Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On your knees fool, your looking at a classic
What can you say really, this is one of those albums, one of the ones you listen to so much the CD case flops open in your hand spilling the lyric sheet onto the floor.
Fat Mike really came up with the goods, some of his best lyrics (for his best, check out The Decline) and some of those real classic punk riffs. Hefes just settled in at this point and it shows, his...
Published on 10 Oct 2001 by Nips (no_use@fairlyevil.co.uk)

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drunken seriousness
Humerous, fun, loud, yet still serious, respectable and political punk rock. The most worth having of the NoFx albums. It's probably advisable only for people with a real interest in punk rock, as you need to have it for this band.
Published on 28 Aug 2004 by El


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On your knees fool, your looking at a classic, 10 Oct 2001
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
What can you say really, this is one of those albums, one of the ones you listen to so much the CD case flops open in your hand spilling the lyric sheet onto the floor.
Fat Mike really came up with the goods, some of his best lyrics (for his best, check out The Decline) and some of those real classic punk riffs. Hefes just settled in at this point and it shows, his jazz/blues influences are clear and do NOFX nothing but good. And with Eriks age old drumming and Melvin hammering in the rhythem you really cant fault this CD.
Its NOFX in their prime, and theres nothing like NOFX in their prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five-star classic., 28 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Punk in Drublic (Audio CD)
What can be said about this album that has not already been said by any self-respecting punk fan the world over since its release in 1994? It is rare when every song on an album is brilliant, but that is certainly the case here. From the classicly-NOFX sounding "Lori Meyers", "Linoleum","Perfect Government" and "Punk Guy", all hardcore drumming and trademark guitar sound, to the Oi-tastic "The Brews", and the reggae tinged "Reeko", "Punk in Drublic" cements itself as surely the best NOFX album with crisp production from Ryan Greene, and a diverse, top-quality collection of songs. If you like punk then you probably already own this...if you think you like punk but dont own this, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best NOFX album out there., 28 Jan 2001
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
Out of all the NOFX albums I have heard this is definately the best, the best quality punk and a bit of ska on the album, it is commonly short like most punk albums and has some songs that are total crowd pleasers at concerts, the best selling NOFX cd is also the best quality one, coincidecne? I think not, songs like "Linoleum" "The Brews" "Leave It Alone" "Dying Degree" "The Cause" "Lori Myers" and "Don't Call Me White" are some of the best songs that NOFX have ever written and performed.
If you want a NOFX album or just a punk album this is definately the best one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nofx at their very best, 29 Jan 2005
This review is from: Punk in Drublic (Audio CD)
one of my ex-boyfriends was a major nofx fan and in his opinion this was the worst nofx album but he was so wrong. he had a t shirt with the album cover on and it does look a bit odd, the punk in drublic makes and interesting and funny pun and from start to finish you will thoroughly enjoy yourself with this album. in my humble opinion this is the best nofx album out there that i have heard and i have heard just about all of them. with songs like 'the cause' and 'perfect government' you get an insight into the hearts and minds of nofx. they sings songs about people im sure more pc bands would like to forget, including 'lori meyers' a prostitute, 'the brews' which tells of violent jews and 'scavenger type' with the story of 'bill' a homeless guy. as with most nofx albums theres a comedy song on this one its 'my heart is yearning' with a innocent enough title but with lyrics including 'its for you my .... is buring its dripping down my calf' its obvious that its all a bit tongue in cheek. just a little tip for all listeners as soon as the last song stops playing dont turn it off as you're in for a bit of a surprise, you will soon understnad why in 'Pump Up the Valluum' eric melvin is thanked for doing every inpersonation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
This is the best of all the nofx albums i've heard. Lori Myers possibly the best song on the album is fast and explosive. A must for any compilation tape. The opening track Linolium, The Brews and Punk Guy are also some of the greatest songs any Punk band could wish to have in their arsenal. A great album so buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding......, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
Perhaps the greatest punk album since the likes of Dead Kennedys 'Fresh Fruit' and the Sex Pistols'Never Mind...' The album contains 17 songs of pure punk genius with 'Lineolium', 'Leave it Alone' and 'Dont Call Me White' standing out. The only reason why NOFX arent has globally popular as fellow 90's punk giants Greenday is that they have stuck to their true punk rock roots and have stayed onto an independant record label for the whole of thier career. If fast flowing U.S punk is up your alleyway, you'll love this album. A must for any punk rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE GREATEST PUNK BANDS OUT THERE..., 21 July 2005
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
Many will argue in favour of the much over-rated Green Day or Blink 182, however this gets my vote. Although bands like The Offspring are decent, they give out a commerical vibe. For instance, when's the last time you saw NOFX on Kerrang? When's the last time you heard NOFX on Key 103? PUNK is all about rebellion, a 'f**k you' attitude. NOFX certainly have that! My favourite track here has to be 'don't call me white' although all the songs are good.
Most are fast paced, quick drumming and with cleverly written lyrics to suit, brilliant vocaling and nice guitar work!
So, if you like punk, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOFX's Finest Album..., 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
Released in 1994, this album was somewhat over-shadowed by the commercial success of Green Day's "Dookie" and Offspring's "Smash" (both fine albums by the way!), but Punk In Drublic is by far one of the finest albums of the punk genre. Kicking off with the classic Linolium, the fast-paced drumming and sharply-focused musicianship make this album a real joy from start to end. The lyrical content is quite varied as well, with Fat Mike singing about political and socially-aware issues in songs such as Don't Call Me White, Perfect Government and Lori Meyers. There's also, as in any NOFX album, space for more comical and less serious songs lyric-wise, such as Oi-oi anthem The Brews, Punk Guy and My Heart Is Yearning. After a few listens you'll have pretty much every song in your head all day long.
Now go and buy it you loser!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marvels That They Are!, 1 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Punk In Drublic (Audio CD)
Yet another cool album from NOFX with some brilliant songs and sweet melodic riffs. A sort of cross between Ribbed and So long... with some hints of Green Day on "Fleas". A definate must have if you like punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No guys, THIS is punk, 11 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Punk in Drublic (Audio CD)
Okay first of all, forget green day (repetative) forget offspring (don't get me started...) these guys ARE punk. they've been going since the 80's so they know what it's all about. Check out their site btw its very informative. It was overshadowed by dookie very much so but trust me once youve listened to this you'll be saying green day? who they? i did. They combine fast rhythmic palm muted bass lines udnerneath very very cool lead guitar's. This album is definatly they're best although some may argue in favour of War on Erroism but i prefer this one simply because its less like Blink 182.
Such songs such as "the brews" and "the cause" also spill out the emotion and messages they are trying to convay about life in america. some people may take it the wrong way but ill just say try and be mature enough to realise its a joke, a piss take. just listen for the music...imho anyway.
but i recommend this to anyone who vaguly likes or has heard of punk because this album will make you love it to the depths of your heart
cheers, punk on my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk In Drublic
Punk In Drublic by NOFX (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews