Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vince Clarke's Answer To Dare
Vince Clarke has had a prolific and successful career that many artists would envy but for me this album still remains as his best work to date. It contains all the Clark tradmarks of toe-tapping melodies that always leave a lasting mark on the listener but it is also his darkest work to date. Powerful vocals from the blues inspired Alison Moyet helped make Yazoo a class...
Published on 9 April 2002 by orac101

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what is descibed on the box
I bought this CD as a present for an old friend and the songs had sentimental value to us. Only just given it as just met up for new year rendezvous. The main song Don't Go is not on the CD.
The booklet with the CD and the case say it is song 1 but it is not on thecd.
Also the cover and the booklet do not tally as track 4 is not mentioned in the book.
The...
Published 8 months ago by Mrs s m marks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vince Clarke's Answer To Dare, 9 April 2002
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
Vince Clarke has had a prolific and successful career that many artists would envy but for me this album still remains as his best work to date. It contains all the Clark tradmarks of toe-tapping melodies that always leave a lasting mark on the listener but it is also his darkest work to date. Powerful vocals from the blues inspired Alison Moyet helped make Yazoo a class act. It was a clever mix of passionate vocals against the backdrop of Clarke's masterful synth rifts, that make this album such a must own classic. Like many of the acclaimed electro 80's albums, it benefits greatly from the warm sounds that were provided by the old classic analogue synths (Clarke now has the biggest collection of analogue synths in the UK). The depth and lyrical contents of the songs has also helped this album outlive the throwaway New Romantic tag, and it still sound crisp and emotional. For me, this collection represents the definitive Vince Clarke. The follow-up album was a bit patchy in places and Erasure often strayed into camp with the exception of The Innocents which was their finest album. But I still listen to Upstairs At Eric's with as much enthusiasm as I had when I first heard it. Such a shame that they disbanded so soon, but the second album could never match the brilliance of this debut. Everyone knows the tracks Don't Go, Situation and Only You, but the album tracks are every bit as good as those classic singles. Too Pieces and Midnight are wonderful examples of Clarke and Moyet at their collective, creative best. Soulful electro. Moyet's self-penned Winter Kills is one of the album's highlights, a haunting piano led ballad full of atmosphere and emotion. Upstairs At Eric's is one of my Top 10 CD's of all time alongside the Human League's Dare, Depeche Mode's Black Celebration and Propaganda's Secret Wish. Every lover of electronica should own a copy of Upstairs At Eric's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Vince Clark and Alison Moyet, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
This was one of my favourite albums in the early eighties. I played the cassette version continuously in my car (or so it seems in retrospect). It lay forgotten for a number of years until the Only Yazoo best of CD came out. I was inspired to dig out my almost worn out cassette of Upstairs at Erics. I was so impressed with how much I still enjoyed the album that I treated myself to the CD version. There are a couple of extra tracks on the CD version that were not on the original and not fillers wither. The single "The Other Side of Love" (which for some rason did not apprear on the Best Of album) and the excellent B side "Situation" which, at the time, was played as much as the A side.
Favourite tracks include the rocky "Goodbye Seventies", the excellent pop song "Bad Connection" (another absentee from the compilation), the Bluesy "Midnight" and the haunting "Winter Kills" (written exclusively by Moyet).
There are hints of Vince Clarke's future with erasure here. There is also plenty of experimentation, particularly "I before Eexcept after C" which uses snatches of TV commercial catchphrases of the time over experimental synthesiser
All in all a varied album which stand up today as it did in 1982 (despite the dated lyrics of Goodbye 70s). Well worth the purchase. Last but by no means least are the two classic singles "Only You" and the heavier "Don't Go"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning debut, 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
Brilliant. Leaving Depeche Mode, the band he founded, during their first flush of commercial success, Basildon's greatest son Vince Clarke was never one to let the grass grow under his feet. Responding to Alison's Melody Maker ad seeking "blues musicians", Vince's mischevious sense of humour and songwriting talent won over the Billericay diva. No wonder the media dubbed them 'the odd couple'. Somehow, despite being poles apart musically, they joined forces and created something really special.
They lasted just over eighteen months but they packed in more superb songs in that time than most bands do in ten years. Vince maintains even now that 'Only You' - the gorgeous debut single - is the finest song he's ever written and it's easy to see why. 'Don't Go' moved the tempo up several gears and from there on it's into a unique hybrid of electro precision and gutsy blues vocals. Standout tracks include 'Midnight', 'In My Room', 'Bad Connection' (rumoured at the time to be the third single, it remained on the album) and Alison's ballad 'Winter Kills'.
This album was a huge success. The summer of 1983 saw them split on the day its follow-up, You & Me Both, was released. That album is different again. My advice: buy both of them and compare and contrast. 'Upstair's...' is a golden moment still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and original line-up - at long last!, 14 Jun 2008
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs at Eric's (Audio CD)
Having listened several times to this remaster the sound is really good and it's great to have the original album tracklisting reissued for the first time on CD (no "Situation" replacing either "Tuesday" or the very abstract "I Before E"). The latter track may not show off Alison's vocals in any way (but it does involve a couple of the crew's mothers speaking some very strange dialogue in each channel) but it BELONGED on the album, however difficult it was when compared to the rest of the tracks.

