Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Duet
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.74+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2003
Occasionally you stumble over a gem of a recording, and when you do you can't beleive your luck. I have to be honest, Doris Day was someone I never rated very highly, until now. Any artist that can sing straight into the microphone with just piano, bass and drums for accompaniment, and pull it off has got to be very good and this is exactly what Doris Day does on this album. The accompaniment by Andre Previn is, of course, an enourmous reason why the album succeeds. They go together like port and stilton.
This album was recorded 42 years ago, yet it still remains fresh. That goes to prove the maxim that good music, no matter what style or genre, lasts and continues to appreciated by different generations. I wasn't even a twinkle in my parents eyes when this was recorded. In fact they hadn't even met!!
If you enjoy listening to songs sung with passion and feeling, then buy this album and you will not be disappointed.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
I bought this for a friend for Christmas, not having heard it before ... after I heard it I had to go out and get a copy for myself. Day's beautifully honey'd tone, Previn's exceptionally accomplished jazz accompaniment, the inspired choice of songs - all adds up to a wonderful whole. Turn the lights down, take the phone off the hook, pour yourself a drink and sit back and relax to this mellow, soulful CD. Definitely worth the price.
Although do check out the special edition with extra tracks - worth it for the last track alone.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
This album represents what could have been for Doris Day: on it, she sings and swings like the greatest jazz star on the planet. Forget the icky, maudlin show tunes and brassy kitsch (although "Control Yourself" comes close); this album is worth buying for the tracks "Close Your Eyes" and a heart-stopping rendition of "Nobody's Heart" alone. Doris recorded nothing else like "Duet" in her career, so discover this gem for yourself.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2001
The mood of this CD is set listening to the very first track "Close Your Eyes" - if you do - the performers could be in the room performing just for you. The whole CD is polished and Mr Previn's accompaniment and interpretation is superb, along with Miss Day's romantic vocals. Open the wine, switch on the music and curl up with the one you love for a romantic experience.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I HAVE OWNED THIS ALBUM ON VINYL AND CD FOR MANY YEARS. I HAVE LISTENED TO IT COUNTLESS TIMES AND NEVER TIRE OF IT. THE OTHER REVIEWS ARE OUTSTANDING IN DESCRIBING ITS MAGNIFICENCE, AND IF I ONLY POSSESSED ONE DORIS DAY ALBUM, IT WOULD HAVE TO BE THIS ONE (CLOSELY FOLLOWED BY 'THE LOVE ALBUM').IT IS JUST MISS DAY SINGING BEAUTIFULLY, INTIMATELY AND YES, SEXILY, ACCOMPANIED BY A PRE-CLASSICAL ANDRE PREVIN ON PIANO, AND ON A FEW TRACKS, AN UNOBTRUSIVE RHYTHM SECTION. MISS DAY CANNOT BE FAULTED HERE AS SHE INTERPRETS A DOZEN STANDARDS (INCLUDING A FEW PENNED BY PREVIN)IN THE MOST COMPELLING MANNER IMAGINABLE. YOU SIMPLY MELT INTO THE WHOLE AURA OF THE ALBUM - TRACKS LIKE 'MY ONE AND ONLY LOVE', 'REMIND ME', 'NOBODY'S HEART', WHAT IS THERE TO SAY', 'FOOLS RUSH IN' AND ''FALLING IN LOVE AGAIN' ARE SIMPLY SUPERB. IT IS IN ESSENCE, A FORERUNNER OF WHAT WE MIGHT NOW CALL 'ACOUSTIC' SESSIONS. ONLY THE BEST POPULAR SINGERS COULD RECORD SUCH AN ALBUM AS THE VOICE IS EXPOSED BEYOND ANY COMPUTER WIZARDRY AND 'REMASTERING', LAID BARE WITHOUT OVER PRODUCTION AND LAYERS OF BACKGROUND NOISE. I HAVE NO HESITATION IN NUMBERING IT AMONG THE GREATEST OF ALL POPULAR MUSIC ALBUMS. INCIDENTALLY, PREVIN ACCOMPANIED SEVERAL OTHER SINGERS IN SIMILAR PROJECTS AND THE CLOSEST EQUIVALENT IS PERHAPS THE ALBUM WITH DINAH SHORE, ALSO A WONDERFUL LISTEN. IF ONLY MISS DAY HAD MADE A FEW MORE LIKE THIS, WE WOULD BE PLACING HER AT THE VERY SUMMIT OF THE GREAT POPULAR SINGERS. AS IT IS, THIS WILL SUFFICE AS A REMINDER OF A GREAT ARTIST AT HER VERY BEST.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
this is the best. when I buy a Doris Day CD I like to hear Doris sing,not have big bands and backing groups trying to drown her out
this album has just Doris singing accompanied by Andre Previn and it is perfect.all I can say is thank you Doris and thank you
Andre this is a masterpiece
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
I've loved Close Your Eyes for years but had no idea it was from an entire album until I stumbled upon Duet recently. What a find! I agree that Control Yourself sticks out as a mismatch on the album, but the rest is so stupendously good, I can forgive one erroneous track. I enjoy a wide genre of music and am not a big fan of Doris Day's normal output (with the odd exception like Perhaps Perhaps Perhaps), but this is an absolute must purchase if you are a fan of jazz singers like Carol Kidd, Diana Krall and Diane Schuur. There's real passion in Doris Day's singing and her voice is simply breathtaking on this album. Andre Previn compliments Day perfectly with a performance that rates alongside the jazz pianist greats. The icing on the cake is the stunning recording quality of this cd, it truly comes to live on a good system.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
This is Doris Day's crowning achievement on record. Here we have a batch of quality songs performed in perfect rapport with Andre Previn and his trio. Recorded 46 years ago (1961), time has not diminished these flawless performances. A definitive album which every Doris Day admirer should have.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Delightful singing and playing. Once you have played this CD you just want to repeat the performance time and time again. Great empathy between Doris Day and Andre Previn results in a very intimate style which suits Doris Day's voice and presentation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 September 2012
This CD transfer dates from a 1961 recording. Although only Previn and DD are billed, it actually involves the Previn Trio with Red Mitchell on bass and Frank Capp on drums. There are 12 tracks - mostly `standards', like Bernice Petkere's `Close your eyes', Bloom and Mercer's `Fools rush in', Rodgers and Hart's `Wait till you see him', `My one and only love', `Falling in love again'. But there are some less often heard numbers too - `Nobody's heart' from the 1942 Broadway show By Jupiter, which proved to be Rodgers and Hart's last collaboration; Sigmund Romberg's `Who are we to say' that Nelson Eddy sang to Jeanette MacDonald in the movie `The Girl of the Golden West', lyrics by Gus Kahn; Alec Wilder's `Give me time'. There are also three tunes by Previn, lyrics by Dory Previn (née Langdon): `Yes', `Control yourself' and `Daydreaming'. This is a relaxed and enjoyable CD if a little short on playing time by today's standards.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.81
£19.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)