Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feeling happier?
i often think every fila brazillia record is worth to buy, with regardless of the price! some people call them electronica duos, some say they go chillout, they are downtempo. whatever. in mess, once again they didn't bring you down. with the beautiful synth and the graceful melodies, this album is excellent for getting yourself relaxed and refresh...
Published on 21 Nov 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it all just a big mess?
Is this album just a mess? I don't think it is the cohesive, quality album it could have been.
The first track with its drum & bass style, slickly produced beats is good. But not outstanding. Track 2, I struggle to understand. It doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the album- this track is virtually impossible to place into a genre, all I can say is that it...
Published on 27 May 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feeling happier?, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
i often think every fila brazillia record is worth to buy, with regardless of the price! some people call them electronica duos, some say they go chillout, they are downtempo. whatever. in mess, once again they didn't bring you down. with the beautiful synth and the graceful melodies, this album is excellent for getting yourself relaxed and refresh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it all just a big mess?, 27 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
Is this album just a mess? I don't think it is the cohesive, quality album it could have been.
The first track with its drum & bass style, slickly produced beats is good. But not outstanding. Track 2, I struggle to understand. It doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the album- this track is virtually impossible to place into a genre, all I can say is that it is quirky.
From there on, the album continues into slick, downtempo, beats. "Half Man Half Granary Thorax" I like very much- very chilled out and mellow. This flow continues through the album. But I believe there are some weak tracks being "Wavy Gravy" and "On Yer Haunches". These tend to spoil the feel of the album- they just don't seem to fit in well.
Overall, a relatively classy act. But, compared to other artists in my collection it doesn't stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far from bland!!, 13 Dec 2007
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
I'm truly flabbergasted that this stone-cold heavyweight champ of an album has been called 'bland'. 'Mess' rolls like nobody's business!!! The previous reviewer was probably stuck in that whole 'Chillout' bubble that Fila Brazillia have somehow become tagged with. The mistake (i think) the previous reviewer has made, is to try and reference Fila with a slew of other Chillout producers . They are so much more than Chillout and almost impossible Pidgeon hole.
How do you transform a largely acoustic Guitar track (i cant remember the title, but i think it's track 1) into an old school style Drum'n'Bass killer at the end of the album?? I don't know many, if any, producers who'd be able to pull off such a feat with such deft aplomb.
Also, in between the first and last tracks there's more than enough variety of genre, style, and tempo to keep anybody with a truly eclectic taste in music happy.
So far from bland. Buy it and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 50/50 job, 17 May 2006
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
This album is certainly a mixed bag. There r classic down tempo Fila tracks here that will slide nicely into the background and the idea of starting with a drum and bass track and ending with the same track in downtempo mode is nice.

If u listen carefully u will probably skip a few & like someone said about a good album waiting to get out, maybe some of the weaker tracks could have been axed.

However, brace yourself for Howard Dan Ryan. This is a great track and I can't think of any other track by another artist that really sounds like it, tis brilliant. In fact it is now one of my favourite tracks, I love the driving beat and sounds that somehow fit together even tho they shouldn't. It'll make you want to jump around and do weird head movements to the beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute joy from beginning to end, 20 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
i first heard fila brazillia doing remix duties for an old track by the band 'fluke' and then came across this album in the summer of '97 and I've been a big fan ever since
From the very start, the jazzy drum & bass workout that is 'last of the red hot brethren' you know this is music for hazy summer evenings and clued-up clubs.
After that the listener is treated to dancefloor funk 'Big Saddle', a bit of house 'Space Hearse' blissed out ambience 'Soft Music Under Stars', cinematic atmospherics 'Blood' and a lot more besides in its 70 odd minutes
Personally, my favourite tracks (together with the above) are the joyous (but bizzarely titled) 'Half Man Half Granary Thorax' and the mellow acoustics of 'But Momma'
Strange songtitles aside, this is intelligent instrumental music, so stick those headphones on and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilled but bland, 1 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mess (Audio CD)
It's nice background music but lacks any really distinctive tunes and if you are looking for a chilled out album you would be better to look at some of their other albums or the Nightmares on Wax, Thievery Corporation, Herbaliser, Nick Warrens 'Back to Mine', Craig Armstrongs 'The Space Between Us' or the K&D sessions. This just goes on nicely but with very little point and is clearly overshadowed by the likes of the aforementioned artists and the fact that they themselves have done much better albums than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mess
Mess by Fila Brazillia (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews