even more lps that would have pushed the envelope even further. For me at least they restarted where the Beatles had finished and pushed the RnR genre further onwards, nobody has really done that since in the same way and with so much potency. Knight morrissey and marr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite album of my life, 11 Feb 2010
By 
I. Black "soundsofibis" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
Hatful of Hollow is my favourite album of all time. It is sensationally good, musically tight and lyrically perfect. The Smiths at their best, without doubt. If you only buy one Smiths album - make it this. You 100% wont regret it. I borrowed this album on vinyl from my big sister back in the 80's and played it to death in my bedroom, she never got it back. On cd it is stunning, the music will blow your mind. I love the Hatful sound, its tight, sharp, hot, and morrissey's singing is fiercely good. Buy it and adore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What?!?!, 21 May 2009
By 
J. Pauley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
The title "What?!?!" is in reply to Mr Peter Moylan's review of this album. I find it incredible that anyone, let alone anyone that professes to like The Smiths, could come away from this album unimpressed, let alone proffering a paltry 1 star rating.

I can attest to the view expressed by numerous reviewers on this site, that this is the perfect introduction to the band and their music. I was a bit of a latecomer to the group and this was indeed my introduction and where I finally managed to get an extended listen to The Smiths and came to realise what all the fuss was about and what I had been missing.

I was blissfully unaware at the time that it was an grab-bag album of out-takes and A/B sides and was gobsmacked to find that this was the case, such was the strength of the set.

Magnificent, idiosyncratic and timeless music. Along with Bob Dylan's The Bootleg Series Vol 1-3, this is the greatest set of sweepings from the studio floor you'll ever hear.

Buy without hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Ill After all These Years, 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
The Smiths debut album `The Smiths' was not popular with the critics, this was down to the quality of their early singles and the sessions they had recorded for radio sessions being so high that expectations were running high, they could only fail. Their record company, Rough Trade, had a solution, they hastily collected the singles, some b-sides and some choice session versions of the album tracks and put it on sale as `Hatful of Hollow'. Genius.

The songs collected here are fantastic and picking any out as highlights is virtually impossible, however I'm going to go single out `Still Ill' which still sounds as fresh as it did over twenty five years ago.

Most song writers on being compared to Lennon-McCartney get all embarrassed but Morrissey and Marr just got on and lived up to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brimful of talent, 21 Dec 2002
By 
Simon Barrow (Exeter, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
Burn down the disco... Morrissey's melancholic musings and Marr's angular melodic lines undoubtedly make The Smiths indie's defining glory. 'Hatful of Hollow' stands out, alongside other classics like 'The Queen Is Dead', as the finest testimony to their talent in album form. If you only have room for one Smiths CD in your collection -- and there really is no excuse for such parsimony given how cheap they are on Amazon -- this is probably the collection to plump for. Heart rending vignettes like 'William', 'Reel Around the Fountain' and 'This Charming Man' stand side-by-side with gnarly testaments to urban noire ('Girl Afraid', 'Back to the Old House') and alternative classics ('How Soon is Now?'). Even those who are resistant to Manchester's singalong-sophists-with-attitude can usually work up some sympathy for 'Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now', where adolescent angst and a jaunty tune walk hand-in-glove: full of wry overstatement... "What she asked of me at the end of the day, Caligula would have blushed..." There's no getting around it. You have to own this album if you have a soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hat Full of Magic, 22 Feb 2005
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
When you hear This Charming Man for the first time its like a rousing call to listen to everything the Smiths ever recorded. Remarkably the track was penned for the Peel session the very night before the recording on this album was created. There is a magical fusion hear between the Smiths finding their sound and experimenting with the most beautiful and melodic of their recordings.
The general idea of a Peel session was always to push artist's creative boundaries and to take a band while it was in the early stages of development. This album is a demonstration of how those sessions where capable of producing definitive editions of some of the best of The Smiths material.
There is not a bad track on the album and its a much better way to explore their sound than through the various single collections and best ofs. There are popular highs but the best of The Smiths mournful lows. Where else in musical history is there such an excellent almagamation of sound that just works so well together? I'd guess nowhere and better than that it was never planned to be like that. If the original eponymous album The Smiths hadn't had such bad recording quality this album would never happened. Thank goodness it did. This is the collection of songs that saved my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-altering, 10 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow (Audio CD)
I recently returned to this album and in spite of all the great LPs that have been released in the interim - Leftism, Blue Lines, Screamadelica, The Stone Roses, Nevermind, OK Computer and even the Smiths' subsequent offerings (including The Queen is Dead) - nothing comes close to this as a candidate for the best album of the past twenty years.
I guess the one reason why it doesn't appear more in the top ten of music polls is because it wasn't a "proper" album - a few of the tracks had appeared in a different form on the band's first, eponymous album. Nevertheless, over 10 tracks were new at the time.
As someone in their mid-teens at the time of the album's release, I cannot overstate the impact this band had on me - and even today, it is a sheer pleasure to listen to the best lyrics ever committed to vinyl.
Totally essential and life-altering - if you don't have this in your collection - shame on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stop me if you've heard this before, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatful Of Hollow [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The quintessential Smith's album . Taken from the John Peel and Kid Jensen sessions , this album has some of the best versions of songs by the smiths and captures the Northern backdrop of the band. It feels like a sin to play less than the whole album in one listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hatful Of Hollow
Hatful Of Hollow by The Smiths (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews