Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2001
Enya's celtic soul shines through brilliantly in this album, a wonderfully soothing collection of tracks ranging in their approach from fairytale to epic. Some of these tracks actually make me cry. This album stirs up deep emotions and brings you in touch with them, in a way that only music can. It brings comfort and tenderness when you need it most. I listen to this CD whenever i feel sad.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
This was Enya's first solo album originally released in 1987 under BBC records and then repackaged and re-released in 1992, which included a revised version of Portrait.
This is primarily a sound track album, and contains mainly instrumentals, and although it only has one song in English "I Want tomorrow" what a song it is! it even contains an electric guitar! sounds strange for Enya, but works brilliantly!
There are some true gems to be found on this CD especially tracks like The Celts, The Sun In The Stream, Portrait(Out Of The Blue), and To Go Beyond.
Well worth adding to your collection! :o)
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2000
As far as I am concerned, The Celts is the most soulful of enya's music. It was origianlly released as enya's first alum 'Enya' in 1986. But after the success of 'shepherd Moons' re-released as the Celts in 1992. It is less influenced by the lyrics of Roma Ryan and far more musically gifted and true. It doesn't have a particular theme, most of the songs coming from the BBC production also titled 'The Celts' and various film soundtracks. It uses synthesizer and electronic music (as all music did in the mid 80s) much more than her sequential releases and there is less singing (though Nicky Ryan's influence of layering enya's voice is there)and more of an emphasis on music. It is I think the closest album to Enya as a person (rather than a trinity of Enya, Roma nad Nicky)and also very fun and musically, the tracks tend to vary in style and content to her later releases and therefore there is something for everyone. Musically I think it is one of her best albums.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
Enya (born 17th of May, 1961) is part of an Irish (Gaelic) speaking, and very musical, family from Gweedore, County Donegal, in Ireland. Her grandparents were in a band that played throughout Ireland, her father was the lead singer of the Slieve Foy Band before opening his own tavern, and her mother played in a dance band and later was a music teacher. From a young age, Enya sang onstage at her local theatre and she sang with her siblings in her mother's church choir. She moved away to attend college, wanting to become a classical pianist, studying music and also painting.

Enya worked with Clannad (the band composed of three of her siblings and her twin uncles), in 1980, playing keyboard and providing backing vocals on their album "Crann Úll", she toured and performed with them for two years, and became an official member of the band with the release of "Fuaim" in 1981. In 1982, Clannad's producer and manager, Nicky Ryan, left the group. Enya found herself yearning to compose music that was more in sync with her classical training. Nicky believed that Enya had the potential for a solo career, and him and Enya decided to work together, along with his wife, Roma (who was the lyricist for Clannad while Nicky was their producer and manager), to start Enya's solo career.

The trio went on to compose the soundtrack for the film "The Frog Prince" in 1984. In 1986, they were commissioned to write and compose music for "The Celts", which is a documentary that examines the origins, growth and influence of Celtic culture in Great Britain and Europe. Recording began when Enya was just 24 years old...

It's hard to mention any of the songs in a review, because they're just so hard to describe in words. "The Celts" differs from her other albums in the sense that the songs are not traditional verse-chorus songs (except for "I Want Tomorrow"). Instead of straight-forward lyrical stories to listen to, the listener is thrown into a rich atmosphere of sounds; mainly consisting of piano, electronic keyboards, and, of course, Enya's lush, multi-layered vocals. Tracks like "Fairytale" and "Triad" (in its last piece) sound like a few hundred people singing when, in fact, it is all Enya's vocals.

Many people who are big fans of Enya's music seem to have many, or all, of her other albums and seem not be overly interested in buying this one. Perhaps it's because this is a soundtrack and some don't consider it to an "official" Enya album. It might be because this album is very badly represented in subsequent "best of" collections. The only tracks from this album included in "Paint The Sky With Stars" are "The Celts" and "Boadicea". While these are amazing tracks, they don't even come close to the beauty of "Aldebaran", "March of the Celts", "Fairytale", or "Triad". I know that "Aldebaran" was later included in the standard edition of "The Very Best of Enya", released in 2009, and I'm happy about that. Maybe they know that this album is before Enya achieved any notable success (which happened in 1988 with "Orinoco Flow"), which might lead to the assumption that this one is not as good as her later work. Or maybe it's just because, released in 1986, it is quite old now.

I've read a few reviews from people saying that they wish Enya would do something different. If you happen to be one of those people, and you haven't heard this album, I suggest you buy it. It is very different from all the others, but is still very recognisable as Enya. I don't see how anyone who loves any of her other albums would not love this one.

"The Celts" is definitely Enya's most experimental work; it often feels quite spontaneous, and it definitely has an "edge" to it that her other albums do not have. Some moments border on being strange. Other moments in the album are dark, and almost scary, but somehow very positive at the same time. It has been around for a long time now, but the kind of music Enya makes is timeless. It sounds just as fresh now as it would have sounded the day it was released. As a whole, the album is very atmospheric, absolutely breath-taking and is a must listen for anyone who enjoys Enya's music.

Definitely one of my all-time favourite albums...
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
I have listened to Enya for some years now, a talented musician with a beautiful voice. Her music is timeless and this album is another master piece. It's not really about chill it's about loosing yourself in the music and letting the worries and stress of the world slip away.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I will admit I am biased here, being an Enya fan, but I bought her cd's the wrong way round, starting with "A Day without Rain" and slowly got the rest over a period of time, getting "The Celts" last of all.
First impressions were that it was totally unlike any of Enya's other albums, with more of an instrumental lean that a vocal one, although the layered vocals are still there on some tracks.
This is a cd you can either seriously listen to or have on as background music and either option just floats you away with a gentle intensity. Although it is not my favourite Enya album I strongly recommend it to anyone, even those who have not yet bought any of Enya's music, and I can guarantee you will be hooked!
On a personal note, the outstanding tracks for me were:- The Celts, The Sun in the Stream, Fairytale, Portrait and both parts of To Go Beyond, although it puzzles me why this latter song was split into two parts.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
Excellent value and a much enjoyed CD.

It did not arrive as quickly do other Amazon orders

This CD came with three others.

We were surprised that none of the CD's were wrapped in cellophane - as would have been expected. Further the parcel was not secured properly - it was possible to reach in one end and take the CD's out - indeed we wondered if someone might have done that at the delivery office - to see what was in the parcel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
She is not the most successful female Irish music artist for nothing - I love her music as it evokes a clear emotion!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
If you like Enya, there is nothing to dislike about this album. From the title I was expecting a more powerful mix of music, but it is still a good album, reflecting Enya's roots with Clannad. I have not played it enough to notice if there is a track which stands out for me, but all are listenable. Good, but not as enchanting as Watermark or Fill the Sky with Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
This was the sound track to a TV series called The Celts. It was originally released on BBC Records and I played the record and then the tape to destruction. It's been sampled by rappers and was a wake up call for wimpy new age music. This album always tunes me into a spiritual zone and I think is a must have for anyone's record collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)