Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2013
You recognized them immediately: this wonderful texts, this poetry on music as I call it, and than this whirling voice of Morrissey. Beautiful !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This was bought for a friend who totally loves The Smiths. The cd was in excellent condition and he loves it. Well packaged, fast delivery too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
None of The Smiths had great experience before joining together in this particular little enterprise, Morrissey had briefly been a member of a couple of bands, although not always as the singer. Still, upon hitching up with Johnny Marr, Mike Joyce and Andy Rourke he suddenly found himself with an outlet for his writing and dreams.

But here we find a classic situation where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts

Nobody had ever quite matched lyrics like his before to what were essentially Rock a Billy songs, although quite out of step with other music of the era, especially commercial chart music. Understanding or deciphering Morrissey's lyrics is hard full of contradictory statements and unless told the homoerotic metaphors are not immediately obvious

The music and arrangements of Johnny Marr and the sticking lyrics of Morrissey complement each other perfectly. The lyrics are jam-packed full of tongue in cheek humour and Marrs infectious hooks are simply wonderful.

There is a common misconception surrounding Morrissey lyrics, dour and miserable they are not. Not really, not exactly, and some of the lyrical imagery and scene setting is pretty much unsurpassed if you happen to be a lost romantic type.

The Smiths signed to leading independent label Rough Trade, there was already a buzz surrounding the group, but the debut single and 'Hand In Glove' failed to chart.

The second single was 'This Charming Man', is very distinctive, immediately reminds one of Sixties groups it's 'jingle jangle' nature and sound. Coupled with a strange appearance on National TV surrounded by Gladioli, Marr with a Brian Jones Haircut Morrissey sporting a granny blouse, hearing aid, quiff and national health glasses awoke sleeping teenage angst

Strangely people could associate with these lyrics, associate with the image and allure of The Smiths as a group, and especially associate with Morrissey himself.
Albeit the outsiders - The kids that were alone and bullied, who spent their time playing Dungeons and Dragons.

A genuine and often beautiful album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
And any serious music afficionado has to have it in the rack
Which is why I bought it. And I think the tracks still stand up well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
Stunning debut. Be amazed by these talented men (Marr and Morrissey especially). If you're not moved by Morrissey's wonderful lyrics, then you must be a heartless soul.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Great albumin good digital sound.I own this on bundle CD and now digital sounds fresh then and now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I bought this album in an attempt to win over a young lady I was interested in, first time round I mean, and she stole that copy before chucking me over for another young chap, which begs the question why I got it again when I certainly never understood the. Merit of all that morosity and moaning. Maybe it's middle age, reliving my mid pent youth, etc. she was a cracking looking girl, and didn't smell nearly as bad as my late wife, Val? Perhaps it's time I had her berried.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great music if you like the smiths. ( I do) would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Bought for the missus. She loves it. I, on the other hand...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2000
The Smiths are perhaps the most influential band ever to have come out of the Manchester area. Whilst Mozza has lost it a bit since going solo (with the exception of "Viva Hate"), his days with Marr as The Smiths form perhaps the most impresive allience in pop ever.
With "The Smiths" debut album, they have produced a masterpiece. With tracks ranging from the Moors Murders inspired "Suffer Little Children" (for which Moz got permission from all the families of the children involved), through "Reel aroud the fountain" (which the bloody stupid Sun newspaper thought was about underage gay sex ... it's not), to the masterpiece that is "The hand that rocks the cradle", Mozza and Marr redefined the nature of pop group as we know it.
People will always have a go at the Smiths for being "depressing" or "morbid" ... well it just depends upon the context that the songs are taken in. If meaningful lyrics, beautifully aranged guitar work and melody are what you require in an album, then the smiths is for you. And Morrissey is one of the wittiest songwriters ever ... it basically comes down to whether his slightly off-key warble is for you or not. If so, then this is a definite "MUST HAVE" for any record collection ... if not, then there is no way you'll be converted.
A masterpiece.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)