The release itself therefore merits 5 stars, but it would have been 6 if they could've kept a couple of bonuses (like the 12" of "Don't Go" and maybe the US "Situation" as of the same period), rather than purely releasing these on the completists 4 disc box set. But the released format is the 'pure' one, so shouldn't really grumble. Love "Bring Your Love Down", "In My Room" and "Goodbye 70's" all over again - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No I Before E!, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Nic (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
A great album, but sadly the CD doesn't contain the weird loops and noises of the sound collage I Before E Except After C which was on the original vinyl and is mad and dark. Check it out if you can...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums from the early 80`s, 20 May 2008
This review is from: Upstairs at Eric's (Audio CD)
It is a must to listen to,see for yourself, DON`T BUY THE STUPID OVER PRICED CD`S £60 TO £165 (MENTAL), JUST WAIT FOR THE 2008 RE-ISSUE
DES ( HUNPHREY )VINCE CLARKE IS A GENIUS AND SO IS ALISON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye 70's, 9 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. N. Salter "Nick." (Sandhurst - Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
Being a child of the 1980's I often revisit bands of this era for a bit of nostalgia.

I still like the new-wave stuff and it seems artists like Calvin Harris are bringing the early "Roland" sounding synthesizer back for a new generation to groove on.

New wave, if you are unfamiliar with the term, was a style of music born around 1979 to mark the end of Punk Rock, Disco, as we knew it in the late 70's and cheesy pop records usually sung by men with moustaches and women in nice blouses.
Synthesizers were the new technology and the sound was born from that, (e.g. Gary Numan, The Human League and Soft Cell) to name a few. The excellent track "Goodbye 70's" is basically saying goodbye to all that stuff and hello to the new wave.

Anyway - the album Upstairs at Eric's is as good as it gets for pure 80's new wave. It works for me around "Don't Go" and "Situation." Two cracking tracks, not just from this album, but of the early 80's full stop! It was amazing how Situation wasn't even on this album in its 1st UK release on Cassette and LP (it was the b-side to Only You). In a nutshell, these tracks prove that Vince Clarke is a genius and Alison Moyet's voice is unmistakable.

Talking of Only You, their most well know hit, was unfortunately ruined by The Flying Pickets a year later. It had excellent credibility until then, but that's water under the bridge, it a another cracker.

If you like this type of music or were born between 1965 and 1975 and you don't have it in your collection, you must get it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it took me back, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs at Erics (Audio CD)
i found an old box of records in my attic and in it was upstairs with no record player anymore i had to buy it
pure nostalgia trip and a great album to boot so glad i got it on cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eighties Synthpop classic .Pure gold, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs at Eric's (Audio CD)
Had some of the tracks on 12 vinyl way back in the 80's .
This is a brilliant piece of Synthpop nostalgia featuring the master Vince Clark
at his very best ,along with Alison Moyet's Distinct and soulful vocal performance. Has the classic singles including ' Only you and ' Don't Go'
which sound everybit as good as they did way back ,and compare well with
more contemperary synth pop ballads and songs from the 21st Century ,whom
may have been influenced by the 80's sound. Other great tracks and high points also include the very haunting 'Too Pieces' with some great synth work from Vince. Also Goodbye 70's ,with an almost high energy feel to it ,style much used by VInce on his Erasure tracks, with Sequenced synth beats dominating. Alisons passionate vocals stand out especially on the ballad winter kills. All in all a must for all 80's and Synth pop fans . A great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful synth-pop, 12 Oct 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Upstairs At Eric's (Audio CD)
Soulful synth-pop
This classic album came out of the early 1980s synth-pop craze. OMD and Eurythmics were two other duo's another that produced superb music in the style, and Human League's wonderful album Dare dates from the same era. Moyet's soulful vocals blend perfectly with Clarke's simple but engaging synth melodies to create timeless pop classics like Don't Go, Situation and the sublime Only You (The Flying Pickets recorded a remarkable a capella version). This song is sheer poetry! Not all the tracks are of this high standard, but they're all interesting, including the sound collage thingie I Before E. This is certainly one of the masterpieces that brought synth-pop to the mainstream in the footsteps of artists like Kraftwerk, David Bowie, Suicide and Gary Numan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upstairs At Eric's
Upstairs At Eric's by Yazoo (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews