Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysteries Of Funk
Legendary/Genius/Outstanding/One of a Kind. Every time listen to this album i cant help but think how was this possible. Grooverider your a Mastermind!! Nuff respect! What music!!
Published on 27 Mar 2008 by H. Bahra

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mysteries of credibility
whatever the other reviewers of this album took before they reviewed it - i want some. the only track worth a mention on this album is "where's jack the ripper" which is quite good, but nowhere near as good as the origin unknown remix on the 12" which was absolutely awesome.
i am an absolutely obsessive dnb fan and have been for many years but this is the kind of...
Published on 12 Jun 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysteries Of Funk, 27 Mar 2008
By 
H. Bahra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysteries Of Funk (Audio CD)
Legendary/Genius/Outstanding/One of a Kind. Every time listen to this album i cant help but think how was this possible. Grooverider your a Mastermind!! Nuff respect! What music!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, progressive beats from the Rider......., 23 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Mysteries Of Funk (Audio CD)
Mysteries of Funk is the highly anticipated debut album from the legendary Grooverider. Released way back in 1998 it is a journey through dark, progressive beats and haunting melodies. To appreciate this style of drum & bass you have to truly understand the various shapes and forms the music can take. This isn't old school jungle (think Kenny Ken) or jump-up drum & bass (think Andy C) and it isn't the 'intelligent' sound that Goldie and Roni Size pioneered. This is Grooveriders' own special brand of dark progressive drum & bass that he does so well. The claim that 'Where's Jack The Ripper' is the best and only decent track is completely unfounded and untrue. Standout tracks are the funky 'Rainbows of Colour' and the amazingly deep and dark productions; 'Fly With Me' and 'Starbase 23'. At a push I would rate 'Starbase 23' as the best track. The eerie vocals, dark melodies and progressive beats make this an awesome track. It is true that many, many solo albums in the drum & bass world are dismally poor. There are some awful albums out there but this is not one of them. Those who TRULY appreciate the genre will appreciate this and those who don't, simply won't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up., 8 Sep 2001
By A Customer
at times very smooth,jazzy with a touch of trumpet and silky vocals, and at times dark and thumping that slap you around the face. Drum and bass that gets under your skin. A variety of styles of D&B, one of the best I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering, 23 Sep 2002
By 
Mr R Utting (Windermere, UK) - See all my reviews
I have followed drum and bass since before it was called that.
I have many hundreds of albums but this is one of the most superb pieces of music that I have ever heard.
Disk 2 of this set is pure art and will still reveal new levels after hundreds of listens.
Truly dark in places, yet light and jazzy and vocal in others, with true FLOW and structure, without ever being over-worked.
Truly amazing; buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mysteries of credibility, 12 Jun 2003
By A Customer
whatever the other reviewers of this album took before they reviewed it - i want some. the only track worth a mention on this album is "where's jack the ripper" which is quite good, but nowhere near as good as the origin unknown remix on the 12" which was absolutely awesome.
i am an absolutely obsessive dnb fan and have been for many years but this is the kind of self indulgent rubbish that gets many credible dnb artists (photek, ed rush & optical, klute) a bad name. sure the production is tight, but the tunes are terrible.
do yourself a favour - avoid this album and but ed rush & opticals "wormhole" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars immense, 11 Mar 2000
By A Customer
quite simply, the best drum & bass album i`ve ever heard! dark as anything you`ll hear, grooverider continues to be the rudest artist in jungle music today. absolute must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 5 Mar 2000
By A Customer
What many people seen to miss out is that the album is co-writen by Optical(aka Ed Rush and Optical-Wormhole)So if u like Wormhole then u'll like this mabee,Grooverider is 1 of THE original D&B DJ/artist and this album is Top ive had it 4 ages now and i still play it all the time.Optical is 1 of the best darkest producers around and all the tunes on this album r co-writen by him so i say GET IT ITS WORTH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mysteries Of Funk
Mysteries Of Funk by Grooverider (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews