Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Offspring's Definitive Album
It seems like a good time to look back at one of the biggest selling punk albums in the nineties. In approximately nine days, it will be ten years since the release of Smash. So what better time than to write a review on it? :-)
Smash to The Offspring is what Definately Maybe is to Oasis, despite ten years of great music, Dexter and the rest of the group have never...
Published on 13 Jan. 2006 by Chris C

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not their best album
I like the Offspring, but this isn't their best album. While there are a handful of good tracks on here, there are equally a handful of average ones. The whole album is quite morose in tone as well. In my opinion, 'Ixnay on the Hombre' is the definitivee Offspring album, and it's a much better all round album than Smash.
Published 19 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each song = 5 stars, 21 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
With Green Day, The Offspring are the Grandfathers of Punk, spawning such punk bands as Blink 182, New Found Glory and Weezer and to some extent bands such as Linkin Park and Papa Roach. However these bands do not rate compared with The Offspring and this album surely shows us the dominating performance of The Offspring. The Best songs on the album are Bad Habit, Genocide and Smash...infact all the songs are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing to ever grace my ears, 8 July 2005
By 
Mr. B. W. Smith "craigdavid1" (ENGLAND!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
Oh my ears this is good. U like americana and conspiricy of 1? U ll either love it or hate it. The lyrics are hilarious and raw. The thing that gets me - the singings totally out of tune but that makes it better. It sounds like live band in your bedroom! Oh man i ve had this for a year - did nt like it at first cos i was an idiot. But now i appreciate proper music...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
v good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smash, 23 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
Smash is by far one of, even the best Offspring album ever. Dexter Hollands vocals work extremely well. Well done Offspring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter and friends finally break through to mainstream, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
I have heard all of Offspring's albums and, although I think this one is excellent, I don't think it is AS good as Conspiracy of One or the unrivalled Americana.
With that having been said, it is a fantastic album, worth a listen by anyone. The lyrics are catchy, the pace is fast and furious and...well...what more could you possibly want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars best but still baf, 13 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
well what can i say. its their best ablum but its still bad. bad mix, bad vocals bad tunes. oh well. listen to the Descendents, Pulley, NOFX or Bad Religion and throw in some Propagandhi if you want some good punk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious &overrated, 11 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
This has to be the most overrated punk record since "never mind the bollocks, here's the sex pistols". Well, I say punk, but this is the band who decided that epitaph weren't good enough for them, and moved off to colombia, who I suppose they thought would be more likely to get them on mtv. It's more like 2nd rate grunge anyway. The music is simplistic to say the least, and Dexter Holland's vocal style is nothing short of irritating, meaning that the entire album only stood up to about 2 listens ... and went off to listen to something like the Mr T Experience, an infinitely more talented and underappreciated punk band, who are actually capable of something approaching originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars offspring - smash, 16 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Smash (Audio CD)
this is easily the best CD offspring has done, it includes alltime greats such as 'self esteem' and 'come out and play'. Obviously the band themselves think so as the played loads off this CD at their Glasgow gig september 2005!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smash
Smash by The Offspring (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews