Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
34
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2005
Don't get me wrong, I love American Idiot and everything that goes with it-but this album is classic. From 'At The Library' you know its going to be great. 'Disappearing Boy' is fantastic, 'I was there', 'Don't leave me', 'Paper lanterns' and 'Going to Pasalacqua' are among the many highlights.
There is not a bad track on this album, and very few that fall below the excellent standard. Their cover of Operation Ivy's
'Knowledge' is now legendary thanks to live shows, and it's nice to listen to it on CD. Everyone knows '1000 hours', and 'Green Day'-provides an ice insight into the bands name. ;), I also love 'Dry Ice', with 'Rest' being the lowest pount of this CD, and you still want to listen to it again.
BUY THIS CD
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2002
This was Green Day's first album, and, arguably, the best. It is certainly the rawest, recorded when Green Day were still on an indie label, and the guys were still in their teens. That's what makes this album so special.
It is an album that is very relateable, with songs like At The Library describing Billie seeing a girl, wanting her, then she walks away with her boyfriend, or Only Of You, where Billie wants to pour his heart out to a girl but can't. In fact, most of the songs on here aren't true punk, they're mainly about love, except ones like Road to Acceptance, which is about people following trends etc.
The guitar in this album is pretty special, unlike modern Green Day songs every other song features a fantastic solo of Led Zeppelin standard, stick-out ones include The Judges Daughter and Only Of You. One of the bad points about modern Green Day stuff is the lack of solo's, the only noteable one of their current stuff being Maria.
For an album that was created by a bunch of 3 people still not out of their teens, this is a remarkable achievment, and has a special element that no other Green Day album has. My personal favourites are At The Library, Why Do You Want Him, Only Of You and Going To Pasalaqua.
This album is not for casual Green Day fans who wouldn't know the words to 2000 Light Years away, this is for more serious fans. It is a great album, and certainly worthy of your money. At 60 minutes, it is also a pretty long album.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
Recorded on a low budget, this is a record that all Green Day fans should own. In my opinion, it is the greatest album of the lot. The tracks just sound great and are more punky and less poppy than the latest installments. It is also interesting to see how the band has progressed since the early days. I thought to start off with that the low budget recording was sketchy, but after a while, it started to sound cool, surprisingly. I found this album in a tiny record store in Italy and I had never heard of it before.
You should get this album if you like Green Day, like punk-rock, or are interested in a band's proggress.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2005
The reason I say this is because 39/smooth was recorded when Billie Joe and Mike would have been about 17. Can 17 yr olds make music this good?
Evidently yes! It may be a world apart from the politically charged 'American Idiot' LP, but this album is no less worthy, packed full of infectiously catchy, raw pop-rock songs about teenage infatuation ('Going to Pasalacqua') and first love ('The One I Want').
For example in 'At the Library', Billie Joe sums up the teen struggle: the mind's indecision- 'should I/shouldn't I ask her out?' After spending the song lusting after this girl he sees at the library, he finds that she was taken after all! It is this twist that is testament to his ability to comment on real-life in a non-self-indulgent way, and with an injection of humour.
Musically, there are shades of early punk-rock and 60s luminaries the Beatles and the Kinks; notably the intro to 'Paper Lanterns' echoes 'All Day And All Of The Night' and 'Don't leave me' has the swagger of 'You Really Got Me'. All songs display the strong, trademark vocals of Billie Joe. The bass-lines are tight and there is some neat guitar work, such as the fantastic solos on ' The Judges Daughter' and 'Only Of You'.
Highlights include 'Knowledge', a jaunty cover of the Operation Ivy song and 'Rest', which is serene, melodic and layered with beautifully tender vocals.
This is a MUST for the Green Day fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2004
This is a truly awesome album from the east bay punk rockers! 1039 smoothed out slappy hours may not be as hard hitting as the likes of dookie and insomniac but it is still green day all the way full of the usual rhythmic punk rock and energy but guitar solos which are not seen again on any of the later albums. Although this album great it just got better it is no longer let down by the quality of the recording as it has been digitally enhanced to give a clearer sound. It is also packed full of special features like a 20 minutes of live footage, a 12 page booklet, photos and art work gallery. This album cannot be missed it’s a must buy even if you have the original because this is so much more!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2000
I first bought this C.D some years ago to update my ever growing green day collection. This is a sort of compilation C.D containing songs from two Green day E.p's ( 39/smooth & slappy- both early lookout releases) plus a few extras. If you have heard and liked any of green day's major label recents such as Dookie Insomniac or Nimrod then you should definately check this out!!!!!!!
Even though Green Day were practically unknown at the time of the release of this classic it is plain and obvious to the listener why they have now grown to become the greatest band of all time ( No Biast opinions ofcourse!!!)
BUY IT NOW
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
As someone who came to Green Day off the back of the release and veracious airplay of Dookie and the subsequent chart-eating albums that followed, it took a while to explore their previous 2 offerings. Out of the 2 1039... is probably the best, although there is not much between them as their styles are almost identical. They honed their sound on Dookie, as well as upping their songwriting effort. But their first LP and 2 eps that feature here are of actually rather good quality.

The sound is far more rock orientated as opposed to pop-punk and a lot of the tracks do not have great effect but they are well crafted and some of them are very catchy indeed.

Highlights include 'Don't Leave Me', 'I Was There', 'Green Day', 'Why do you want Him', 'Dry Ice' and 'The One that I Want'. The rest range from ok to pretty average.

Kernels of what the band were to come exist in this mix and their obvious creativity and technical ability stands out, but what they did become (before the so-so American Idiot) was as close to a typical sound for the band as they'll probably ever achieve. Humble, yet sound, beginnings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Having been turned on to Green Day by American Idiot and 21st century I've been gradually buying their past catalogue. Although not as critically acclaimed as later albums you can see how their sound developed and the songs are still catchy, singalong and altogether lovely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
It must be true when people say that a bands first album is their best because this is certainly true for Green day. Every track on this C.D is brilliant and will be in your C.D player for a long time. Songs like "At the library," "409 in your coffemaker" and the operation ivy copy "Knowledge" This album's songs will keep you singing along for a long time! Go buy it you wont be dissapointed!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
Being an old timer I bought the original vinyl version in 1990. Then began the long love affair I've had with Green Day. In my eyes they've only once bettered this album and that was with the release of American Idiot which in years to come will be seen as one of the best collection of songs ever.
Back to 39 Smooth - basic songs, wonderful guitar sound and the fresh vocal sounds of Billie Joe. Highlights for me would be 'Judge's Daughter', 'At The Library' and 'Going To Pasalcqua'.
From 250 sweaty bodies in TJs nightclub in 1991 to 60,000 in Milton Keynes this year, Green Day never fail to deliver the goods!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)