Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving songs which touch something deep inside.
Enya's celtic soul shines through brilliantly in this album, a wonderfully soothing collection of tracks ranging in their approach from fairytale to epic. Some of these tracks actually make me cry. This album stirs up deep emotions and brings you in touch with them, in a way that only music can. It brings comfort and tenderness when you need it most. I listen to this...
Published on 14 July 2001

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review of The Celts
As far as I am concerned, The Celts is the most soulful of enya's music. It was origianlly released as enya's first alum 'Enya' in 1986. But after the success of 'shepherd Moons' re-released as the Celts in 1992. It is less influenced by the lyrics of Roma Ryan and far more musically gifted and true. It doesn't have a particular theme, most of the songs coming from the...
Published on 8 Jun 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving songs which touch something deep inside., 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
Enya's celtic soul shines through brilliantly in this album, a wonderfully soothing collection of tracks ranging in their approach from fairytale to epic. Some of these tracks actually make me cry. This album stirs up deep emotions and brings you in touch with them, in a way that only music can. It brings comfort and tenderness when you need it most. I listen to this CD whenever i feel sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original chillout album!, 19 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
This was Enya's first solo album originally released in 1987 under BBC records and then repackaged and re-released in 1992, which included a revised version of Portrait.
This is primarily a sound track album, and contains mainly instrumentals, and although it only has one song in English "I Want tomorrow" what a song it is! it even contains an electric guitar! sounds strange for Enya, but works brilliantly!
There are some true gems to be found on this CD especially tracks like The Celts, The Sun In The Stream, Portrait(Out Of The Blue), and To Go Beyond.
Well worth adding to your collection! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review of The Celts, 8 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
As far as I am concerned, The Celts is the most soulful of enya's music. It was origianlly released as enya's first alum 'Enya' in 1986. But after the success of 'shepherd Moons' re-released as the Celts in 1992. It is less influenced by the lyrics of Roma Ryan and far more musically gifted and true. It doesn't have a particular theme, most of the songs coming from the BBC production also titled 'The Celts' and various film soundtracks. It uses synthesizer and electronic music (as all music did in the mid 80s) much more than her sequential releases and there is less singing (though Nicky Ryan's influence of layering enya's voice is there)and more of an emphasis on music. It is I think the closest album to Enya as a person (rather than a trinity of Enya, Roma nad Nicky)and also very fun and musically, the tracks tend to vary in style and content to her later releases and therefore there is something for everyone. Musically I think it is one of her best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Neil Edwards "QAM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
I have listened to Enya for some years now, a talented musician with a beautiful voice. Her music is timeless and this album is another master piece. It's not really about chill it's about loosing yourself in the music and letting the worries and stress of the world slip away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to chill out and relax, 15 Feb 2010
By 
John R. Mayor (North West Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
I will admit I am biased here, being an Enya fan, but I bought her cd's the wrong way round, starting with "A Day without Rain" and slowly got the rest over a period of time, getting "The Celts" last of all.
First impressions were that it was totally unlike any of Enya's other albums, with more of an instrumental lean that a vocal one, although the layered vocals are still there on some tracks.
This is a cd you can either seriously listen to or have on as background music and either option just floats you away with a gentle intensity. Although it is not my favourite Enya album I strongly recommend it to anyone, even those who have not yet bought any of Enya's music, and I can guarantee you will be hooked!
On a personal note, the outstanding tracks for me were:- The Celts, The Sun in the Stream, Fairytale, Portrait and both parts of To Go Beyond, although it puzzles me why this latter song was split into two parts.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing she has done?, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion this is Enya at her best; although many may beg to differ.
The rich textures of this soundtrack are wonderful. Perhaps less "vocal" but none the worse for this.
Stirring, emotive and inspiring; I found most of her commercial successes after this one slightly disappointing.
"The Celts" has always stood out for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started, 3 Nov 2010
By 
C. MCCLELLAND (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
Enya (born 17th of May, 1961) is part of an Irish (Gaelic) speaking, and very musical, family from Gweedore, County Donegal, in Ireland. Her grandparents were in a band that played throughout Ireland, her father was the lead singer of the Slieve Foy Band before opening his own tavern, and her mother played in a dance band and later was a music teacher. From a young age, Enya sang onstage at her local theatre and she sang with her siblings in her mother's church choir. She moved away to attend college, wanting to become a classical pianist, studying music and also painting.

