Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda weird and kinda nice
This is one of those albums I always forget about then come back to. Apart from the released track of "Hit" there will be very little on this CD most people will have heard before. If you are unfamiliar with The Sugarcubes then it's jangly pop mixed with Bjork weirdness and some Icelandic guy rapping.
My favourite song on the album is "I'm...
Published on 10 Aug. 2001

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable
'Hit' was - hey - a hit, and is good fun, and 'Gold' is nice, but the rest of the songs are pretty dull. I can't even remember the second side of the LP, except for 'Chihuahua', a strange track which consists of Bjork repeating the word 'Chihuahua-huahua' several times, with music. 'Hetero Scum' is a good name for a song, but I can't remember how it went, and in general I...
Published on 1 Mar. 2001 by Mr. A. Pomeroy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda weird and kinda nice, 10 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums I always forget about then come back to. Apart from the released track of "Hit" there will be very little on this CD most people will have heard before. If you are unfamiliar with The Sugarcubes then it's jangly pop mixed with Bjork weirdness and some Icelandic guy rapping.
My favourite song on the album is "I'm Hungry" which sums up so many of my feelings "Please sir, I'm hungry, thirsty for surprises, ready for experience got to get relief right now!"
If you can get over the initial strangeness then it's a great album to scream along to (if you skip past Chihuahua which is the worst song by far.)
Fans of "Debut" by Bjork are quite likely to like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, brilliant third album., 17 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Clarke "South of Heaven" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
The thing with the Sugarcubes is they were not just a vehicle for Bjork. Awesome though she is, this is a band with lots of ideas and lots of egos. They started out as anarchic punks Kukl, and were avant garde from the beginning. This is why the commercial response to The Sugarcubes reacted against Einar and his rants. Missing the point as is often the case, poor Einar was blamed for all the faults and none of the excellence of the band. Leave the man alone!!!

Once you realise this essential point and stop expecting a Bjork album you will thoroughly enjoy this for what it is. A superb pop album that crosses into indie, dance and downright cantankerous rock music.
Comparisons to the first two albums are ignoring the fact that by this time the Sugarcubes were massive and expectations destroy good music.
Life's Too Good was groundbreaking, out of step with the darker gothier UK indie scene, not jangly enough to fit the C86 scene, not dirty enough for the US grunge scene, a true anomaly.

Here Today Tomorrow Next week! was much the same, we had just got used to the novelty this time round. Another brilliantly realised album with all the positives of the debut but slightly more confident perhaps.

Stick Around for Joy had a lot to live up to and the UK especially is a very impatient fickle market. It does deliver if you are patient with it and as with all the best music instant gratification is usually short lived. This album bears up, after eighteen years it still sounds great.

Now go buy the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go green red or any colour for sugarcubes gold, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
Just discovering how good the band and bjork were / are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bjork never fails to impress, 5 July 2008
By 
Beefer28 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stick Around for Joy (Audio CD)
Screaming, swearing, singing softly...she is a true master of her art. I do wish Einar diddnt screech over her amazing voice but I don't find it so off putting that I don't enjoy the music...and on SOME songs it DOES seem to fit...anyways, if you like Bjork, or quirky off the-beaten-track pop music you owe it to yourself to get into the cubes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Sugarcubes Album, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
Great album with the standout track "hit!" Bjork went on to a more expansive and innovative sound but this is a good fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
Bjork a vocal ability shines from track1-10! There is only one bjork and there was only one unique band , I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, 1 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
'Hit' was - hey - a hit, and is good fun, and 'Gold' is nice, but the rest of the songs are pretty dull. I can't even remember the second side of the LP, except for 'Chihuahua', a strange track which consists of Bjork repeating the word 'Chihuahua-huahua' several times, with music. 'Hetero Scum' is a good name for a song, but I can't remember how it went, and in general I find it hard to recall this album, which is a shame. 'Gold' has Einar shouting 'Bloody fingers, dig!'. And that's it, really. Go and buy 'Life's Too Good'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Makes you glad they didn't make any more., 23 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Stick Around For Joy (Audio CD)
This is a hugely disappointing set. Just when you had been hoping that the rather patchy second album would be redeemed by a better effort you are presented with this group of dull, uninspiring songs - I suppose the lacklustre single "Hit" should have given us a hint. Perhaps Bjork had her mind on other things...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stick Around For Joy
Stick Around For Joy by The Sugarcubes (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews