Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
Great cd for your collection. Worth it just to get Black Magic Woman and especially the fantastic Samba Pa Ti (M&S food ad tune)!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
The reviews on amazon claim there are 39 tracks on this cd. There are only 9. She's not there , smooth and black magic woman are all missing as are a further 27 tracks. Misleading advertising by Amazon.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Seduction music. None better.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
A truly great selection and cross section of Santana's music
this double album works and will start your amazing adventure with Carlos
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
overall good...but i'm not so keen on the more soul inspired stuff howver I'm pleased i bought it as it fills in the gaps in my collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
I am so pleased with this collection from Santana.All brilliant tracks through their recording years and its good to hear again and again
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
great mix of santanas hits from the decades, best cd in ages i have bought recommend highly . cannot go wrong with this cd collection
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Very Pleased with this company. Fast and reliable.
And Santana, well, that brought memories flooding back.
Thank you
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
The first CD of this 2CD set is simply excellent. Powerful, energetic, funky, and, most importantly, rough and ready. Carlos Santana had settled on a winning combination with his unusual mix of lead guitar, driving bass, hammond organ, and percussion. It's a great shame that bands haven't followed such a combination and style since, but maybe that's testament to how strong these early songs are.

The songs from 69-70 are the standouts of his career, such as 'Jin-Go-La-Ba', 'Soul Sacrifice', 'Evil Ways', 'Oye Como Va', and a cover of 'Black Magic Woman'. The rest of the CD keeps up a very good standard.

However, the second CD is less impressive. Unfortunately, the consistency is nowhere nearly as good. You wouldn't expect it to be possible at any rate. This is possibly just a matter of taste, but the cleanly produced and 'poppy' sound of these later records harms even the better songs. For me, this detracts from the (very good) playing by Santana et al., and does not compare to the roughness and vibrancy of the earlier records.

Overall, definitely worth purchasing, if only for the first CD. A better approach might be to buy some earlier albums, because the average standard is probably actually higher.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Absolutely loved it. There is not a weak track on this CD. A must for all Santana fans you won't be dissappointed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
On Sale Now. Buy Tickets Online. Santana Resale Washington, DC.
  -  
See Santana on 4/5! Warner Theatre - Washington DC