Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A campanologists handbook second edition!
To the casual listener all these Tubular Bells releases must be a little confusing. Well let me clarify, Tubular Bells II is something of a sequel to the 1973 original, it's structure mirrors that of the original but is the sound of a genius in the art of variation on a theme.

Is it as good? Well that can only be a matter of taste but here's my dollars worth...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Edward Leedskalnin

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed
The world-wide success of Tubular Bells is nothing short of a musical phenomenon. When it was first released, Mike Oldfield was ploughing a lone furrow in his world of concept instrumental albums and Tubular Bells has to sit right up there as one of the all time classics. I was quite excited at the prospect of Tubular Bells II but can't help feeling a little bit...
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by Lucioperca


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A campanologists handbook second edition!, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
To the casual listener all these Tubular Bells releases must be a little confusing. Well let me clarify, Tubular Bells II is something of a sequel to the 1973 original, it's structure mirrors that of the original but is the sound of a genius in the art of variation on a theme.

Is it as good? Well that can only be a matter of taste but here's my dollars worth. Tubular Bells II is perhaps, melodically speaking, Oldfield's biggest triumph and considering this is a composer in the same ball park as Bach or Vivaldi that's really saying something. When this music grabs you you can't let go, it's totally addictive. The way in which melodies across the whole album relate to one another is masterful and hypnotic. As with all of Oldfield's best albums you will find new layers of instruments with almost every listen, even after twenty years!

My only issue with this album is it's production, at times I find the sound a little cheesy and synthetic, that's not to say it isn't jam packed with hand-played instruments because you name it and it's on here; banjos, mandolins, an array of guitars and all the rest. I can 't help feeling that Trevor Horn's influence placed the album firmly in the early 90's where as much of Oldfield's best stuff is timeless. However, it is possible to filter out the production values becuase the melodies are so strong and anyway, you may love the sound of those synths.

I recommend seeking out The Bell single CD2, as it's B-sides feature the original MC Vivian Stanshall and also Billy Connolly both of which are much better than the dry and frankly dull Alan Rickman!

My other recommendation for those who love the multi-layering, guitar wielding Oldfield of old is to listen to an album called Mohribold by Andrew Taylor (google it). Taylor has clearly soaked up all of Oldfield's classics and given us a contemporary instrumental classic. I found it on a site called bandcamp and have enthused about it to all who will listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIKE'S MASTERPIECE!!!, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
This is easily one of Oldfield's best albums and arguably his finest hour.I would rate this album ahead of my other two favourites 'Songs of Distant Earth' and 'Amorak' and definitely a huge step forward from TB1.Musically it's just pure magic with variation from relaxing tempo to just out and out rock.Definitely a vital addition to any Oldfield fan's music collection.The video of the live concert is also pure magic.Well done Mike!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OLDFIELD FOR OLD FOLK!, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed TUBULAR BELLS, which in the 70's was best appreciated through stereophonic headphones and a fog of something slightly illegal (or so I am told!), then you will find this album positively orgasmic. But maybe that is just a sign of old age, or the need to get out more! In an attempt to rekindle the flames of a misspent youth, I finally got round to exchanging my ancient vinyl collection for those newfangled Circular Disc things!, adding albums that I had missed out on during the wilderness years of family life. Now that the wee'ans have all but flown the nest, it was time to plunge myself back into the sounds of the heady days of the seventies. In this album Mike has brought TUBULAR BELLS bang up to date. With the added advantage of modern musical techniques and sound production, and presumably more money to spend, he has managed this with out losing any of the original breathtaking effect. In some eyes it may be sacrilege to say, but this album is an improvement on the original, if that is possible? The haunting melody of SENTINEL soon has the hairs on the back of the neck sticking up, and kick-starts the flickering memories of bygone days, into life. There are some nice little touches, and a few quirky parodies of TB1 thrown in for good measure. My favourite track has to be THE BELL, with its hypnotic rhythm, it has instruments from the original version, with some contemporary additions (vocal cords, digital sound processor!), and the dulcet tones of a well known British Thespian as Master of ceremonies, simply credited as 'A strolling player' plus, TUBULAR BELLS! TATTOO with the swirl of something Celtic is altogether different, and ALTERED STATE has to be heard to be believed, MAYA GOLD in parts is reminiscent of Jeff Wayne's WAR OF THE WORLDS! As for MOONSHINE, well, I will leave you make up your own mind! If you have not heard this album, then do so, soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow... Just wow., 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
I have had this album for at least 3 years now. And i havn't ever thought, "hmm, this is starting to grow old" or "i have heard this way too much". every time i hear it, i want to hear more. Its like a drug or something, except without the addiction. This album never grows tiring. mike oldfield has created a true masterpiece.
Mike has been criticised before for making his music boring. Taking one section too far, or something. Never once does this happen here. eveyrthing about it is perfect. Ok, i'm gonna stop wrting this review because i want to listen to this album again.
Buy it. or else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy edition to Tubular Bells - If slightly underrated., 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this album is underrated beyond belief. Everyone hypes about Tubular Bells being some sort of Godsend... But what about the sequel, Tubular Bells 2? It might not have the same "Let's see what we can come up with!" feel to Tubular Bells, but by no means is it a slouch.

Whereas Tubular Bells all merged seemlessly together, it had no real goal where it was going to go. Oldfield is one of the few musicians that can pull off from going from one mood swing to another, and this was reflected in his music. His sequel though feels more polished and has a goal where it wants to go, a certain... More accurate feel to it.

The first thing you notice is how much retread there is on his album. Same thing Jarre did with his sequel to Oxygene in 1997, he broke it down, remodelled it, reformed it to become... His sequel. He has sufficent re-tread to remind you that you are listening to Tubular Bells, but not enough to actually feel like a parody of it.

Breaking down the segments was a better feature. There might have been certain segments I wanted to listen to, but Oldfield, like it or not, had the entire piece... As one piece, where if you wanted to listen to a certain piece you had to frustratingly hold the fast forward on your CD player. Not really ideal.

The next thing you realise from Tubular Bells is gone away the long hair and slightly scary 'tashe he had during the recording sessions of Tubular Bells, in is a much cooler short hair. He did away with the delicacy of his his prequel, and introduced a harsher, more abrash sound to his sequel.

Although Tubular Bells Vol. 2 doesn't seem to get remastered much (I think there are less versions of this than Vol. 1, but I could be wrong) and in a way... I like that, no more producers trying to meddle with a near perfect recording. Don't bother, you just agitate fans!

All in all, a very good album. It has the ruthless edge to compete with Vol. 1, but it would be unfair to say one is better than another because they are both two great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More tubular delights, 4 Mar 2007
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
Anyone who finds the first Tubular Bells a masterpiece is sure to find this long-awaited sequel just as good. The recurring themes of TB 1 are all re-worked here with similar instrumentation and merged together into a continuous piece of music.

With TB2 however the themes are allowed to develop just that little bit longer making the whole thing more flowing and easier to listen to. Added to that is a much better production than TB1 as no doubt more time and money was spent on the project. This is not TB1 re-recorded like Tubular Bells 2003 was but is a whole new album using new material in a familiar and well-loved format. At this price you will be delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Tubular Bells 1.... but better!, 31 Jan 2001
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
I have heard this album criticized by the fact that it "sounds just like the first one". This is valid in that the format (certainly of the first side) follows that of TB1. The clever bit, that seems to have eluded a lot of people who don't listen to the real content, is that the composer has come up with superb new melodies in keeping with the spirit of the original,but if anything creating a more cohesive and unified work. For me,the first part (up to the "Bells" instrument intro) is a piece of startling inventiveness and astounding beauty. The rest of the album is no let-down,either,and Trevor Horn's production is pleasingly out-of-character with some of his more flamboyant work;being clean and restrained,while allowing the music the ambient expansiveness it deserves in places. All in all,I would say that TB 2 is,yes,even better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tubular Bells 2, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
A true Classic.I listen to it regularly, and watch the dvd of the live concert in Edinborough,with the Pipers,John Gordon Sinclair,etc, etc.
I will ALWAYS say that Mike and David Gilmour ( from Pink Floyd ) have been gifted with the same ammount of genius though in different musical ways.
We have been fortunate to listen to them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audiophile (My) Test Album: Go Figure., 27 Sep 2003
This review is from: Tubular Bells II (Audio CD)
NOISE BOYS: 100% COVERAGE TEST ALBUM.
Sorry for the block capitals, but this is currently my favouite test album, for someone who sets up discos, live sets, and who glorifies in his own surround system (Cambridge Audio DTT3500 - 79w RMS - I challenge you to tell it from a 350w RMS system).
This is a true Tour de Force album - there is everything from heavy power crash ('Dark Star', 'Altered State') to the easiest, most shut-eye easy listening ('The Great Plain', 'Maya Gold'), and everything in between.
The music is excellent - Oldfield doing what he does best: Repetetive motifs that you look for throughtout the entire album that spread and evolve into tracks you will listen to again and again.
The final track, 'Moonshine', will leave you wondering a little - "What's this all about?". In truth, it is a little misplaced from the rest of the album, and I think that he should have finished with 'Maya Gold' (penultimate track), but it provides an extra discipline of testing that isn't there in the rest of the album - just another reason to use it.
For the fan - Buy it. It's as good as Oldfield gets: Relaxation to the point of narcotic.
For the DJ, Audiophile and Noise Boy - Buy it. You'll never find a more extensive PA test CD - period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what can i say!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tubular Bells, 2 (Audio CD)
What can i say...
Only got cuz lost origanal cd..
But bought back memories..
Love thw Alan Rickman update on The Bell..
Easily my second fav after TB1..
Just a star knocked off cuz its not TB1..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tubular Bells, 2
Tubular Bells, 2 by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews