Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not just for bearded folk lovers, 13 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
I am not particularly well versed in folk music and came upon this while browsing through a sale - took a punt and have not regretted it. June Tabor has a very pure and natural voice, with a deep, open timbre. Many of the songs are unaccompanied and it is a testament to her singing that for me at least these are the ones that work best. I have heard other versions of 'And the band played Waltzing Matilda' but found this very moving. This is intimate, personal music and works best in the right environment - for example kicking back and listening in a dark room through headphones. My only criticism is that occasionally her intonation and phrasing gets a bit repetitive, but I suspect that this is more a feature of the genre than of her approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful voice of June Tabor., 6 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
So pleased to have bought this CD of June Tabor.

She, in my opinion, is among the very tops of mainly unaccompanied singers/voices.

The compilation gives a fair view of her repertoire, although a number of the tracks are on other CD albums.

I fully recommend this CD.

Bernard GILBERT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm glow from the past, 23 April 2011
By 
Mr. K. H. Plunkett (Fareham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs and Graces (MP3 Download)
I have loved listening to unaccompanied folk singing for may years; as well as with instrumental support. It is however a very small number of artists who can really carry it off. Phrasing and style can make or break a performance; and here we have one of the best of all time.

June Tabor and Maddy Prior are both blasts from my own past and I have yet to hear any modern singer who can produce the goods without studio backup.

This is a great collection - beatifully sung - but then what else would you expect from June!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of many triumphs, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Andrew M (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
Hard to believe this first appeared as long ago as 1976, but while it is full of the freshness of youth it certainly doesn't sound dated, which is testimony to the timeless beauty of the material, and above all of the performances.

June Tabor's unaccompanied voice is an instrument of rare distinction with its natural and untutored beauty, and her choice of material here complements it superbly (or vice versa). Furthermore, whilst not without its bleak moments (especially Young Waters), it's by no means as sombre a collection as some of her later material.

Add to this the sparing instrumental accompaniment of Nic Jones and Jon Gillaspie, deployed with all the taste, restraint and understated virtuosity you'd expect of these performers, which complements the voice and arrangements perfectly, making a pleasing contrast to some of the more self-consciously 'clever' instrumentation in some of her subsequent albums.

Stand-out tracks: Bonny May, with some sublime vocal double-tracking towards the end and the sort of accompaniment that makes you weep that Nic Jones's playing career was cut short, and Pull Down Lads, a supremely wistful account by John Tams of a fun fair's departure for another town, with gorgeous piano from Jon Gillaspie.

A hard act to follow, but she managed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
June Tabor has one of those voices that some people love while others don't. This very early album set the scene for a career in singing which, in my ears, has gone from strength to strength. I love this one so much that I don't think I could break it down to talk about bits of it. Just listen to the whole set, and marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely voice - imperious performances, 29 April 2013
By 
Simon Malia "Simon Malia" (Liverpool, Merseyside England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
June Tabor has it all - presence, a great voice, and total sincerity. This album captures most, if not all, of that which makes her special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Talent, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
June Tabor is an amazing talent
I'm really glad I bought this album its fantastic..
She has an amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars airs &graces, 2 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. E. M. McManus "eilys" (leicester u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
What a beautiful voice ver well worth the money. A lovely cd to relax to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs And Graces (Audio CD)
Some lovely ballads on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airs And Graces
Airs And Graces by June Tabor (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews