Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Am A Teacher....Of The Drum
From the moment 'Best Foot Forward' introduces Shadow (aka San Fransisco born Josh Davis) as "just your favourite DJ saviour", you know it's going to be a rollercoaster ride. From the chilled out bliss of 'What Does Your Soul Look Like?' to the frantic beats of 'Stem', this is the sound of modern music being re-invented. It's not just his exquisite choice of...
Published on 22 Jan 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not my thing
Published 15 days ago by bil


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe reissue of 1990s classic..., 14 Jun 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
'Endtroducing' was deemed an auto-classic upon its release in 1996, so is welcome in this new expanded deluxe-edition - where it now sounds as great as ever & comes with a bonus-disc of related works & rarities. Fans of 'Endtroducing' will no doubt buy this for the bonus-disc, including excerpts from a Steve Lamacq radio-show - perhaps there ought to be a similar deluxe reissue of 'Pre-Emptive Strike', as only much of the 'High Noon' single from 1997 isn't here?
'Endtroducing' didn't come from nowhere - Josh Davis built on the singles collected on 'Pre-Emptive Strike' & several releases compiled on 2000's 'Solesides Greatest Bumps' which included Latryx, Blackalicious, The Gift of Gab & Shadow himself on tracks like 'The Third Decade, Our Move' & 'Count & Estimate.' The cover of 'Endtroducing' encapsulates the album's approach- Shadow taking a myriad of sources-samples and fusing them with his own blend of electronica and hip-hop into something new. As a sampledelic work, it's up there with the greatest - Depeche Mode's 'Black Celebration', Public Enemy's 'It Takes a Nation of Millions...', De La Soul's 'Three Feet High & Rising' & 'My Life in the Bush of Ghosts' by Eno/Byrne. Shadow's samples were elclectic, including snatchs of tracks like 'Rainbow Chaser' by Nirvana (the British psychedelic act), Fleetwood Mac's 'Brown Eyes' & a mass of obscure cuts that are still of debate/note by those intrigued. The documentary 'Snatch' (2001) captures this ethos well...
Shadow wanted to take hip-hop foward, while looking back to its utopian roots from the early 80s (think Bambaata's sampling of Kraftwerk on 'Planet Rock' or the film 'Wild Style'), and against the dominant mode of gangsta-rap- which ultimately won, so you end up with obvious-samples by 50 Cent, Will Smith or whoever and a diluted version of the genre (hence the track 'Why Hip-Hop Sucks in '96').
'Endtroducing', loosely a concept-album concerned with 1999/the future, is packed with classics- 'The Number Song', the electronic-jazz of 'Changeling' (the 1990s equivalent of 'On the Corner'? & not unlike Tangerine Dream!), the classical-nodding 'Organ Donor' (even better in the 'overhaul'-version on Disc-2), the epic 'Stem/Long Stem' (up there with Orbital's 'The Box'), the euphoric 'Midnight in a Perfect World' & the the multi-part 'What Does Your Soul Look Like?' (the complete versions of which are found on 'Pre-Emptive Strike').
The dance-genre (a loose, general tag I know) is not renound for producing classic-albums - due to fashion and the fact it's often based around singles, the dance-music longplayer classic is often seen as elusive. But 'Endtroducing' is counter to that view, which I don't completely buy, and a release to rank alongside such classics as 'Blue Lines', 'Maxinquaye','Surfing on Sine Waves','Every Man & Woman is a Star','Snivilisation','Dubnobasswithmyheadman' & 'Supermodified.' 'Endtroducing' has certain preceded and influenced many acts too - Unkle, South, Rjd2, Clouddead, Cannibal Ox, The Charlatans, Radiohead, The Verve, Amon Tobin etc. It's also one of the key albums of the 1990s, a highlight alongside 'Dust','O.K. Computer','Wrecking Ball','Loveless','Laughing Stock','Zaireeka','Liquid Swords' etc. In short, a deluxe-version of an album that no one should be without...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Masterpiece, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
Buy it... love it... and then come back and tell me that I was right. Because I am.
Not because I'm an upmyownbacksidemusoafficionado, nor because I'm here to make people part with their hard earned money on dud purchases.
But because this is a classic. A sign of the times. And it puts everything - even the Dualit toaster - into perspective.
Listen to "Midnight in a Perfect World" and tell me that you don't see it... you don't feel it.
Listen to "Building Steam With a Grain Of Salt" ... and if I'm wrong about the fact that Josh Davies is a man to be held in the highest of respect, mail me and I will personally send you your money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted, tripped out bliss, 7 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
To say how amazing this CD is in words is impossible, the only way to understand the sheer brilliance of this album is to listen to it. Dj Shadow glides smoothly into the trip-hop genre, using samples and beats which are somtimes intense, somtimes spacey and slow, to help keep the listener interested and in awe. To be frank this album is one of a kind, the likes of Dj Cam are on the same wavelength, but come nowhere close to the work of the man himself, Dj Shadow.
If your into trip-hop and the like, buy this album now, and get ready for a musical journey unlike you've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtily perfect, 11 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: DJ SHADOW-ENDTRODUCING (Audio CD)
Josh Davies genius can only be described by how his music makes you feel. When listening to this album everything you see around you becomes part of the music and vibe it creates. The album's track listing breaks up into 3 parts in a sense, creating new aspects from the same vibe. The first as an introduction to the album and a taster of whats comming up, maybe alittle cheekily Shadow shows off his ability to craft his trip-hop breakbeats and blend with his raw scracth style. The second section is more of a mellow and darker sound than the first, and the third has a relaxing almost spiritual air. Compilations with the worlds top DJ's such as Krush, rap acts like NWA and Blackalicious and ofcourse the epic reborn UNKLE project, all these have the same smooth perfection Shadow creates, but in my veiw the greatest collection of music of all time has to be Entroducing. Its how I decide if I like a tune, I compare it to DJ Shadow, the grandaddy of trip-hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic., 25 Oct 2003
By 
P. J. Fisher "paulus_maximus" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
The word 'genius' is bandied about way too much these days, but this really is a work of genius. It’s unlike anything I’ve heard before or since and is such a beautiful and powerful album that I find it close to perfection. It’s as though the tracks are lifted directly from your soul and unravelled for you to gaze at. This is soul music in the true sense of the word. It’s an album both heartbreakingly poignant yet possessed of such energy that it seems impossible that someone could have built it from sounds. It sounds more like it comes from another world. Sorry if this seems over the top, but it really is an incredible experience.
If I had to choose one album to keep forever, this is it. A timeless masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !!!!!!!, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
If you listen to this and don't think it's amazing:- you must be dead!!!!!

You won't be disappointed.......one of the best DJ albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iconic for the 90s and Noughties generations, 28 Feb 2011
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
In the 1970s if you had a teenage party it was essential to play a Pink Floyd album or Mike Oldfield's "Tubular bells" - they were the hip, spacey, unconventional music of their day. They were built around, but were outside, mainstream music conventions. In the 1990s and early into the 2000s this album was their equivalent.

This album proved once and for all that audio clip-art could indeed be a mainstream art form. IMHO a couple of these tracks are just plain tedious, but the majority of it is very listenable and is great unwind music to just let your mind drift along.

If you're an old fart like me, and want to sample some tracks to see if this is for you or not, sample "Building Steam..." or "Midnight in a Perfect World". Don't expect normally structured hooky pop, dance or rock songs, expect to surrender yourself to repetition and musical mesmerism: Relax and then maybe, like me, you'll have a great time.

Alan T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Listening, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
This is one of those records that is utterly timeless, completely in tune with every decade where electronica has played a major part. The result of Kraftwerk, hip hop, chill out, Groove Armada, The Free Association, Massive Attac and the Beastie Boys chucked into a blender to make the perfect musical smoothie.

Arguably one of the best film soundtracks to a movie that has yet to be made, it has atmosphere, quality beats but genuinely crosses every boundary you can imagine to give it's contents a perfect balance. It's edgy and mainstream, it's laid back, but challenging.

Normally, I'd say this would therefore make it the preserve of a Starbucks CD giveaway, but it's not. It is one of those records that you simply have to own.

Put simply, it's impossibly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRULY INSTRUMENTAL HIP HOP...., 8 Jan 2009
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
Took a gamble on this a little bit as can be seen from my reviews (mostly Rock & Metal) but I'm very taken with this!
Progressive, experimental, ambient, are all expletives to describe this almost cinematic soundscape. Sometimes dark, sometimes beautiful, it's almost impossible to believe this is the work of only one man & his turntables.
Some interesting samples are to be found; the most recognisable to me being the bass intro to Metallica's Orion. There are strings, little bits that remind me of Wendy Carlos' version of Dies Irae from The Shining, Classical sounds, really cool, chilled out drumbeats and some really fat, deep, throbbing basslines. There's no actual rap or singing as this is INSTRUMENTAL hip hop but there are some cleverly integrated vocal snippets that serve more as music than the usual cliched posturing of the Rap genre. It's hard to single out one single track as this feels very much like a musical odyssey, maybe even conceptual.
I've enjoyed this as I'm used to samples & turntables within a Rock framework ala Linkin Park or Mordred, but this is a real step into another world. Certainly better than the X-Ecutioners albums that I have.
This will appeal to fan's of Moby, Consolidated, Classy Hip Hop, Electronica fans, the open minded Rock fan, maybe even devotees of darker ambient music such as Burzum's later material. Something here for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Audible Journey Through Emotion!, 28 April 2003
This review is from: Endtroducing..... (Audio CD)
As the title says, this disc will take you on a journey through all the emotions you could think of with a mixture of diversity regarding its tracks! Try listening to "Midnight In A Perfect World" without feeling something special and deep, this track alone blows me away every time i hear it. If you like your music with depth then give this a try........you will not be disapointed.
DJ Shadow may be the most underatted artist of the decade and the next decades to come! Oh yeah, and this also includes some cool 'Doors' samples, at least i think its the doors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Endtroducing.....
Endtroducing..... by DJ Shadow (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews