Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This album is a classic, a set of songs of amazing variety and great melodic depth. I love the sitars and tabla on Questions and the raucous rock of Heaven Sent. Communication is a catchy slice of pop-rock with a driving beat, Taste It sounds like one the Stones’ funky ballads with its jerky rollicking rhythm, whilst Not Enough Time is a soulful love song with beautiful vocals and gripping chorus.
All Around is a powerful up-tempo rock gem and the tuneful Baby Don’t Cry with its sixties flavour and uplifting harmonies is irresistible. One of the highlights of this great album is the poignant Beautiful Girl, where great lyrics, vocals and playing gel into a pop masterpiece. Back On Line, Strange Desire and Men and Women are great too.
There are no duds on Welcome To Wherever You Are. It is one of those rare albums where every track offers something special. Inxs’ s mastery of such a variety of styles is impressive. This is probably one of the very best, and most underappreciated, rock albums of the 1990s.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I was only 14 years old and owned many cassettes of mainly mid to late 80s albums that I used to listen to in my personal stereo during paper rounds before school, until I saved enough money to buy my first CD player.
With the little money left over from my big purchase I went shopping with it and bought this album, my brother already owned the album on cassette so I had heard it a few times already but he was always listening to it and taking it with him for his walk to school.

This was in my CD player for the rest of the year I think, spent so much time in my bedroom just lying on the bed listening to this or whilst doing my homework. Brings back memories and I havent even begun to talk about the bloody good songs from start to finish on this album!

I think most reviews have already stated that theres not a single dud track on this album, in my opinion its one of the greatest albums every made. I remember it got to number 1 in the UK charts, and was critically accliamed in all the big music magazines but somehow it still feels very underrated.

I could go on talking about each individual track for a very long time but I dont think i'd be adding too much more to what has already been said in earlier reviews.

Just wanted to come here and say to those people thinking about getting this album, stop thinking and get it already - you wont be disappointed!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
This is definitely their masterpiece. recorded at a moment when grunge was all over the radio and Inxs was seen as an 80's thing. Pity for them because they missed the most coherent, focused and harder album they ever made. The songs flow in your head one after one...and there is no rest for you. Every song is a polished (not overproduced) gem. The rockers: heaven sent, communication, all around, and moving songs like beautiful girl, baby dont cry and that gem called men and women. Everyone of them will leave a lasting impression on you. I listened to almost all their other cd's and this, along with kick, is the one that kept me asking for more songs!.
Yeah...is that good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I've just bought this album in 2014 after reading the INXS biography, Story to Story. Both highly recommended! This album is a great work from INXS - radically different from the following year's Full Moon Dirty Hearts and in my view massively better than the latter. It has all the INXS rhythm and swing which were their hallmark. Pick up a copy for a penny and you won't regret it!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
This 1992 album is quite simply a classic from start to finish and every bit the equal to the other 90's groundbreaking high points of Nevermind, OK Computer and What's The Story.

How this outstanding CD, released to universal critical acclaim across Europe, was missed by both radio and the public still to this day is dumbfounding. The band's decision not to tour the album at the time (as they wanted a break from years of being on the road) probably had a lot to do with it.

If you only know INXS for their more showy and poppy Kick and X era singles, this will come as both a surprise and a revelation - its sophisticated and deep, with beautifully textured soundscapes and sublime melodies. The production is outstanding and despite the incredible variations of style, the tracks glide together seamlessly, with a coherence which eluded all their other albums.

From the opening track, the quirky Persian influenced "Questions" to the last, the haunting, desperate classic, "Men and Women," virtually every song on this disc could have and should have been a hit.

"Baby Don't Cry" and the ballad "Beautiful Girl" are the best-known tunes on this masterpiece, but it's full of clever instrumentation (including the Australian Concert Orchestra)tremendous percussion and incredible background vocals.

Without any hesitation one of the all time top 100 albums to own.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2000
INXS head off into a wise change of direction following the sucess of Kick and X. The album begins soaked in Indian influences and ends with dark shards of guitars and orchestra. In between there's the snarling vocals of Heaven Sent, the chattering Communication, the beautiful Not Enough Time and Beautiful Girl and the Stonesy swagger of All Around. Add to that Taste It's rolling drums, moments of pschydelia and the album's best moment, the life-affirming Baby Don't Cry (with INXS's best ever chorus) and you get a fantastic mix of great pop moments, rock and roll, dance and songs that other bands should give their back teeth for...
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 May 2009
The follow up to `X' had to be different, and the band delivered wholesale with Welcome to wherever you are. In retrospect in a similar way to U2's Rattle and Hum the Live baby live album was the end of a chapter for the band, and again similar to U2's Achtung Baby on this album INXS rediscover themselves, and as a result produce one their most original works.

Unfortunately at the time of release (1994) under the shadow of a changed music scene in the UK (that already seen Grunge come and go) where Oasis's debut Definitely Maybe and Blur's `Parklife' were released and Britpop was gathering momentum, the public had by now turned its eyes elsewhere from a band that were now considered deeply un-cool and an 80's relic, and their best album was largely ignored. It was also this point that saw the beginning of the bands eventual decline and to the unfortunate episode that saw their lead singers untimely passing.

The energy that goes into the recording is relentless, and instead of glossy tight production being at the fore, guitars, loops, samples and drums are all given space to make themselves heard, Heaven Sent, Taste it, Not enough time, Beautiful girl and Baby don't cry were all strong singles. This really the sound of a band going for it musically, and for me the band never equalled this album.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
always loved this album, some fans dont listen to inxs after the x album but i disagree, this is inxs at their best, rock songs that entertain with the late great michael, cant help but thinking that they would have went back to the top if he was still around and they produced more albums like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
sublime lyrics, and rhythms that you certainly `feel'. This is an album which all fans of pop/rock and even the remotest fans of INXS fans will enjoy. The songs are very rich and you really do want to listen to them repeatedly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
The re-mastered version is so much better than the original cd , the sound is bigger and clearer to the ears . LOVE THIS CD .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)