Enya worked with Clannad (the band composed of three of her siblings and her twin uncles), in 1980, playing keyboard and providing backing vocals on their album "Crann Úll", she toured and performed with them for two years, and became an official member of the band with the release of "Fuaim" in 1981. In 1982, Clannad's producer and manager, Nicky Ryan, left the group. Enya found herself yearning to compose music that was more in sync with her classical training. Nicky believed that Enya had the potential for a solo career, and him and Enya decided to work together, along with his wife, Roma (who was the lyricist for Clannad while Nicky was their producer and manager), to start Enya's solo career.

The trio went on to compose the soundtrack for the film "The Frog Prince" in 1984. In 1986, they were commissioned to write and compose music for "The Celts", which is a documentary that examines the origins, growth and influence of Celtic culture in Great Britain and Europe. Recording began when Enya was just 24 years old...

It's hard to mention any of the songs in a review, because they're just so hard to describe in words. "The Celts" differs from her other albums in the sense that the songs are not traditional verse-chorus songs (except for "I Want Tomorrow"). Instead of straight-forward lyrical stories to listen to, the listener is thrown into a rich atmosphere of sounds; mainly consisting of piano, electronic keyboards, and, of course, Enya's lush, multi-layered vocals. Tracks like "Fairytale" and "Triad" (in its last piece) sound like a few hundred people singing when, in fact, it is all Enya's vocals.

Many people who are big fans of Enya's music seem to have many, or all, of her other albums and seem not be overly interested in buying this one. Perhaps it's because this is a soundtrack and some don't consider it to an "official" Enya album. It might be because this album is very badly represented in subsequent "best of" collections. The only tracks from this album included in "Paint The Sky With Stars" are "The Celts" and "Boadicea". While these are amazing tracks, they don't even come close to the beauty of "Aldebaran", "March of the Celts", "Fairytale", or "Triad". I know that "Aldebaran" was later included in the standard edition of "The Very Best of Enya", released in 2009, and I'm happy about that. Maybe they know that this album is before Enya achieved any notable success (which happened in 1988 with "Orinoco Flow"), which might lead to the assumption that this one is not as good as her later work. Or maybe it's just because, released in 1986, it is quite old now.

I've read a few reviews from people saying that they wish Enya would do something different. If you happen to be one of those people, and you haven't heard this album, I suggest you buy it. It is very different from all the others, but is still very recognisable as Enya. I don't see how anyone who loves any of her other albums would not love this one.

"The Celts" is definitely Enya's most experimental work; it often feels quite spontaneous, and it definitely has an "edge" to it that her other albums do not have. Some moments border on being strange. Other moments in the album are dark, and almost scary, but somehow very positive at the same time. It has been around for a long time now, but the kind of music Enya makes is timeless. It sounds just as fresh now as it would have sounded the day it was released. As a whole, the album is very atmospheric, absolutely breath-taking and is a must listen for anyone who enjoys Enya's music.

Definitely one of my all-time favourite albums...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
This is one of her earlier works, full of atmosphere and movement. Not so many sung in English but a great sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Celts - Enya Review, 4 Mar 2014
By 
M. B. Hollands (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
Enya has a magnificent voice tht blends with her music incredibly well. There are a few more instrumental type numbers on this but it is still a fabulaous listen and de-stresses when it washes over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celts (Audio CD)
There is nothing that Enya can do wrong. Shabby is not in her sphere of capabilities. Sinply beautiful toi listen to quietly or with rigour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Celts
The Celts by Enya (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews