Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mood music from Eire at it's best!
An excellent collection of Irish folk songs, both lively and soothing, showing the traditional roots of this family group. Despite most of the songs being sung in Gaelic, this in no way detracts from enjoying the sometimes haunting music. This music is excellent to relax and unwind to with a cool drink by candle light at the end of a hard day. While some of the song...
Published on 22 Mar 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a Whim
I bought 'Magical Ring' and 'Banba' and thought I would give the early works a try, however this album is not for me. I prefer the more refined version of "Coinleach Ghlas an Fhómhair" on 'Magical Ring'.
Published 24 months ago by alowe49


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mood music from Eire at it's best!, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
An excellent collection of Irish folk songs, both lively and soothing, showing the traditional roots of this family group. Despite most of the songs being sung in Gaelic, this in no way detracts from enjoying the sometimes haunting music. This music is excellent to relax and unwind to with a cool drink by candle light at the end of a hard day. While some of the song material may be a bit melancolic at times, the music is uplifting and a delight to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a Whim, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
I bought 'Magical Ring' and 'Banba' and thought I would give the early works a try, however this album is not for me. I prefer the more refined version of "Coinleach Ghlas an Fhómhair" on 'Magical Ring'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No new tracks, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
Whilst this is a great introduction to Clannad's early stuff, all the tracks are from Dúlamán and Clannad 2. Dont be fooled by the person who said it has new tracks, it doesn't; just a rehash of tracks from Clannad 2 and Dúlamán. If you get this, theres really no point getting Clannad 2 as 9 songs are included, Clannad 2 has 11 tracks so if you love those 9 tracks, you're bound to love the 2 songs not included.

Dulaman has 10 tracks, and 5 are included so you may want to hear it on spotify to see if you love the other tracks; but I believe you will.

It's not a great selection to be honest; the better compliations are

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Greatest-Hits-Clannad/dp/B00003OP2L/ref=sr_1_5?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1294328100&sr=1-5 - This mixes old and new and shows the progress from early-Clannad to new clannad

Rogha: Best of - A good selection if your starting out

If you want the celtic stuff, Celtic Connections is one fine example

But if you want new tracks, Past Present has World Of Difference and The Hunter which is a re-working of Herne

In A lifetime - The Best Of Clannad - On this album, you get Both sides now feat Paul Young, which was on themes, released as a single but with a compliation hard to find, unless you can get themes really cheap; what will I do from message in a bottle and Christmas angels which was released as a single

Themes, most songs on here was old albums but if you can get hold of the USA version as you get an inclusive instrumental

Clannad Celtic Themes, most were on old albums, but you get Saltwater (Thrillseekers Mix)

Just a break-down of tracks and where they come from

Dulaman - Dulaman
Eleanor Plunkett - Clannad 2
Two Sisters - Dulaman
Fairly Shot Of Her - Clannad 2
Siúil A Rún - Dulaman
Dheanainn Súgradh - Clannad 2
The Galtee Hunt - Dulaman
By Chance It Was - Clannad 2
Rince Philib A Cheoil - Clannad 2
Gaoth Barra na dTonn - Clannad 2
Cumha Eoghain Rua Ui Neill (Lament For Owen Roe) - Dulaman
An Gabhar Ban - Clannad 2
Chuaigh me na Rosann - Clannad 2
Coinleach Ghlas an Fhomair - Clannad 2

The music isnt bad, it's excellent but I dont think it's fair releasing an album where all the songs are Clannad 2 and Dúlamán but if they were releasing a best-off at least add a bit a variety, have Clannad 2 and Dúlamán songs but add the new clannad as well; and maybe a few live recording/new songs or even exclusive mixes so we feel we are getting a good bargain; but I feel dissapointed that I got this CD loving the album, but feel the label didn't put much variety in there, be it new tracks, exclusive mixes, new tracks; if this happened I would had given it a higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of Clannad, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
Why? sometime I just can't tell why I just love the voice the way it is all put together, the combination of the tone and the softness in which way they are singing, and last but not least I love hearing the Galic Language and the way it is by Clannad prenounced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some old materials, 21 Mar 2007
By 
Roald Andresen (Skien Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
Great music. I just thought it worthwhile for byuer to know that the are only 6 new songs on this album. The rest have be released on older albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always good, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
Clannad is always good and this one is no exception to the rule. Clannad provide a really good Celtic sound where every song is different to the last, creative and inspiring music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars god would buy this music, 17 May 2006
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
The songs on this cd are traditional but their beauty is timeless.The music and vocals would be superb taken on their own but woven together they make a vibrant tapestry of huge proportions and highlight the depth and sophistication of Irish culture.The opening song,Dulaman,means seaweed in english.

Never has seaweed been so easy to swallow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
many thank you for such speedy response, fantastic cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Diolaim (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Diolaim
An Diolaim by Clannad (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews