Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than other reviewers would have you believe...
This album is AMAZING. If you're a fan of The Offspring in anyway at all, then this should appeal to you. It's slightly 'poppy' but without going over the top and it's slightly 'punk' but doesn't go too heavy and does the hard task of appealling to fans of earlier punk albums like Ignition while appealling to fans of their pop side like Americana at the same time. This...
Published on 28 Aug 2004 by joe_sk8er_pro

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now here is some good skater punk rock from the 90's
Their main market may be the youth of today but they still cancome up with the goods. When you listen to these boys you just know they have all the Dead Kennedys albums along with The Clash, Black Flag and of course the Sex Pistols. With this album the follow-up Smash which was a multi-platinum. The stand out song here are 'The Meaning Of Life' which is not a bad start to...
Published on 5 Oct 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than other reviewers would have you believe..., 28 Aug 2004
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
This album is AMAZING. If you're a fan of The Offspring in anyway at all, then this should appeal to you. It's slightly 'poppy' but without going over the top and it's slightly 'punk' but doesn't go too heavy and does the hard task of appealling to fans of earlier punk albums like Ignition while appealling to fans of their pop side like Americana at the same time. This means that with Ixnay On The Hombre, you get a sound that is energetic and catchy throughout, yet is varied with fast and slow ska, rock and punk with no two songs sounding the same.
Why other reviewers have dissed Ixnay I don't know. Ok, 'Don't Pick It Up' isn't that funny but its incredibly catchy and is funnier than the annoying 'Disclaimer' which just wastes time and space. Yes, 'Me And My Old Lady' is pretty boring but so is 'Intermission' which is another track designed to fill up space.
I haven't heard Smash (yet) so I can't compare but if Smash is better, then it must be the best album the world has ever known because Ixnay is one hell of an album to beat for any band. Overall, I love this album. All the tracks with actual Offspring music are amazingly catchy in their own way and I can listen to this album all the way through, but songs that I especially wait for and can't get out of my head all day are:
"Cool To Hate"
"Gone Away"
"I Choose"
"Way Down The Line"
"Don't Pick It Up"
"Amazed"
The only bad things about this album are the Disclaimer and Intermission which are very annoying but luckily they are fairly short. Apart from that, Ixnay On The Hombre is a near perfect album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best offspring album!!!!!!!!!, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
This album is just so classic. From the first song (excluding the disclaimer which doesnt really count) 'the meaning of life' to the amazing last song 'change the world' this album is just pure class. If you have all the offspring albums think of this one as 'ignition meets americana' which sounds strange I know but this album is somewhere between those two because it is neither punk rock [ignition] nor pop [americana]. One of the things I like most about this album is the fact that not all of the songs are in the same style and yet all the songs are great. This is the offsprings best album with two of the offsprings best songs: 'gone away' and 'amazed' which are both amazing. Just buy this album you will never regret it.
P.S: This is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than americana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, 23 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
A BRILLIANT album. Not the Offspring's best but a BRILLIANT album. Not quite as good as Smash, but MUCH better than Americana. If you liked Americana, buy this album. It has none of the pop and is full of True Offspring! You will LOVE it! The opening song, "The Meaning of Life" is one of the best on the album and is, in my opinion, pure Offspring! "All I Want" is possibly the best song on the album. The whole album is great, and unlike alot of punk-rock bands each song is completely different. The best songs on the album include "The Meaning of Life", "Change the World", "All I Want", and "Amazed". This album rocks, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillience on a stick, 7 July 2006
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
Following up the success of Smash is a tough feat. and yes this album did not sell as much as Smash so perhaps it failed. However that is not the case. Ixnay is a masterclass in how to make an excellent album.

From start to finish you get a feeling that alot of thought has been put into this album. From the proper opening track Meaning of Life to the very end of Change the world, The Offspring take you for an amazing ride of pure listening bliss. The album has so many memorable tracks that basically you will be singing atleast one of them once during the day. The melodies and rythem truely make this an amazing album that is well worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Good, 13 Jun 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
The offspring's third album after 'ignition' and the (no pun intended) smash-hit 'Smash'. This time produced by the producer of Jane's addiction, tracks often seem to have some jane's addiction influence, but when you listen to the entire album it is still undeniably offspring style. Having bought this album after i bought the 'greatest hits' collection, I found that several tracks were unbelievably catchy and some songs had more mature themes; 'Gone Away' in particular.

This is my rating of the songs

01 Disclaimer 9/10 possibly the best intro to a punk album ever. Very funny.

02 The Meaning of Life 8/10 Good song, good riffs.

03 Mota 9/10 I love this song, the opening riff and 'MOTA' is awesum.

04 Me & My Old Lady 6/10 So much more could have been done with the opening bassline. Boring.

05 Cool To Hate 4/10 HATE HATE HATE HATE...it gets boring very soon.

06 Leave it Behind 8.5/10 Average Offspring song

07 Gone Away 10/10 AMAZING. BEST SONG ON THE ALBUM. Very heartfelt.

08 I choose 8/10 Very weird, cool drumming

09 Intermission or Tea for Two 4.5/10 VERY weird but funny

10 All I Want 7/10 good song, pity it's so overplayed

11 Way Down The Line 8/10 Song about how some kids dont want to be like their parents.

12 Don't Pick It Up 5/10 Party song with party drumming

13 Amazed 8/10 Good lyrics, but very typical offspring chords and riffs

14 Change the World 9/10 Good End to a great album

The offspring are a bunch of extremely good punk/skate punk rockers, though more variety would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shpeshial, 1 April 2006
how do you even attempt to follow up a phenominum like 'smash'? with difficulty i can only imagine but that said it doesnt seem to have bothered the offspring in the slightest as they came back even stronger with a very flashy and shiny production on not only some very good songs put probably some of the best that they have ever written. the only shame about this album is the present knowledge that 'americana' to come afterwards. but dont let that put you off the bands columbia recorded output as its not all as bad as that album. thankfully this album picks up perfectly where 'smash' left off the songs come thick and fast in varying levels of humour and speed and the standard rarely slips below brilliant the only time that i can think off is the slightly dull 'way down the line' but that could be because it comes straight after the furious 'all i want'. in short very very very good.... but get 'smash' first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is brillient!, 17 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
This album is full of really catchy lyric's though i admit the style is of acquired taste that you either love it or you hate it. I'll give you some advice: Don't buy this album thinking that it's in the style of 'pretty fly for a white guy' or poppy songs like that which get to #2 in the charts. This is what me and lots of other offspring fans think, This is 'proper' music and you can get all your stress out of your system by singing along to the songs. 'smash' is the last song but as they say, save the best till last! and they certainly did that! for offspring lovers (like myself + i'm sorry that this comment may be a tinsy winsy bit biased) you'll love it and for not offspring lovers give it a go! and for backstreet boy fans + britney lovers, change your taste b4 getting your teeth into this album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this simply kicks ass!!!!, 10 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ixnay on the Hombre (Audio CD)
this is by far the best offspring album available.Pretty fly and session might be great but 'it's cool to hate'and 'gone away' beat the hell out of them.If you haven't got it then stop reading and start buying!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Fourth Album., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
After the success of previous album, 1994's Smash, The Offspring had to come back strong with the next album and on Ixnay on the Hombre in 1997 they did just that by keeping with a similar formula but at the same time taking a slightly darker route. The majority of songs here are fast paced punk rock numbers and there isn't a Self Esteem or even a Come Out and Play but the likes of Mota, Me & My Old Lady, Gone Away and All I Want prove The Offspring know a tune when they write one and also aren't afraid to chuck in a bit of melody here and there.
Their latest material may get a lukewarm response but the bands 90's material is what has kept their legacy alive today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock On, 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ixnay On The Hombre (Audio CD)
In a word. Awesome. This was the last Offspring album I bought. It's certainly my favourite and in my opinion, their best work. On first look it seems rather odd, and perhaps a little darker than most of the Offspring's records, but I can tell you, it's brilliant.
"Disclaimer" The opening track is a bit odd, but rather amusing. The backing sounds comical, and reminds me very much of a circus.
"The Meaning of Life": A great song with a truly punk riff. You'll love it.
"Mota": Has a great intro, and the strange voice in which "Mota" is uttered always brings a smile to my face. Again, a fantastic riff, and a cool song.
"Me and My Old Lady": A strange song, but with a truly awesome introduction riff. Great stuff, again, you'll love this.
"Cool to Hate": Ahh, we've all been there. A great reflection on being in high school etc. An okay sounding riff, and a good song to listen to now and again.
"Leave it Behind": A rather disappointing track. The guitars in this song are quite well written, but the way Dexter sings this track annoys me. But I think it's a rather weak track anyway.
"Gone Away": My favourite song on the album, no, my favourite song ever! A simple, but melodic riff, and some hard hitting lyrics. A song about missing someone who's died, very moving. Truly a great song.
"I Choose": Another fantastic track. With a riff that will definetely want to make you dance, Offspring talk about growing up etc. With some amusing lyrics, this is a great song.
"Intermission": A track that will probably make you say: "What the hell?" but, it will probably make you laugh as well.
"All I Want": A rather loud song to come burdting out after the rather quiet "Intermission". An ok song, but rather overplayed and a slightly weak song for the album.
"Way Down the Line": At first seems rather odd, but when the riff comes in, you can see Offspring's signature stamped all over this track. Nicely sung by Dexter, and a great punk riff.
"Don't Pick it Up": I think this track is just a joke song. A daft guitar intro, an odd way of singing, and some truly bizzare lyrics this makes for a song that will indeed make you laugh, if you have a rather immature sense of humour that is.
"Amazed": A truly great song. Quite qiet compared to the rest of the album, and some well thought out lyrics. Well done Dexter!
"Change the World": An interesting drumbeat introduces this song, and is followed by a nice melody on the guitar. When the full song crashes in, you well no doubt agree, a great finish to an brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ixnay On The Hombre
Ixnay On The Hombre by The Offspring (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews